Author Topic: Samba mounting question...  (Read 2369 times)

bkudria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Samba mounting question...
« on: November 14, 2004, 08:41:35 pm »
I am running a Samba server on my desktop, and wish to mount a share on my zaurus (5600, oz 3.5.1).  I can access the shares easily, using smbclient, but I want to *mount* them.  I don't have the samba package installed, since i assumed it installed a samba server.  I don't have a smbmount command (nor have I been able to find which package provides smbmount) anywhere, only smbtree, smbclient, and smbpasswd.  How do I mount the share, like in /mnt ?  Any help appreciated.

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2004, 10:44:57 pm »
You can mount a samba share exactly as you would any other fs (as long as the kernel has support for the fs). Sambamount isn't necessary (it just makes things easier)

Code: [Select]
mount -t smbfs -o username=,password= //sambashare /mountpoint
Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

cvmiller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
    • http://
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2004, 01:22:01 pm »
Quote
I am running a Samba server on my desktop,
Assuming your desktop is a linux machine...

You could also use NFS, and mount the desktop machine onto the Z via the nfs client (just mount -t nfs ...) in the Z.

This is the method I use (over wireless) and it works great!

I hope this helps,

Craig...
SL-6000
ROM v1.12 (Sharp)
Belkin F8U1500 IR Keyboard
1 GB SD Card by SanDisk (ext2)

bkudria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2004, 05:26:55 pm »
Ok, I am running a samba server on my host computer, kant, without a username or password.  The share is called 'zaurus'.  I can browse it with 'smbclient //kant/zaurus'. fine, simply hitting enter at the password prompt.  but when I try to 'mount -t smbfs //kant/zaurus /mnt/kant', I get
mount: Mounting //kant/zaurus on /mnt/kant failed: Invalid argument

what does that mean?  Any help is appreciated

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2004, 07:29:33 pm »
I have not been able to mount SMB shares with Cacko out of the box.  I've only had sucess with installing smbmount then:

smbmount //server/share /tmp/smb -o username=me,workgroup=mygroup

Using the mount command as described by Stubear has not worked for me on Cacko (I also get Invalid argument).  I think this may be because mount calls mount.smbfs (smbmount) when the '-t smbfs' is passed and this binary is not included with the Sharp ROMs.

So, from my experience you will need to install smbmount to mount Windows shares on the Sharp based Z's.  You can download and install the following packages to get smbmount support:

http://bryandeluca.com/newfeed/libreadline4_4.1_arm.ipk
http://bryandeluca.com/newfeed/smbmount_0.1-1_arm.ipk

Install them in the order they are listed.

Hope this helps.

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

bkudria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2004, 08:17:26 pm »
Thanks, works as advertised.

bkudria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2004, 09:54:48 pm »
stupkid,
    I went and upgraded to 3.5.2, and am looking to do the same thing, namely, mount samba shares.  Unfortunately, the URLs you provided are defunct.  I tried googling for some of the same packages, which led me on a wild goose/dependency -chase that ultimatly led to this error:

root@myz:/# smbmount //remotehost/share /mnt/smb
Password:
ERROR: smbfs filesystem not supported by the kernel
Please refer to the smbmnt(8) manual page
smbmnt failed: 255
mount.smbfs: ioctl failed, res=-1
Could not umount /mnt/smb: Invalid argument

Any insight in how to fix this, or updated URLs/packages appreciated.

BTW, if you want to send me working ipk files (  ), feel free to beam them to kudria at taconic dot net

Thanks!

Jcroto1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
    • http://
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2004, 10:10:10 pm »
You could get the samba package off the oz feed which has smbmount (it works for me but its about 7MB)

or  you can get smbmount here (I have not tried it on oz 3.5.2 but it should work)
SL-5500 - OZ 3.5.2  Opie
SL-6000L - ?
128 mb Viking CF
256 mb Kingston SD
512 mb Sandisk Ultra II SD
Linksys WCF12 Wireless card

bkudria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2004, 10:43:51 pm »
The link you gave keeps timing out, and I cannot complete the download...I googled the exact filename, and got the smbmount package from

www.zaurususergroup.com/feed/smbmount_0.1_arm.ipk

It is the exact same size, so I assume it is the same package.  It gives me an error about missing libncurses.so.5, so I installed libncurses5 and ncurses-base form the same feed, and reinstalled smbmount...and it gives me the same error about the kernel not supporting smbfs...I'll try the 3.5.1 packages tomorrow.

bkudria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2004, 02:37:46 pm »
I looked in the 3.5.1 feeds (after installing the package you gave me a link to; that gave me the same error), and I could only find the 7.2 MB samba package...is this what you meant?  I would think a package named 'samba' provides a samba server...correct me if I'm wrong.  Or is it an issue with the kernel being changed from 3.5.1 to 3.5.2?  Did the OZ developers explicitly remove smbfs support?

Jcroto1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
    • http://
Samba mounting question...
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2004, 03:55:03 pm »
The samba package has smbmount in it.  I think it also has the server but have't used it yet.  I have mounted my windows shares to my zaurus by useing the

smbmount //hostname/shareddir /mnt/zaurus

command on my 5500
(have no pass on the shared dir)

And get the samba package from the 3.5.2 feed although it might be the same as 3.5.1.

OR
Maybe it was forgotten in the 5600 kernal???
SL-5500 - OZ 3.5.2  Opie
SL-6000L - ?
128 mb Viking CF
256 mb Kingston SD
512 mb Sandisk Ultra II SD
Linksys WCF12 Wireless card