Author Topic: Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?  (Read 3567 times)

cybrjackle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2004, 01:25:22 pm »
The other thing I'm thinking is the Treo 650, I work for sprint so I would get two devices in one if I go that route.

neuroshock

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
    • http://
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #16 on: November 29, 2004, 03:57:08 pm »
Gotta make this quick, but for the individual that asked about using a memory stick with the 6k usb host port-
The answer is yes, but the only one that I am aware of that has been discussed specifically by name has been the Lexar Jump Drive Trio (which lucky for me I own one of these myself).  Do a search for it in the forums you should easily find it.  Many ppl have mentioned success with other memory stick brands etc. as well as some multi card type readers but noone has posted details as to brands etc. that I can remember.
Oh just remembered, almost any device that can be plugged into a windows 2k/XP machine and seen as a usb storage device without drivers will work also this includes devices like digital cameras, mp3players etc.
Oh just remembered ANOTHER thing that will up your success with using usb devices- This goes for any usb device and ESPECIALLY for keyboards, if it doesnt work right away reboot with it plugged in and often that will solve the problem by automatically loading modules for you etc.

LOL ok ok I'll try to stop remembering things now!

Take care all,
-NeuroShock
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']SL-6000L & C3100.[/span]

johnw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • http://wallacesoftware.com/zaurus
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #17 on: November 29, 2004, 09:13:56 pm »
Quote
The only thing I wish was different on mine is that it has a  2.5" audio jack instead of the more standard 3.5" jack. This requires either listening to mp3's in mono using a telephone type earplug, using a 2.5 to 3.5 adapter, or tracking down a 2.5" stereo headphone set, which I haven't found in any retail store. (JavoEdge makes the JavoeBuds which can be ordered online as someone mentioned in the 6000 hardware forum)
Here is the link: JavoEbuds
« Last Edit: November 29, 2004, 09:15:45 pm by johnw »
Sharp SL6000L Sharp SL5000d Intel PRO Wireless 802.11b CF 512MB Toshiba SD Sharp CE-AG06 camera Pocketop

chaosteo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #18 on: November 30, 2004, 04:08:23 pm »
WOW... just got the SL6000 from amazon today(one day delivery for 2 day select price) . I was stunned..  Tyis unit looks like a charm to me.. it is about size of your scientific calculator.. like my solid Ti-89 but with fabulous screen.. still charging.. we will see...

freshroastedpeanut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #19 on: November 30, 2004, 04:29:00 pm »
Look at Smuelas' XQt+Debian installation- it is fantastic. A full-fledged linuxdistro on your new toy. Absolutely fantastic. Worth it at 2x the price....

cybrjackle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #20 on: November 30, 2004, 10:21:02 pm »
damn, it's back up to $475 on amazon.        

neuroshock

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
    • http://
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #21 on: December 01, 2004, 05:54:05 am »
Sorry guys this was a mis-post somehow I dropped it in the wrong thread....gotta remember to pass on that 12th cup of coffee.....

Ahhh I just noticed...cybrjackle's post ended up here too, musta been a server hiccup or some such.  Ooh YES!  Now I can go back for more coffee!
« Last Edit: December 01, 2004, 11:43:43 am by neuroshock »
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']SL-6000L & C3100.[/span]

smooth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2004, 03:52:02 am »
Quote
damn, it's back up to $475 on amazon.        
yeah, except that's for a *used* one!

arthurbrownlee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #23 on: December 02, 2004, 09:09:44 am »
My 5600 had survived some really bad drops (I go through a PDA at least every 6 months) and it has lasted me damn near 2 years now... The stylus silo is cracked and it doesn't look that grand with scratches and stuff, but I'll be dammed if it never lost a thing for me, only shut down once.

I can only imagine the 6000 being even MORE durable... I just need to find out if I can plug my portable USB hard drive into it, and if anyone has tried a DVD rom.

nevarrie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
    • View Profile
    • http://www.thegrantclan.org
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #24 on: December 02, 2004, 11:33:21 am »
Quote
My 5600 had survived some really bad drops (I go through a PDA at least every 6 months) and it has lasted me damn near 2 years now... The stylus silo is cracked and it doesn't look that grand with scratches and stuff, but I'll be dammed if it never lost a thing for me, only shut down once.

I can only imagine the 6000 being even MORE durable... I just need to find out if I can plug my portable USB hard drive into it, and if anyone has tried a DVD rom.
I am a major cluts and have dropped my 6k a few hundred time in the 6 months I have owned it.  So far only the clear plastic cover for the screen shows any scratchs the rest of the Z looks pretty good for me takign it everywhere and dropping it all the time.

I have pluged serveral devices into my 6k...usually it is my realtek RTL8150 Fast Ethernet Adapter or my Logitech Cordless Desktop Pro keyboard, but I have used a usb CD-ROM and a USB hard drive on it.   Both the CD-ROM and the harddrive had exteranl power.  I did uses a powered usb hub on my 6k one day and was able to uses the cd-rom, harddrive, keyboard, mouse and network card at the same time.  The mouse did not do me much good since I was using the default sharp rom but I am hoping to try ti again now that I have GPE somewhat usable again.  I have not had access to a USB dvd  yet so I have not seen how that will work.
***********************
Jeremy "Nevarrie" Grant
SL-6000L
OpenZaurus 3.5.4.1 GPE(2.6 kernel)|GrantRom 0.01(e-image clone)
Targus IR Keyborad

neuroshock

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
    • http://
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #25 on: December 02, 2004, 01:48:34 pm »
nevarrie,
How did you manage to get the CD-Rom working?  I have had no success whatsoever. What brand is your Rom and how did you have to install or force any modules and how did you mount it?  Every other usb storage device I have tried easily mounts via /dev/sda1.
I'd REALLY appreciate your help!


Thanks a Bunch,
-NeuroShock
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']SL-6000L & C3100.[/span]

nevarrie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
    • View Profile
    • http://www.thegrantclan.org
Is The Sl-6000l Worth It?
« Reply #26 on: December 02, 2004, 04:37:20 pm »
Quote
nevarrie,
How did you manage to get the CD-Rom working?  I have had no success whatsoever. What brand is your Rom and how did you have to install or force any modules and how did you mount it?  Every other usb storage device I have tried easily mounts via /dev/sda1.
I'd REALLY appreciate your help!


Thanks a Bunch,
-NeuroShock
I the model I was using is an HP cd-wqriter 8200 series.  If I remember right all I did was mount /dev/scd0 /mnt/cdrom.  I do not have access to cd drive right now, so I can not test it right now to make sure.  the only driver I remeber having to load was the usb-storage.  

I am not sure if that was before I started building my own kernel or not.  If it was after it could be that I added "CONFIG_USB_STORAGE_HP8200e=y" to the kernel config when I was adding all of the keyspan and the rtl8150 modules.  I am currently running Openzaurus 3.5.2 with GPE on my 6k which I have found is missing several of the kernel modules I have used like the rtl8150 and the keyspan modules.  

The main thing I remember when I made it work was that it spanned several errors in dmesg then the drive was connected without a cdrom inserted.  Though it was usually in that error that I would see the scd. Though  frm using usb cdroms on linux machines i know that they will sometimes come up as sr0 or sg0 or something strange like that, I usually figure out out from dmesg.

I will try to figure out what I did before and post it somewhere so other will be able to benifit from it.
***********************
Jeremy "Nevarrie" Grant
SL-6000L
OpenZaurus 3.5.4.1 GPE(2.6 kernel)|GrantRom 0.01(e-image clone)
Targus IR Keyborad