Author Topic: Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.  (Read 4369 times)

miniature emperor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« on: November 30, 2004, 03:53:53 am »
It looks like 3.5.2 is almost ready for download:
http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstable/3.5.2/
NOTE: you should wait until it is officialy out;
I get a blank screen once it tries to start Opie.
(I used updater.sh from 3.5.1)

There's nothing on the front page about it.
http://www.openzaurus.org/web/index.php?op...ntpage&Itemid=1
But the files all date from monday morning, November 29, so ...

ced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2004, 08:01:43 am »
with the GPE image 3.5.2, you need to do a hard reset (battery cover) after a suspend... so how do you suspend the screen?
SL-5600, kernel 2.6.16 + GPE from .dev
Ethernet Socket LP-E
Viking 256M SD

acpkendo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2004, 10:24:14 am »
Hats off to the OE/OZ/Opie/GPE team(s).  Looking forward to trying it out. . .

Zauruman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2004, 09:05:42 pm »
I second the thanks. Us non-developers really do appreciate the work being done behind the scenes on this. A shame I wasn't so useless at hacking or I'd join in the effort.  
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']Zaurus SL-C750 - PdaXrom RC12
SanDisk 1Gb SD (ext2) - D-Link Air DCF-660W[/span]

miniature emperor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2004, 10:44:26 pm »
I have a c860.  I had no luck with either gpe or opie using OZ 3.5.2.

Under opie, it goes through the boot up sequence normally, but when it
starts opie, the screen goes blank and stays that way.  
I can press a key to abort starting opie after boot-up, and use my Z in text-mode.
When I do that, I can start opie via /etc/init.d/opie -start, but again, the screen goes
blank.

Under gpe, it goes through the boot up sequence normally, but when it
starts gpe, the screen starts the gpe splash-screen, and stays on the splash screen.

Does anyone out there have a c860 that works with OZ 3.5.2. ?
I'd like to know if it's my machine or the rom that is broken.

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2004, 01:33:36 am »
Well I'm flashing back to the sharp rom on my 6000.  Opie boots, but no wireless.  Gpe boots to the splash screen, and that's it.  Looks like I'll wait a little longer.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2004, 01:38:09 am »
gpe runs on my 5600. package manager not doing too wellthough....  i used each (appropriate) subfolder in feed as a source.... packagemanager raises hell.

whats w/ apt n dpkg?   debian arm?  

gpe multimedia??

adf
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

kergoth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2004, 05:31:24 am »
Sounds like you aren't waiting long enough at the GPE splash screen.  I thought my SL6000L was hung there as well.  If you leave it for a few minutes, it'll get in.

With regard to wireless, we'll be putting up a wiki page on the exact steps to configure it using /etc/network/interfaces.  Once you set it up in there, you can just call 'ifup wlan0' or 'ifdown wlan0' to bring it up & down.  3.5.2 shipped with a default configuration which is dhcp, Managed wireless mode.  No essid or anything set.

vdkuil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2004, 07:47:04 am »
Hi,

I must say I am really impressed by this new version. I was a bit afraid to try 3.5.1 so I thought to give 3.5.2 a change. Networking and installation does not seem to be a problem.
Except one thing. When I try to install libmicrokcal it complains that it cannot find libstdc++6 (>=3.4.2).
Anyone have a clue?
Thanks
« Last Edit: December 01, 2004, 07:52:09 am by vdkuil »

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2004, 08:11:19 am »
We forgot to add the devel feed to the default ipkg.conf. libstdc++6 is in there - just add the feed.
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

nightfly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2004, 10:02:08 am »
A few questions about OZ 3.5.2 on the SL6000W:
  • Does bluetooth work?
  • Can I use japanese input methods?
  • Does opera work?
If not: any chance seeing it in future versions?

Thank you

vdkuil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2004, 12:33:34 pm »
Quote
We forgot to add the devel feed to the default ipkg.conf. libstdc++6 is in there - just add the feed.
that worked .. thanks...

I noticed in the opie installer that sometimes linking does not work (when I install a package on my sd card).
reinstalling this package somethis does the trick. Is this a known issue?

TechGuru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2004, 12:57:44 pm »
  No joy for my 750.
I have tried and tried to install 3.5.2 and get the same results.
On reboot the screen dims and I see part of a config screen (I think for the Doc tab), which covers 2/3 of the width of the screen only, but nothing else and it goes no farther.
I have redownloaded the files from the mirrors and main site with the same result.
Version 3.5.1 installed fine however.

SolarX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2004, 01:10:26 pm »
My SL-C860 hangs as well. I get past the splash screen, I calibrated my screen, then I get to a black screen with the default X server x-shaped cursor (it flashes every 2 seconds or so). It doesn't continue from there, almost as if there's no window manager to be loaded. I tried breaking to console with Ctrl-Alt-Backspace, but because X is set to respawn, it returns to X within a second (I see the console login for a split second).
I'm using the GPE image, by the way.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2004, 01:11:42 pm by SolarX »

pyramid6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2004, 01:17:37 pm »
Quote
 No joy for my 750.
I have tried and tried to install 3.5.2 and get the same results.
On reboot the screen dims and I see part of a config screen (I think for the Doc tab), which covers 2/3 of the width of the screen only, but nothing else and it goes no farther.
I have redownloaded the files from the mirrors and main site with the same result.
Version 3.5.1 installed fine however.
TechGuru:
Remove your SD and/or CF card and reboot.  Mine did the same.  It is the screen to determine how to scan your cards.  It won't show up if you don't have any cards.

Anthony