Author Topic: Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.  (Read 4829 times)

SolarX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2004, 01:24:11 pm »
I managed to get mine to break to console (by pressing Ctrl-Alt-Backspace, then quickly pressing Ctrl-Alt-2), but when trying to login I get "login: no valid shadow password". Also, my prompt says "shepherd tty1" while I have a Boxer, but that might just be something left over from debugging.

TechGuru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2004, 02:17:49 pm »
Quote
Quote
  No joy for my 750.
I have tried and tried to install 3.5.2 and get the same results.
On reboot the screen dims and I see part of a config screen (I think for the Doc tab), which covers 2/3 of the width of the screen only, but nothing else and it goes no farther.
I have redownloaded the files from the mirrors and main site with the same result.
Version 3.5.1 installed fine however.
TechGuru:
Remove your SD and/or CF card and reboot.  Mine did the same.  It is the screen to determine how to scan your cards.  It won't show up if you don't have any cards.

Anthony
Come on, thats too easy
Yes it worked when I did that, but that is not the point.
A extensive discussion on random neutrino flux should have been part of the answer.

Thanks very much pyramid6.

dipnlik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://dipnlik.blogspot.com/
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2004, 02:29:49 pm »
I installed 3.5.2 and after the frustration with 3.5.1 I must say I'm happy with 3.5.2.

My main problems, at least for now, are with Opera and XMMS (couldn't run qpe-vexed, but that is secondary).
Beaming has gotten better, now I can beam contacts and other stuff, only thing I still don't know how to do is to connect to the internet with GPRS on my T300.
I replaced the package manager (saw it on another topic here) for AQPkg and opie-symlink, but in fact I don't use it to install software, only to check package names -- installing has been done with ipkg and ipkg-link thru ssh, as recommended on the release notes.

Congratulations to all developers! :^)
SL-5500, OpenZaurus 3.5.2 -- hey, it is good! :^)
SD Panasonic Hi-Speed 256, vfat -- will become ext2 soon
CF Type 2 Simpletech 128, vfat -- stays vfat for flashing ROMs
On the PC: Debian-BR-CDD 1.0pre4

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #18 on: December 01, 2004, 02:30:24 pm »
Quote
I managed to get mine to break to console (by pressing Ctrl-Alt-Backspace, then quickly pressing Ctrl-Alt-2), but when trying to login I get "login: no valid shadow password". Also, my prompt says "shepherd tty1" while I have a Boxer, but that might just be something left over from debugging.
Ok, time to solve that ongoing mistery: All C7x0 have shepherd as the default hostname, since all C7x0 share the shepherd initrd.bin  
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #19 on: December 01, 2004, 04:03:29 pm »
and there is no such thing as 'boxer' (in OZ) - boxer == husky
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #20 on: December 01, 2004, 10:48:53 pm »
Retried GPE, didn't wait long enough last time>    Now if I can get my wireless settings right on it I can turn wep back on on my base station!  I did notice that the buttons are a little screwy, the button manager has an iPaq instead of a Z.  No biggie, just an observation.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

Stetson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2004, 04:23:36 am »
Can anyone comment on the compatibility of 3.5.2 on the 5600?  Mine seems to hang when I click on Settings\Network with my Socket WLAN inserted.  Is this the same problem from 3.5.1?

Stetson

miniature emperor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2004, 04:45:18 am »
3.5.2 works on my c860 now.  Repartitioned, installed cacko 1.0.5, then installed
opie 3.5.2 over that, and it worked.

bazmi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2004, 05:16:04 am »
Quote
with the GPE image 3.5.2, you need to do a hard reset (battery cover) after a suspend... so how do you suspend the screen?
open up a terminal and then as root

apm --suspend

this works most of the time but sometimes you have to do a reset (i never had to do a hard reset).

coming out of suspend is normal - with the 'on' button.

has anyone got wifi working?

thanks.

/bazmi.
-------------------------------------------------
6000L, 1G Toshiba CF, 1G Panasonic HiSpeed SD, host of other CF cards
currently with pdaXrom with xfce

adder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #24 on: December 04, 2004, 02:59:39 pm »
One little bit of functional problem I'm having with 3.5.2 on my 6000 is that when I come out of suspend, I can't get my wlan working without a reboot. I've tried stopping and restarting from the network applet, but it just says that it failed. I know there's probably a command line entry that I can do, but it's not something that I can think of at the moment.

Can anyone help out on this?
Oh, and I've tried "wlan-ng start wlan0", but that returns
Error: Device wlan0 does not seem to be present.

Update... okay, I figured out what I need to do to restore the connection... gotta run the "/etc/init.d/networking start" script... Hrm... may just need to set up an icon to run this as a bit of a kludge.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2004, 05:15:35 pm by adder »

ced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #25 on: December 07, 2004, 07:54:20 am »
I've recompiled the kernel (SL5600) to diseable the "cache bug errata" and I'm well impressed about the speed of the GPE rom!!!
For the future can the OZ team create 2 kernels? (one with and without that fix). this will as well benefit people with the PXA255...

Well the done the OZ team!!! :-)

Ced.
SL-5600, kernel 2.6.16 + GPE from .dev
Ethernet Socket LP-E
Viking 256M SD

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #26 on: December 07, 2004, 09:27:06 am »
Ced, right, we will do that.

For kernel 2.6 we will be able to automatically detect if the machine needs the workaround or not.
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #27 on: December 07, 2004, 10:35:33 am »
Quote
I've recompiled the kernel (SL5600) to diseable the "cache bug errata" and I'm well impressed about the speed of the GPE rom!!!
Ced, I have been trying to set up my desktop box to do that. Would it be possible to make that kernel available to us PXA250 owners?

Thanks OZ/OE Team for a great release!

Greg

ced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • http://
Oz 3.5.2 Coming Any Minute Now.
« Reply #28 on: December 07, 2004, 11:19:17 am »
Greg: well I've downloaded the OZ patches and compiled manually the C860 kernel source... so I haven't use OE for that (because I never used it and the documentation site is down...) and I haven't applied all the OZ patches because I was only interested in the "cache bug"...

So I'm happy to build it right if someone give some instructions how to use OE... I'm sure Mickeyl will be quicker to upload a second kernel in OZ ftp site... ;-)

Mickeyl: I'm not really happy about the kernel 2.6 thing, I've been using a kernel without the "cache bug" for about 2 years and I "never" have any issue with it... So an automatic kernel rule it's not a good news... ;-)
SL-5600, kernel 2.6.16 + GPE from .dev
Ethernet Socket LP-E
Viking 256M SD