Author Topic: Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes  (Read 19408 times)

koan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • http://www.lyndonhill.com
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #15 on: September 14, 2010, 04:47:52 am »
I never compiled or ran iqnotes so it was just a guess.

Quote from: MaBo
Let's try the next thing: compile it on a windows box with some flavor of g++ and qt3...

QT3 was never released under an open source licence for Windows.

I think some people were backporting QT3 from Linux to Cygwin, see http://kde-cygwin.sourceforge.net/qt3/index.php
Zocalo Feed Reader : Thai on Zaurus : Dictionaries for zbedic : Sharp ROM package feed
HELUX Handheld Embedded Linux Blog
SL-C3200 Multiboot : SL-C750  Sharp ROM

SNi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sibelle.info
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2010, 03:49:35 pm »
Any luck w/this?

Quote from: MaBo
Thanks Koan,
That didn't really work. The following does:
if no modifications are made to the source code whatsoever, you have to create a folder /usr/share/iqnotes and then simply copy (drag and drop) the contents of the pics folder. It actually is exactly as is written in the README.DESKTOP file. The pictuers are then in /usr/share/iqnotes/iqnotes. That folder also has a (empty) subfolder items. What that is for, I don't know...

So now it works completely.

Let's try the next thing: compile it on a windows box with some flavor of g++ and qt3...

I will report if that works.


MaBo

Frederic Bergeron

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • http://
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #17 on: October 24, 2010, 09:07:52 am »
Just for "fun", I decided to give it a try.

My first attempt was to try porting the whole application from qt-3 to qt-4.  I quickly realized that would require too much work.

On my second attempt, I tried to build the latest version of Q... (aka QTWIN: the port of qt3 for Windows) but it didn't work.

My third attempt was to use an old but existing and working binary version of Q... that I found on the Sourceforge download page.  After moving my cygwin installation away (because it was interfering somehow) and manually tweaking some config files, I managed to build a working Windows executable!  See the attached zip file. There was some warnings when compiling but it doesn't seem to bother anything.

I have not fully tested the application as I have never used it before.  Could someone familiar with the application provide some feedback please.

If it works fine, I will give more details about my building procedure
toMOTko Flashcard Project
SL-C1000 Sharp ROM

Frederic Bergeron

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • http://
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2010, 09:47:27 pm »
I have been told that there was a missing DLL file in the archive so here a new one with the required DLL.

Also, here is the process I did to build the application:

Run "setenv.bat" that basically does this:

Code: [Select]
SET QTDIR=N:\Qt\qt-win-free-mingw-3.3.4
SET PATH=%QTDIR%\bin;%PATH%
SET QMAKESPEC=win32-g++

After that, I edit the iqnotes.pro file and change these 4 lines:

Code: [Select]
desktop:DEFINES = IQNOTES_PICDIR="\"pics\""
desktop:INTERFACES = p:\fred\iqnotes-2.1.0rc1\iqnotes\desktop\ui\*.ui
desktop:HEADERS += p:\fred\iqnotes-2.1.0rc1\iqnotes\desktop\qpe\*.h
desktop:SOURCES += p:\fred\iqnotes-2.1.0rc1\iqnotes\desktop\qpe\*.cpp
Then, I do:

Code: [Select]
cd iqnotes
qmake

Then, I edit the Makefile and replace "-lqt" by "lqt-mt".

I build the application typing "make".

For some mysterious reasons, the linking step may give some errors.  If I do "make clean;make", it usually works on the second time.  Go figure...

At this point, I should have a iqnotes.exe in the parent directory.  

I package the application manually in a directory that contains:
- iqnotes.exe
- qt-mt3.dll (taken from qt-win-free-mingw-3.3.4 directory)
- mingwm10.dll (also taken from qt-win-free-mingw-3.3.4 directory)
- pics folder (taken from iqnotes)

That's it!  I hope I have not forgotten anything.
toMOTko Flashcard Project
SL-C1000 Sharp ROM

SNi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sibelle.info
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #19 on: October 30, 2010, 03:45:23 pm »
Thanx so much, works fine on Windows desktop. Only cavil so far, when writing/editing a note it starts off in a very small window (though you can 'drag' it to make it bigger)...
SNi

Quote from: Frederic Bergeron
I have been told that there was a missing DLL file in the archive so here a new one with the required DLL.

At this point, I should have a iqnotes.exe in the parent directory.  

I package the application manually in a directory that contains:
- iqnotes.exe
- qt-mt3.dll (taken from qt-win-free-mingw-3.3.4 directory)
- mingwm10.dll (also taken from qt-win-free-mingw-3.3.4 directory)
- pics folder (taken from iqnotes)

That's it!  I hope I have not forgotten anything.

SNi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sibelle.info
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2010, 11:00:40 pm »
When you do Note- Add Picture what directory is it expecting the files to be in???

Frederic Bergeron

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • http://
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #21 on: November 02, 2010, 12:07:30 pm »
Quote from: SNi
When you do Note- Add Picture what directory is it expecting the files to be in???

A quick look to the code reveals that it should be in the directory pics/iqnotes/items of the application directory.  However, when I put image files there (gif, png, jpg or xpm), they are not shown in the dialog window...  I would need to check further.  Maybe this weekend.
toMOTko Flashcard Project
SL-C1000 Sharp ROM

Frederic Bergeron

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • http://
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #22 on: November 07, 2010, 06:57:20 am »
Here is a new version that should fix the problem with Set Picture... feature.  The images must be PNG files and stored in the pics/iqnotes/items directory.  Please, tell me if it works on your side.

By the way, for anyone who cares, the updated source code can be found here.

I have also found this interesting blog entry about iqnotes. Glad to see that some users are happy about that.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2010, 10:16:45 am by Frederic Bergeron »
toMOTko Flashcard Project
SL-C1000 Sharp ROM

SNi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sibelle.info
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #23 on: November 08, 2010, 01:07:58 pm »
Thanx, will give it a try...  One thought, on a Win box when opening a new file it expects it to be in a .iqnotes subdirectory in the User's directory on the PC. Any possibility of having this subdirectory be with the program files. This would allow it to be used as a "portable" app on a USB stick (vs. having to be installed on a particular PC)
SNi

Quote from: Frederic Bergeron
Here is a new version that should fix the problem with Set Picture... feature.  The images must be PNG files and stored in the pics/iqnotes/items directory.  Please, tell me if it works on your side.

By the way, for anyone who cares, the updated source code can be found here.

I have also found this interesting blog entry about iqnotes. Glad to see that some users are happy about that.

SNi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sibelle.info
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #24 on: November 08, 2010, 04:27:07 pm »
Yup, it works... Thanx much...
SNi

Quote from: Frederic Bergeron
Here is a new version that should fix the problem with Set Picture... feature.  The images must be PNG files and stored in the pics/iqnotes/items directory.  Please, tell me if it works on your side.

By the way, for anyone who cares, the updated source code can be found here.

I have also found this interesting blog entry about iqnotes. Glad to see that some users are happy about that.

Frederic Bergeron

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • http://
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #25 on: November 08, 2010, 11:12:59 pm »
Quote from: SNi
Thanx, will give it a try...  One thought, on a Win box when opening a new file it expects it to be in a .iqnotes subdirectory in the User's directory on the PC. Any possibility of having this subdirectory be with the program files. This would allow it to be used as a "portable" app on a USB stick (vs. having to be installed on a particular PC)
SNi

I think that the default behavior is standard.  Usually, you want your personal data to be stored in your home directory.  Especially if you're sharing your computer with other people.  However, I could make a "portable" version of the application with the asked behavior.  It would be very convenient indeed and it's probably very easy to implement.  I will take a look in the week-end.

Thanks for your quick feedback btw.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2010, 11:21:19 pm by Frederic Bergeron »
toMOTko Flashcard Project
SL-C1000 Sharp ROM

SNi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sibelle.info
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #26 on: November 09, 2010, 12:43:56 pm »
That's great... Right now I have it installed on computers at work and at home, which gets into "version" issues (ensuring latest .xml or .rijn file, keeping "synced"), the ability to have and run off a USB stick on any computer would be great from a portability standpoint
SNi
P.S. You linked my IQN "review"

Quote from: Frederic Bergeron
I think that the default behavior is standard.  Usually, you want your personal data to be stored in your home directory.  Especially if you're sharing your computer with other people.  However, I could make a "portable" version of the application with the asked behavior.  It would be very convenient indeed and it's probably very easy to implement.  I will take a look in the week-end.

Thanks for your quick feedback btw.

Frederic Bergeron

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • http://
Announce: Desktop Version Of The Iqnotes
« Reply #27 on: November 13, 2010, 08:16:01 am »
Quote from: SNi
That's great... Right now I have it installed on computers at work and at home, which gets into "version" issues (ensuring latest .xml or .rijn file, keeping "synced"), the ability to have and run off a USB stick on any computer would be great from a portability standpoint
SNi
P.S. You linked my IQN "review"

Here is the portable version.  

When building this version, I found at least one place where the application crashes systematically (when adding a note on a previous note the very first time).  I suspect that the bug is not in the application itself but rather in the version of Qt3 that I have used to build the application.  I may try once again to build the latest version of Q... eventually but it's not my priority so don't hold your breath.  I have already tried to build it and I failed miserably.  Anyway, I think that the application is usable enough.
toMOTko Flashcard Project
SL-C1000 Sharp ROM