Author Topic: 6000 Rom Creation  (Read 2975 times)

kmeaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
6000 Rom Creation
« on: January 02, 2005, 10:45:19 pm »
Hi. I am going to make a ROM with X11 and cyrillic support for SL-6000.

Please help me with something, you know:
- mkfs.jffs2 padding options DONE
- move /etc/ and /home/ to mtdblock3 DONE
- brightness control DONE
- touchscreen calibration with SharpROM-like kernel (creating pointercal) HELP!
- SL-6000 keyboard mapping English keymap done
- suspend problem: system does not resume after apm -s / echo>/proc/sys/pm/suspend suspend DONE, resume without USB - DONE
- xmms DONE
- fluxbox DONE
- WLAN DONE

Please post your wish lists and speed up development by telling me how to do things, that are not done yet.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2005, 12:06:10 pm by kmeaw »

realloc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • http://realloc.spb.ru
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2005, 05:24:19 am »
Hello,
I wanted to make the same thing.
Could you contact me to talk about it? May be I could help
sl-6000L, OZ 3.5.4 (OE rebuilt), GPE

ced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • http://
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2005, 06:13:29 am »
why not using the OZ 3.5.2 GPE version?
SL-5600, kernel 2.6.16 + GPE from .dev
Ethernet Socket LP-E
Viking 256M SD

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2005, 09:35:46 am »
I'd like to second that question.

Although choice is nice and all, but I'd be happy to give up choice when there's just one great ROM available. That seems better for me than having the choice between dozens of unfinished and buggy ROMs (including OZ, of course... i'm speaking as a user here, not as a developer).
« Last Edit: January 05, 2005, 09:40:13 am by Mickeyl »
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

nilch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
    • View Profile
    • http://
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2005, 10:18:55 am »
I do agree with the fact that too many incomplete ROM tend to put off many users (first time users) from using any of those multiple alternatives, as much as choice is a good thing.

Rather lets consolidate the multiple ROM efforts into one wholesome all inclusive ROM.

I am not suggesting of course that OZ GPE is THE way to go, thats for all you develoers to decide based on feature sets etc.
As a simple user, I can say this - inspite of my experimentative nature, I havent yet tried many of the ROM's out there except the Cacko which I ultimately use (for my C750). Am thinking about moving to PDAXROM though.

So one great ROM for the 6000L would be very welcome.
New no more-C1000 / 5000D (sold my 6000 and 750) | Cacko ROM 1.23 on C1000 | 256 MB CF | 2GB PNY SD card | Socket Networker WiFi CF Card | USB Host cable from StreamlineCPUS | Mini Microphone (for voice recording) |

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2005, 12:41:14 pm »
As soon as the wireless bugs are worked out, I'll go back to OZ on my 6000.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

Tyris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2005, 07:10:56 pm »
I welcome an X-based Rom for the 6000. I dont know the dev roadmap for PDAXROM, but Im intrigued to see interest in an similar rom from other angles.

Does anyone know if PDAXROM will ever make it to the sl6000?

-T

realloc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • http://realloc.spb.ru
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2005, 04:36:07 am »
Quote
I welcome an X-based Rom for the 6000. I dont know the dev roadmap for PDAXROM, but Im intrigued to see interest in an similar rom from other angles.

Does anyone know if PDAXROM will ever make it to the sl6000?

-T
AFAIK PDAXrom doesn't plan to make 6000 port.
sl-6000L, OZ 3.5.4 (OE rebuilt), GPE

nilch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
    • View Profile
    • http://
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2005, 04:16:48 pm »
Now with the 6000L having down down in prices a lot of people (at least from this forum) have bought one or are planning to buy a 6000L. In fact Amazon has sold out on them.

This must mean a sizeable user base for 6000 Zaurii.
I was wondering if this sizeable (if not huge) user base is not an incentive for a custom ROM like either PDAXROM or Cacko (Sharp based)  for the 6000 ?

I am sure there are many others like myself who are looking for alternate (and good stable) ROM on the 6000 which has a great screen to really show off such X based ROM's like the PDAXROM.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2005, 04:17:20 pm by nilch »
New no more-C1000 / 5000D (sold my 6000 and 750) | Cacko ROM 1.23 on C1000 | 256 MB CF | 2GB PNY SD card | Socket Networker WiFi CF Card | USB Host cable from StreamlineCPUS | Mini Microphone (for voice recording) |

hatchetman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2005, 05:47:33 pm »
Quote
SL-6000 keyboard mapping English keymap done
I'd love to see a patch for whatever keymap changes you needed to make. The keyboard on the 6000 using OZ has a couple bugs that I've been trying to track down. Not a lot of time to spend debugging, so if you have a fully functional keyboard in whatever kernel and X11 it would definietly speed up my efforts to see what you've done.

kmeaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2005, 10:24:58 am »
I use Xmodmap to change keyboard layout.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 04:21:11 pm by kmeaw »

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2005, 04:22:59 pm »
On the subject of X11 and the 6000

pdaX has said....maybe (more or less)

GPE on OZ brings up an issue.  Obviously some of th QT apps we all love are not on GPE. It would be worthwhile to find, catalog and incorporate them, or equivalents.
zroadmap and zbedic come to mind.  I know there is a "roadmap" that could probably be used, and there is mention of a "Qbedic" on pdaxrom. this stuff really needs to be tracked down and moved into OE, otherwise gpe ends up being cool, but empty. It seems like that is just the sort of thing a community like this would be good at.

On the other hand, there is a ton of great software for opie, and xqt is a viable x solution. maybe the most realistic solution is to use xqt to run x stuff that has no real equivalent in opie. either way, as OZ moves toward stabilty the "what apps run where?" issue should probably be worked out.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

smooth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2005, 07:47:53 am »
Quote
On the subject of X11 and the 6000

pdaX has said....maybe (more or less)

GPE on OZ brings up an issue.  Obviously some of th QT apps we all love are not on GPE. It would be worthwhile to find, catalog and incorporate them, or equivalents.
zroadmap and zbedic come to mind.  I know there is a "roadmap" that could probably be used, and there is mention of a "Qbedic" on pdaxrom. this stuff really needs to be tracked down and moved into OE, otherwise gpe ends up being cool, but empty. It seems like that is just the sort of thing a community like this would be good at.

On the other hand, there is a ton of great software for opie, and xqt is a viable x solution. maybe the most realistic solution is to use xqt to run x stuff that has no real equivalent in opie. either way, as OZ moves toward stabilty the "what apps run where?" issue should probably be worked out.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66026\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I'm at a loss. A new zaurus user, I don't understand where to begin. I have the basic ROM and I managed to forget my root password, so I can't ssh into my Z anymore! so I figure if I am going to set it back to factory settings, I might as well go with an X rom.

But which one? And do I lose stuff like my hancom suite?
So if someone can send me off to try a rom for my Z that works, please let me know because I have no idea what the difference is between cacko, OZ, and etc.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
6000 Rom Creation
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2005, 11:41:32 am »
right now the most functional rom setup is the sharp one...with some tweaking. (see the fastkernel thread pinned in this forum)  Probably the best soultion, ultimately, will be opie w/xqt on OpenZaurus, but openzaurus on the 6000 is still very much a testing proposition, though I encourage you to give it a spin just get an an idea of how much of an improvement it is on the sharprom in the  areas that are working right (which are many). Gpe is the openzaurus X rom. it is very nice, but there is a lack of applications at the moment--though being X and gtk I hope to see more growth in that area.  There are no roms other than OpenZaurus and Sharp rom for the 6000.

Since you are going to reflash anyway, take the time to try gpe and opie  from openzaurus. if you find you need fewer puzzles and more stuff "just working" go back to sharp.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf