Author Topic: Mac Addressing Question  (Read 1115 times)

tinyrooster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • http://www.insequence.org
Mac Addressing Question
« on: January 09, 2005, 01:45:07 pm »
I'm trying to use MAC addressing for the first time to secure a wireless network for my Zaurus 6000 and two computers. I have the MAC address for the Z and my computers, but I notice that my Linksys router has a MAC address assigned to it marked "LAN" and there is a separate one marked "Internet." Do I need to include those addresses when I list the addresses I want to filter? I'm sorry if this is a basic question, however, I could not find anything about it in the router support documents. Thanks!
SL-6000L
Sharp ROM
GANT Theme
Lexar 1GB SD card
Sandisk 512MB CF card

cvmiller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
    • http://
Mac Addressing Question
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2005, 08:39:12 pm »
Hi tinyrooster,

In my Linksys router, I have the option under Wirelss -> Mac Filter to "Permit Only..." And then I add the MACs I wish to allow to connect.

there is also an option to black-list mac addresses, but I don't use that feature.

I hope this helps,

Craig...
SL-6000
ROM v1.12 (Sharp)
Belkin F8U1500 IR Keyboard
1 GB SD Card by SanDisk (ext2)

V-Man

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • http://
Mac Addressing Question
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2005, 11:25:44 pm »
I use MAC address filtering with my LinkSys AP/Router.  You only need to add the MAC addresses of the computers that are allowed to connect to your AP/Router.

V-Man
SL5500 w/Sharp ROM 3.10
Netgear MA701 WiFi
Sharp  CE-AG06 Camera Card
Various memory cards
Various homemade power/battery packs
HP 2215 iPAQ