Author Topic: Help! Wifi Not Working!  (Read 1269 times)

cparker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Help! Wifi Not Working!
« on: January 19, 2005, 09:09:39 pm »
I bought a Zaurus 5500 on ebay.  It has the Sharp ROM 3.1 installed.  It came with a Netgear MA701 Wifi Card.  The guy says everything is in perfect working order, but I can't get the card to connect to my network.

Configurations I tried:
1. not specifying the SSID, with 40-bit WEP, DHCP and DNS discovery
2. specifying the SSID, with 40-bit WEP, DHCP and DNS discovery
3. not specifying the SSID, with 40-bit WEP, static address and specified DNS
4. specifying the SSID, with 40-bit WEP, static address and specified DNS
5. not specifying the SSID, no encryption, DHCP and DNS discovery
6. not specifying the SSID, no encryption, static address and specified DNS
7. specifying the SSID, no encryption, static address and specified DNS
8. installed Kismet according to http://www.timekiller.org/howtos/kismet-5600.html it didn't see any networks.

Under the "Current" tab in Networks it always says "Unable to Detect" in the access point.

Whenever I try to "connect" it says "No Detection detected.  Check your WEP Key settings and/or TCP settings."

What am I doing wrong?
Chris
Thanks!

jnmonteiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • http://
Help! Wifi Not Working!
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2005, 01:19:10 pm »
Disable WEP on your wifi router.
Enable SSID broadcast on your router.

Once you have the Z working with the unprotected router then start enabling the security stuff on the router.

This worked for me Zaurus SL5500 and Ambicon CF wifi.

John

cparker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Help! Wifi Not Working!
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2005, 06:01:37 pm »
Quote
Disable WEP on your wifi router.
Enable SSID broadcast on your router.

Once you have the Z working with the unprotected router then start enabling the security stuff on the router.

This worked for me Zaurus SL5500 and Ambicon CF wifi.

John
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=63493\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Unfortunately, I tried both of those.  I found a link about adding a card to wlan-ng.conf file.  My card wasn't in there, so I added it.  It still didn't work.

I also found a link to how to make this card work under Windoze and it didn't work there either.  So that means either the card is busted, or the process to make it work under Windoze was not correct.  Either way, I'm losing patience with it.  I'm thinking about finding someone with a PocketPC and asking them to see if it works.  That would at least let me know if its bad.

Thanks
Chris

V-Man

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • http://
Help! Wifi Not Working!
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2005, 11:15:59 pm »
I have the same card and a SL5500 Z.  If you are still having problems connecting, PM me and I'll try to help you with it.  I am using a Linksys AP/Router without difficulty.  I also have a iPaq 2210, two laptops (both WinXP), one WinXP desktop, and one linux desktop hooked up to it.  For security purposes, I use MAC address filtering.  I also use dhcp for obtaining the ip addresses.  Let me know if I can help.

V-Man
SL5500 w/Sharp ROM 3.10
Netgear MA701 WiFi
Sharp  CE-AG06 Camera Card
Various memory cards
Various homemade power/battery packs
HP 2215 iPAQ