Author Topic: Installing Opie  (Read 5559 times)

qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Opie
« on: July 23, 2005, 12:13:57 am »
I know just enough to get myself into trouble...

Gleeful with having just succeeded in getting my internet connection to work,  I proceeded to use ipkg to install all of the opie applications in the OZ feed.  I'm not sure what happeneded, but when I rebooted, it said that I had run out of memory, and when it tried to start opie it failed and said "bus error".  Still having a command line I tried to uninstall as much of the stuff as possible, and while this solved the bus error, I don't seem to have opie anymore.  well , I have these packages starting with "opie":

opie-advancedfm-pics - 1.2.0-r0 - Opie Advanced Filemanager
opie-button-settings-pics - 1.2.0-r0 - Device-buttons settings dialog
opie-datebook - 1.2.0-r0 - A datebook/appointment manager
opie-networksettings - 1.2.0-r0 - Opie Network Settings
opie-pics - 1.2.0-r1 -
opie-today - 1.2.0-r0 - Today screen application

on boot up, the Z doesn't try to start opie.  do I have enough of opie to start it manually? do I need to change a boot script?
If not, what packages do I need to install?  The opie and oz websites have been a bit lacking to me thus far.

spec's:
SL-5500
OZ 3.5.3
opie 1.2 (originally)
...
usb->en to Mac (10.3)

don't have a cf card so I can't reflash it yet.

acpkendo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Opie
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2005, 11:52:27 am »
It would help to know what you started with?  The bootstrap (i.e. non-GUI) image?  If this is the case, the answer is no, you don't have enough to start opie.  You'd need at least libopie1 (IIRC) and I believe it's called opie-core.  All opie apps will depend on these.

Then you might also need opie-launcher, although I'm not sure if this is the launcher itself or only the Settings application for it.

Your problem probably came as a result of trying to install everything to root (/).  There is a limited amount of room there (about 14MB to be exact), and if ipkg started installing some of the "non-essential" packages to root first, it would run out of room before it got to the necessary stuff.

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Installing Opie
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2005, 01:05:50 pm »
Try starting by installing the task-opie-* packages.

Not all of them, look at the filenames and decide which you should install. -base would be a good start, then -settings, -applets, -applications, etc.

These are meta files which contain nothing themselves, by have deps which will pull in the stuff you need,


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Opie
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2005, 02:23:29 pm »
thank you so much, i think i'm getting back on track.  i tried to install task-opie-base:

:~# ipkg install task-opie-base
ERROR: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for task-opie-base:
         opie-taskbar
:~# ipkg install opie-taskbar
Cannot find package opie-taskbar.

after hunting around online, i'm not sure why this package isn't available. do I need to specifya a different feed?

qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Opie
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2005, 02:27:40 pm »
i realized my list of packages above was incomplete.  here's the output from
ipkg list_installed | grep opie

libopiecore2-1 - 1.2.0-r0 - Base libraries for the Open Palmtop Integrated Environment
libopiedb2-1 - 1.2.0-r0 - Base libraries for the Open Palmtop Integrated Environment
libopienet2-1 - 1.2.0-r0 - Base libraries for the Open Palmtop Integrated Environment
libopieobex0 - 1.2.0-r0 - IrDA obex support library
libopiepim2-1 - 1.2.0-r0 - Base libraries for the Open Palmtop Integrated Environment
libopiesecurity2-0 - 1.2.0-r0 - Base libraries for the Open Palmtop Integrated Environment
libopietooth1-1 - 1.2.0-r0 - Opie Bluetooth library
libopieui2-1 - 1.2.0-r0 - Base libraries for the Open Palmtop Integrated Environment
opie-aboutapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - About Opie
opie-advancedfm-pics - 1.2.0-r0 - Opie Advanced Filemanager
opie-autorotateapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - Applet to disable the automatic screen rotation on Zaurus C-models
opie-batteryapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - Battery Monitor applet
opie-bluetoothapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - Opie Bluetooth Applet
opie-brightnessapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - Brightness Applet
opie-button-settings-pics - 1.2.0-r0 - Device-buttons settings dialog
opie-cardmon - 1.2.0-r0 - CF/PCMCIA Card Monitor applet
opie-clipboardapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - Clipboard applet
opie-clockapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - Clock applet
opie-datebook - 1.2.0-r0 - A datebook/appointment manager
opie-homeapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - Home Applet
opie-irdaapplet - 1.2.0-r0 - IrDA Applet
opie-lockapplet - 1.2.0+cvs-20050403-r0 - Lock Opie now Button to lock Opie (as configured in the Security settings) on demand.
opie-networksettings - 1.2.0-r0 - Opie Network Settings
opie-pics - 1.2.0-r1 -
opie-today - 1.2.0-r0 - Today screen application
opie-usermanager - 1.2.0-r0 - User/Group manager for Opie
opie-wellenreiter - 1.2.0-r1 - A Wireless Network Monitor
task-opie-wlan - 1.0-r23 - Meta-package for Opie and QPE

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Installing Opie
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2005, 06:08:08 am »
Assuming you have the feeds working, you should be able to just do 'ipkg install task-opie-base' and it will pull in the deps. I'd be surprised if opie-taskbar weren't in the feeds,


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
Installing Opie
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2005, 01:05:08 pm »
Quote
Assuming you have the feeds working, you should be able to just do 'ipkg install task-opie-base' and it will pull in the deps. I'd be surprised if opie-taskbar weren't in the feeds,


Si
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=89407\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It might be in the machine feed, which isn't configured by default.
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Opie
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2005, 11:11:38 pm »
excellent! thanks, coredump.  I added the machine feed to ipkg.conf.  I got task-opie-core installed the z tries to start up opie again.  So, I'm back to my original problem of the "bus error".
on startup:

Starting Opie in 5 seconds... press key to interrupt.
Starting Opie....
Bus error

then it gives me a command line.

hope this one is as easy and enlightening to solve as the first question.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2005, 11:12:21 pm by qwerty »

qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Opie
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2005, 12:30:29 pm »
Found another thread with as much answer as may be afforded.

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=12280

Sounds like the reflash is the only solution.

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Installing Opie
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2005, 06:30:22 am »
Quote
Sounds like the reflash is the only solution.

In that case it was as ipkg was not working (and even then it could have been fixed by hand, but a reflash was less effort IMO).

The current case is different; personally I'd reflash as it'd be easier, but installing the task-opie- packages from the command line is not all that difficult,


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Opie
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2005, 10:44:31 pm »
Ok I have opie up again (manually, cf card is in the mail), but now I can't get my wireless card to work.  cardctl ident corrently identifies my card but nothing seems to think that I have a wlan0 interface (ifconfig, iwconfig, ...).  I'm posting here because I probably need another package.

ipkg list_installed | grep wlan:
opie-networksettings-wlanplugin - 1.2.0-r0
opie-wlansetup-help-en - 1.2.0-r0
task-opie-wlan - 1.0-r23
wlan-ng-modules - 0.2.1-pre23-r1
wlan-ng-utils - 0.2.1-pre23-r1

Hellmark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Installing Opie
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2005, 09:06:50 pm »
I tried installing the updates so I can switch to R21, and it gave an error I was out of space, and then locked up a bit later. Rebooted, and it gave the Bus Error when it was starting Opie. I reflashed (twice actually) with the stock 3.5.3 and its still giving it. Any help?

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Installing Opie
« Reply #12 on: September 01, 2005, 05:31:00 am »
Quote
I tried installing the updates so I can switch to R21, and it gave an error I was out of space

Make sure you comment out all of the other feeds in /etc/ipkg.conf before doing this, then just the upgrades/collie feed will be used (you added this of course) and you will only upgrade the kernel modules.

Quote
I reflashed (twice actually) with the stock 3.5.3 and its still giving it.

Still the bus error? Are you sure the flash happened? How long did it take, is there anything in ~ ?


Si

P.S. You are talking about a 5500 or 5000D of course?
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

Hellmark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Installing Opie
« Reply #13 on: September 01, 2005, 12:08:21 pm »
Flash took about 5-10 minutes, then during first boot, it was working configuring things just like after any other flash.

SL-5500

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Installing Opie
« Reply #14 on: September 01, 2005, 12:12:46 pm »
Where and when does the bus error occur?

If it took this long then I'd check to see that the zImage was correctly named and not corrupt (as the initrd.bin is the bit which takes a long time to flash).

You are, of course, flashing the old kernel (in the 3.5.3 collie dir) first, then upgrading the kernel modules, then flashing the new kernel? You haven't got the two mixed up somehow, etc.?


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva