Author Topic: 1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx  (Read 84367 times)

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #60 on: March 29, 2006, 12:22:28 pm »
Take a look at this thread. I know it's for the C3200 and other Cxxxx models.
Maybe it'll work on a C760
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18523&st=0
"2gb And Up Sd Cards Supported, on the c3200"

He just posted a ipk, but retracted it. Is doing more testing.
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

tahoe1579

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #61 on: March 29, 2006, 02:41:20 pm »
I tried  it with no luck. Same thing as before. I can see the info but there is no device to mount it with. I tried my freinds 1GB card over lunch and it was able to mount it. So maybe
I'm just stuck using a 1GB card, but I thought that the new pdaXrom mmc driver was
supposed to allow use of 2GB cards.

I read in the other thread that you (Jon_J) are getting a 2GB card tomorrow. Let me know
how that works for you.
Zaurus C760
pdaXrom v1.1.0beta2
Netgear MA701 CF Wifi

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #62 on: March 31, 2006, 12:45:28 pm »
Quote
I read in the other thread that you (Jon_J) are getting a 2GB card tomorrow. Let me know
how that works for you.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I got my 2gb card today, had to order it. Local Staples was out of them.
It's a Sandisk Ultra II 2GB SD card. It works as shown in this thread:
[a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18523&st=30&p=121276&#entry121276]https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...76&#entry121276[/url]

Jon
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

Drake01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #63 on: April 14, 2006, 10:47:26 am »
Quote
1.1.0beta2

Unstable version for beta testers

For Zaurus SL-C1000/C3100
New mmc/sd driver need testers.
Installation files: kathrin-1.1.0beta2-akita.zip
Feed: http://mail.pdaxrom.org/1.1.0beta2/Zaurus-C1000-C3100/feed/
More applications you can install from Zaurus SL-C7x0 feed.
.
.
.
Changelog SL-C1000/C3100
kernel updated with cacko patches
cpuoverclock - 104,208,312 MHz added
new MMC/SD driver
   spacer
content 
lastupdate   spacer
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=117102\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I have a question...  I'm new to the Zaurus, so I'm still learning.   It sounds like the new SD driver is supposed to be included in the ROM package.  My 2GB card is not recognized, so I'd like to know if I mis-read something and I need to install the SD driver separately.

I flashed my SL-C1000 with beta2.  I just got my Ultra 2GB SD card yesterday, but it isn't recognized and if I try to manually mount it, the process seems to get stuck.  I can't even kill the process, so I end up resetting.

Does this sound like an issue with the driver?  Or does beta2 not have the new driver included in the package?  Or is this an issue with the card?  Card mounts fine on desktop, and I've tried reformatting it to ext2, but still no dice.
Device: SL-C3200 running pdaXii13v2 build 5.5.0
Networking: Symbol Spectrum24 WLAN card; Kingston CIO10T CF NIC
Storage: 4GB Transcend 150x SD; 16GB Transcend 133x CF; 4GB Seagate CF HDD; 4GB Patriot SD
HID: Logitech V450 Laser Mouse; generic silicone USB keyboard; 2 generic optical mice; stock plastic stylus
GPS: generic "UT-41" USB GPS Receiver
Case: neoprene case from my old Palm foldable keyboard

DaemonsGR

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #64 on: April 14, 2006, 11:29:08 am »
In beta2 the driver is buggy! Use beta3!
Tasos Varoudis (Tech)
Tasos Varoudis (Architecture)

Zaurus sl-c3100 + Wlan, Lan ,BT ,etc
NOW running... pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 + OOo + custom apps/setup + debian +.. not yet installed OpenBSD snapshot

WAS:Cacko 1.23 + X/QT + debian

Home-Net
Debian WIFI Router ,OpenBSD Bridge Firewall ,Win 2k Domain Server , :) Sun Fire v120 , :) Gentoo Main Server: Dual PIII

Drake01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #65 on: April 14, 2006, 01:09:53 pm »
Quote
In beta2 the driver is buggy! Use beta3!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=123202\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Hmmm...  I tried beta3, but I switched back to beta2 just before my SD card arrived in the mail.  It seemed like beta3 was draining my battery, and I thought I'd switch back until I could confirm if this was just my imagination or if there some bug in beta3.

Has anyone else noticed significantly reduced battery life with beta3?

IIRC, my battery had been at / near 100% the previous night.  I was trying to get my WiFi card to work and something I changed was causing problems, so I decided to reboot.  I was going to bed and didn't feel like waiting for the full reboot so that I could suspend, so I issued shutdown -h now and put the Z on the nightstand.  Didn't have a chance to use it the next day until I got home from work, but at that point the battery was so dead that I needed to swap it out in order to start up the Z.

Since I had just switched to beta3, I wasn't sure if it was the ROM causing the problem and I decided to play it safe and revert to beta2 for the moment.
Device: SL-C3200 running pdaXii13v2 build 5.5.0
Networking: Symbol Spectrum24 WLAN card; Kingston CIO10T CF NIC
Storage: 4GB Transcend 150x SD; 16GB Transcend 133x CF; 4GB Seagate CF HDD; 4GB Patriot SD
HID: Logitech V450 Laser Mouse; generic silicone USB keyboard; 2 generic optical mice; stock plastic stylus
GPS: generic "UT-41" USB GPS Receiver
Case: neoprene case from my old Palm foldable keyboard

Dima202

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #66 on: May 17, 2006, 01:21:44 am »
Quote
Quote
OK, I found that simply copying the orinoco modules from Chris Bryden fixes the problem.

Simply
Code: [Select]
# cd /
# tar xzvf /location-of-file/orinoco-modules.tar.gz
Then pop in your card and away you go.

To get the card to go into monitor mode for kismet, you'll need to
Code: [Select]
# iwconfig eth0 mode monitor
Cheers,
Jerry
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=117251\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
You are my saviour

Thnak you so much

I confirm that it's faster to resume now, no more redrawings twice like I had with beta1 especially using ROX-desktop.

Thanks Pdax Team
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=117252\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thank You Jerry and snapback (for referral) I finally got it working! Saved me hours of agony!:)
My symbol wifi card works!!!!
« Last Edit: May 17, 2006, 01:22:25 am by Dima202 »

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #67 on: May 17, 2006, 09:18:38 pm »
Quote
Thank You Jerry and snapback (for referral) I finally got it working! Saved me hours of agony!:)
My symbol wifi card works!!!!
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Just note, if you try Beta 4 you'll find that you'll need to add the firmware to get the Symbol card to work. Beta4 is only for the adventurous at this point, FYI if you're the adventurous type.

[a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=19301&view=findpost&p=127294]https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...ndpost&p=127294[/url]

Cheers,
Jerry
« Last Edit: May 17, 2006, 09:19:45 pm by jerrybme »
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #68 on: January 22, 2014, 02:25:45 pm »
Quote from: jerrybme
OK, I found that simply copying the orinoco modules from Chris Bryden fixes the problem.

Simply
Code: [Select]
# cd /
# tar xzvf /location-of-file/orinoco-modules.tar.gz
Then pop in your card and away you go.

To get the card to go into monitor mode for kismet, you'll need to
Code: [Select]
# iwconfig eth0 mode monitor
Cheers,
Jerry

Hi all,

Long, Long, Long time, since the post quoted....

Just got a 3100 after several years of no Zaurus...having fun with it so far....but it came with Symbol Spectrum24 card....so, does not work now...from reading various threads, I found orinoco-modules files referred to above.

Have put the files in place, but still no go with Symbol wifi card....

Have used cardctl, ifup, ifconfig, iwconfig commands, etc, but nothing so far has gotten card to wake up and be recognized.

Also, when doing commands, I see only 'lo' and 'irda' interfaces listed, no wlan0.....

So, I assume that this is part of problem too....

Can anyone help with getting wifi card working?

FWIW, I am able to use my Socket ethernet card, it works without doing anything....so, I know that CF card slot is OK....

Thanks for any and all help!

Mark
« Last Edit: January 22, 2014, 10:54:15 pm by ArchiMark »
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

ToneBlind

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #69 on: March 23, 2014, 12:57:35 am »
Quote from: ArchiMark
Quote from: jerrybme
OK, I found that simply copying the orinoco modules from Chris Bryden fixes the problem.

Simply
Code: [Select]
# cd /
# tar xzvf /location-of-file/orinoco-modules.tar.gz
Then pop in your card and away you go.

To get the card to go into monitor mode for kismet, you'll need to
Code: [Select]
# iwconfig eth0 mode monitor
Cheers,
Jerry

Hi all,

Long, Long, Long time, since the post quoted....

Just got a 3100 after several years of no Zaurus...having fun with it so far....but it came with Symbol Spectrum24 card....so, does not work now...from reading various threads, I found orinoco-modules files referred to above.

Have put the files in place, but still no go with Symbol wifi card....

Have used cardctl, ifup, ifconfig, iwconfig commands, etc, but nothing so far has gotten card to wake up and be recognized.

Also, when doing commands, I see only 'lo' and 'irda' interfaces listed, no wlan0.....

So, I assume that this is part of problem too....

Can anyone help with getting wifi card working?

FWIW, I am able to use my Socket ethernet card, it works without doing anything....so, I know that CF card slot is OK....

Thanks for any and all help!

Mark
I'm sorry I can't really help you. I just wanted to say Hi because I was amazed to see some activity here.

I still use my SL-C1000 with a heavily customized pdaXii13 build (including Fluxbox 1.0 which I compiled myself) and I still love the system.

I have used the Ambicom as well as a LinkSys Wireless CF card with no issue though. Maybe pick one of these cheap, if you can't make your card work.

Good luck, and nice talking with you.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2014, 12:58:55 am by ToneBlind »

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #70 on: September 02, 2014, 03:20:52 pm »
Quote from: ToneBlind
Quote from: ArchiMark
Quote from: jerrybme
OK, I found that simply copying the orinoco modules from Chris Bryden fixes the problem.

Simply
Code: [Select]
# cd /
# tar xzvf /location-of-file/orinoco-modules.tar.gz
Then pop in your card and away you go.

To get the card to go into monitor mode for kismet, you'll need to
Code: [Select]
# iwconfig eth0 mode monitor
Cheers,
Jerry

Hi all,

Long, Long, Long time, since the post quoted....

Just got a 3100 after several years of no Zaurus...having fun with it so far....but it came with Symbol Spectrum24 card....so, does not work now...from reading various threads, I found orinoco-modules files referred to above.

Have put the files in place, but still no go with Symbol wifi card....

Have used cardctl, ifup, ifconfig, iwconfig commands, etc, but nothing so far has gotten card to wake up and be recognized.

Also, when doing commands, I see only 'lo' and 'irda' interfaces listed, no wlan0.....

So, I assume that this is part of problem too....

Can anyone help with getting wifi card working?

FWIW, I am able to use my Socket ethernet card, it works without doing anything....so, I know that CF card slot is OK....

Thanks for any and all help!

Mark
I'm sorry I can't really help you. I just wanted to say Hi because I was amazed to see some activity here.

I still use my SL-C1000 with a heavily customized pdaXii13 build (including Fluxbox 1.0 which I compiled myself) and I still love the system.

I have used the Ambicom as well as a LinkSys Wireless CF card with no issue though. Maybe pick one of these cheap, if you can't make your card work.

Good luck, and nice talking with you.

Hi there,

Thanks for your reply and sorry for my very late reply.....didn't see your reply until today.....  

So, pdaXii13 still works OK for you?.....

Any issues with using it ?

The 3100 I got a while back came with weeXpc on it....a modified version of pdaXrom by Hermocom.....

Also, for fun got a 3200 and have played with OpenBSD on it....never used it before, but thought it would be good as it is still available for Zaurus. Only thing is that the packages for various programs need to be built, so that takes time on the Z as well as some packages have not built successfully yet.....

But having fun though.....
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/