Author Topic: Dosbox Package Issues  (Read 19997 times)

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #120 on: March 22, 2007, 11:42:42 pm »
Anyone get screenshots working in dosbox?
ctrl + F5 = screenshot or ctrl + F6 = screenshot
I tried these two settings in dosbox.conf

captures=capture
or
snapdir=snaps

These directories are in my DOS directory:  /data/dos
I have already created these directories.
Do I need to include the full Linux path to these directories in dosbox.conf?

/data/dos/capture
or
/data/dos/snaps
EDIT:
I edited this post because the dos.conf web site mentioned 2 options.
ctrl + F5 = screenshot or ctrl + F6 = screenshot
« Last Edit: March 27, 2007, 02:49:44 pm by Jon_J »
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

wellswang

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • http://wells.osall.com
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #121 on: March 23, 2007, 02:13:11 am »
Quote
Quote
Do not "pause" the game for very long, because it will eventually freeze up.
hmmmm.. that could be what's leading to the freeze.
I guess it's good to keep in mind that if you are planning on putting your Zaurus down for a few minutes, then do a save first.

Wellswang... can you do a recompile with SDL sound support. You seem to have some sort of magic trick for getting Dosbox to run really fast, and it would be great to have sound support too (if id doesn't cause major slowdown)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=156993\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I will have a try to compile the latest version of SDL / SDL-mixer and etc.
but I'm not sure whether it can improve dosbox's sound support.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2007, 02:14:19 am by wellswang »

merli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #122 on: March 23, 2007, 03:20:22 am »
Quote
I found that sometimes too.
Press Ctrl+Alt+backspace and wait 10-30 seconds and it will dump you out of X.
Fn+Ctrl+backspace (to exit you out of dosbox) might work too. Ithink it just takes a long time.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=156984\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Not working ... I don't know where problem can be, but it seems to be something with swapfile. Even when I kill X from network it won't ends ... Z need to be restarted.
merli
------
SL-C1000 - pdaxii13 5.3.3 but considering go back to beta1
Wifi D-link DCF-650W CF card - not using
bluetooth Billionton BT CF card and Samsung SGH-i310 GPRS
Pretec Cheetah 133x 4GB SD, Pretec Cheetah 80x 1GB CF

kkazakov13

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #123 on: March 23, 2007, 05:32:52 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Do not "pause" the game for very long, because it will eventually freeze up.
hmmmm.. that could be what's leading to the freeze.
I guess it's good to keep in mind that if you are planning on putting your Zaurus down for a few minutes, then do a save first.

Wellswang... can you do a recompile with SDL sound support. You seem to have some sort of magic trick for getting Dosbox to run really fast, and it would be great to have sound support too (if id doesn't cause major slowdown)
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I will have a try to compile the latest version of SDL / SDL-mixer and etc.
but I'm not sure whether it can improve dosbox's sound support.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157029\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Already have them here: [a href=\"http://z.drun.net/packages/]http://z.drun.net/packages/[/url] (sdl* , including -devel packages)

They are optimized for iwmmxt, while not requiring it.


Quote
Quote
I found that sometimes too.
Press Ctrl+Alt+backspace and wait 10-30 seconds and it will dump you out of X.
Fn+Ctrl+backspace (to exit you out of dosbox) might work too. Ithink it just takes a long time.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=156984\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Not working ... I don't know where problem can be, but it seems to be something with swapfile. Even when I kill X from network it won't ends ... Z need to be restarted.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157030\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Try running "startx" from network, and when (if) X cursor shows, kill it with Ctrl + C. then you have your prompt back. At least most of the situations were solved for me that way.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2007, 05:35:14 am by kkazakov13 »
SL-C3200 ** FOR SALE :( **
https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25969

Canon K30225 CF wireless card
Taxan iTax-LAN10 wired card
My packages for customized pdaXrom beta 3

merli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #124 on: March 26, 2007, 07:51:50 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Quote
Do not "pause" the game for very long, because it will eventually freeze up.
hmmmm.. that could be what's leading to the freeze.
I guess it's good to keep in mind that if you are planning on putting your Zaurus down for a few minutes, then do a save first.

Wellswang... can you do a recompile with SDL sound support. You seem to have some sort of magic trick for getting Dosbox to run really fast, and it would be great to have sound support too (if id doesn't cause major slowdown)
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I will have a try to compile the latest version of SDL / SDL-mixer and etc.
but I'm not sure whether it can improve dosbox's sound support.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157029\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Already have them here: [a href=\"http://z.drun.net/packages/]http://z.drun.net/packages/[/url] (sdl* , including -devel packages)

They are optimized for iwmmxt, while not requiring it.


Quote
Quote
I found that sometimes too.
Press Ctrl+Alt+backspace and wait 10-30 seconds and it will dump you out of X.
Fn+Ctrl+backspace (to exit you out of dosbox) might work too. Ithink it just takes a long time.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=156984\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Not working ... I don't know where problem can be, but it seems to be something with swapfile. Even when I kill X from network it won't ends ... Z need to be restarted.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157030\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Try running "startx" from network, and when (if) X cursor shows, kill it with Ctrl + C. then you have your prompt back. At least most of the situations were solved for me that way.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157035\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It works! ... but what to do when network unavailable? reset? Only X are freezed totally. I haven't such problem on beta 1. Proably will migrate back.
merli
------
SL-C1000 - pdaxii13 5.3.3 but considering go back to beta1
Wifi D-link DCF-650W CF card - not using
bluetooth Billionton BT CF card and Samsung SGH-i310 GPRS
Pretec Cheetah 133x 4GB SD, Pretec Cheetah 80x 1GB CF

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #125 on: April 19, 2007, 04:40:25 am »
New problem found with the latest dosbox package:
The comma / slash key does not produce any input.
Is this only the case on my installatoin, or is thie a general problem?
Is there any specific reason for that (key not mappable,...)?
Are the slash and comma mapped to another key?

I just tried once more to run Lotus 1-2-3 in DOSBox and partially succeeded, but without the slash key, the 1-2-3 menu is not reachable  

Thanks
daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #126 on: April 19, 2007, 07:42:19 am »
I'm using dosbox_0.70-iwmmxt_armv5tel.ipk posted in the new packages thread.
wellswang's version.
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...ndpost&p=156742
It has one odd behavior.
Just after launching it, the '/' key produces this: '/,'
If I keep hitting this key several times I get this: /,/,/,/,/,/,
To stop this behavior, hit the left shift key (by itself). This key is also odd, and produces this: (with only one keystroke)
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, (this keeps going until I hit backspace or the left shift key again, to stop it).
Once I stop the commas from trailing indefinitely, the left shift key and the '/' key work as they are supposed to work.
In other words, when first starting up this version of Dosbox, hit the left shift key once, then hit backspace, (to stop the trailing commas), then the (forward slash) '/' key works properly.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2007, 07:54:31 am by Jon_J »
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

merli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #127 on: April 19, 2007, 08:45:00 am »
Anyone can solve issue with unsync mouse stylus cursor? It is not only dosbox problem, it is general problem with all emulators I've tied. I had this behavior also in hatari, uae, basilisk II emulators. When I connect USB mouse everything is OK, with stylus is cursor out of sync. Any experienced developer can find reason for this behaviour? It would help much to run emulators on Z. Anyone knows about similar problem in PPC emulators?
merli
------
SL-C1000 - pdaxii13 5.3.3 but considering go back to beta1
Wifi D-link DCF-650W CF card - not using
bluetooth Billionton BT CF card and Samsung SGH-i310 GPRS
Pretec Cheetah 133x 4GB SD, Pretec Cheetah 80x 1GB CF

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #128 on: April 19, 2007, 09:38:06 am »
Quote
Anyone can solve issue with unsync mouse stylus cursor? It is not only dosbox problem, it is general problem with all emulators I've tied.
I find it quite astonishing but true, it is a near universal problem:

Linux: hatari, uae (although dosbox mostly works - at least I was able to run UFO: Enemy Unknown on it once)
Wince: dosbox, pocketdosbox, castce
Zaurus: dosbox, uae
« Last Edit: April 19, 2007, 09:39:48 am by desertrat »
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

raduga

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #129 on: April 19, 2007, 12:16:45 pm »
Quote
Quote
Anyone can solve issue with unsync mouse stylus cursor? It is not only dosbox problem, it is general problem with all emulators I've tied.
I find it quite astonishing but true, it is a near universal problem:

Linux: hatari, uae (although dosbox mostly works - at least I was able to run UFO: Enemy Unknown on it once)
Wince: dosbox, pocketdosbox, castce
Zaurus: dosbox, uae
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=159295\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

There are two problems that I've noticed.
a: mouse doesn't track touchpad position welll; either too slow or too fast
b: when pointer hits the edge (top, bottom, left, right) of screen,
     calibration gets clobbered. Screen refresh, or switch in/out of full screen
     restores it temporarily

a:) is actually a dosbox mouse emulation detection bug:
Code: [Select]
in src/ints/mouse.cpp

Line: 423
Void Mouse_CursorMoved()

change:

   if (emulate) {

to

   if (!emulate) {
This seems to have been broken for a very long time; maybe someone could
contact the DosBox developers.
.........

The other problem I *think* is with SDL, since it affects most stuff that uses
the SDL libs, roughly the same.  I have not been able to track,
or to fix it.

..........

UFO has one other problem with DosBox;  major problems if DosBox is built with configuration:

   --disable-fpu

On the plus side, I haven't seen any significant speed hit from using DosBox with FPU emulation enabled, so it may be worthwhile for Zaurus package maintainers to
leave it turned on.

Anyway, even at 620mhz, it runs too slow (in tactical mode) to be very playable.

planex123_user

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Dosbox Package Issues
« Reply #130 on: October 13, 2007, 05:37:50 pm »
I can report, that Dune 2 - Battle for Arrakis / Buidling of a Dynasty
works quite well (without sound).
Real time strategy games for handhelds are very rare, so...

(C1000,BETA3,no overclocking,dosbox running without xserver)

Moonstone - a hard days knight
works, but with graphic-errors (somehow seems to switch to black&white sometimes)