Author Topic: Modem only working on none-rooted android?  (Read 760 times)

mifritscher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Modem only working on none-rooted android?
« on: March 04, 2020, 08:31:27 am »
I rooted my cosmo the "official" way, ie installed the rooted kernel in one of the slots (should be EMPTY_NORMAL_BOOT_3 or EMPTY_NORMAL_BOOT_4). The problem is that the SIM card is only detected in normal (non-rooted) android, not in the rooted version.

Can it be that lk does initialize the modem only when booting from the normal android boot partition?

lokomoko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Modem only working on none-rooted android?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2020, 02:18:46 pm »
Quote from: mifritscher
I rooted my cosmo the "official" way, ie installed the rooted kernel in one of the slots (should be EMPTY_NORMAL_BOOT_3 or EMPTY_NORMAL_BOOT_4). The problem is that the SIM card is only detected in normal (non-rooted) android, not in the rooted version.
Same here! This has already been mentioned in this and this post.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2020, 02:25:15 pm by lokomoko »

LinuxGuy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Modem only working on none-rooted android?
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2020, 04:03:18 pm »
Quote from: lokomoko
Quote from: mifritscher
I rooted my cosmo the "official" way, ie installed the rooted kernel in one of the slots (should be EMPTY_NORMAL_BOOT_3 or EMPTY_NORMAL_BOOT_4). The problem is that the SIM card is only detected in normal (non-rooted) android, not in the rooted version.
Same here! This has already been mentioned in this and this post.

<sigh> SIM is not working on rooted android (and in Linux).Any work around? I will file a bug report onthe PC site.

Thanks inadvance!

SwordfishII

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Modem only working on none-rooted android?
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2020, 09:25:24 pm »
Quote from: LinuxGuy
Quote from: lokomoko
Quote from: mifritscher
I rooted my cosmo the "official" way, ie installed the rooted kernel in one of the slots (should be EMPTY_NORMAL_BOOT_3 or EMPTY_NORMAL_BOOT_4). The problem is that the SIM card is only detected in normal (non-rooted) android, not in the rooted version.
Same here! This has already been mentioned in this and this post.

<sigh> SIM is not working on rooted android (and in Linux).Any work around? I will file a bug report onthe PC site.

Thanks inadvance!


So you didn't read multiple posts above yours, or what you quoted...Otherwise you would realize this issue is known. If there were a work around it also would have been posted.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2020, 09:26:08 pm by SwordfishII »

Vistaus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
    • View Profile
Modem only working on none-rooted android?
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2020, 02:01:14 pm »
Will be fixed later this month  (IGG Update #47)

"The new Android firmware will also modify the bootloader so that the mobile radio modem and SIM cards will be recognised when booting into Linux, rooted Android and other non-Android partitions.

The firmware also includes recent Android security/system patches.

We will release this new Android firmware during March."

Floh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Modem only working on none-rooted android?
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2020, 08:37:54 am »
So I assume if I rooted in uninofficial way the first partition Android, the mobile modem still work then. Am I right?

Did Planet tell, we'll get an official way to root the first partition? Or will it never be official?

Best regards!
Floh

cam1965

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
    • View Profile
    • http://
Modem only working on none-rooted android?
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2020, 06:21:41 am »
Quote from: Floh
So I assume if I rooted in uninofficial way the first partition Android, the mobile modem still work then. Am I right?

Did Planet tell, we'll get an official way to root the first partition? Or will it never be official?

Best regards!
Floh
Mine is rooted not officially and the sim card works. Please, see the posts here. Don' t forget to unlock the bootloader first. I've used an image of the rooted android provided here in this forum. I've used fastboot mode and I have connected my mac ( with linux ) to do this job. Be careful. Please read carefully all the messages here. Also , twrp from this forum works and the official twrp did not work ( I think it is because of the rooted android in the first partition ). I have rooted android, twrp and DEBIAN. The hardware section of this forum is the best place to look about this. Good luck.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2020, 01:00:18 pm by cam1965 »