Author Topic: Does the C860 have SDIO?  (Read 74486 times)

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2003, 11:22:39 am »
Quote
Perhaps it is only the 5000 and 5500 that aren\'t fully wired? That would be good news.

Depends on your point of view ;-). The 5x00 devices also have SA1110 chips as opposed to the PXA2x0 ones which the other Z\'s have. I was under the impression (merely from reading the other forum) that the PXA2x0 might have some kind of built in SDIO...?

Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

raybert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2003, 06:01:53 pm »
hmm...well, you might be in luck.  Shawn Gordon coincidentally just happened to mention this on the tkc mailing list today (the conversation was about SD transfer rates) and he mentioned that he thinks the devices after the 5500 have all of the pins wired.  So, I guess it\'s so!

~ray

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2003, 07:14:08 pm »
Can we get a double check on this and/or get this Shawn bloke to visit this board? There\'s no point us getting our hopes up just to have them dashed.
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2003, 07:19:44 pm »
*BUMP* I feel this is important, please don\'t let this idea just get swept under the rug!
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

zbones

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
    • View Profile
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2003, 08:16:49 pm »
Foxdie,
you bumped this just as I thinking there was some sort of conspiracy.


I recalled reading it, and thought I had read it on the sharp devnet board.  I have just spent 20mins searching for this post on the sharp devnet, and I thought it had been removed when the board went down.

If this could be made to work then there will be much rejoicing.

My 760 could arrive in the next 7 hours, so I\'m off to bed.

Peter.
Zaurus cl760, cacko QT rom. Zaurus sl5500 with TKCrom 1.0.
512mb Kingston cf card, 256mb Sandisk sd card, Lexar 256mb sd card.
Bluemonkey bluetooth card <-> Sony Ericsson k700i for gprs.
Buffalo WLI-CF-S11G wifi card. Haicom 303 mmf gps cf/seral card.

brewin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #20 on: December 29, 2003, 11:20:28 pm »
I think they do have the capability for SDIO, but the problem is the driver. Apparently you have to pay $1000 a year to the SD Card Association at www.sdcard.org to be able to develop drivers.  Although they do provide a simplified version of the SDIO spec to the public on their \"How to Join\" page. Also, I found an SD-Card block driver at www.blumba.de that might be useful to someone wanting to write an SDIO driver. Although, I don\'t know how legal writing an open source SDIO driver would be.
SL-5500 running Zynergy on kernel with wireless extensions
128MB CF, 32MB MMC
Socket Low Power WLAN Card

Anonymous

  • Guest
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #21 on: December 30, 2003, 11:30:46 am »
Quote
I think they do have the capability for SDIO, but the problem is the driver. Apparently you have to pay $1000 a year to the SD Card Association at www.sdcard.org to be able to develop drivers.

I think it may be time to reengineer this darn thing.  I really hate this closed spec stuff.

coder101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #22 on: April 27, 2004, 02:08:48 pm »
BUMP
Did this ever get resolved? Is the Hardware there, but not the driver?
SL-C860 from Brando, Micro Power PtoGo 240V adapter, SanDisk CF Low Power Wireless Lan, 256MB Lexar CF, 128MB Medion CF, 128MB Traveler SD, iPDA USB SyncCable, 7in1 Card Reader and Writer USB

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #23 on: April 27, 2004, 02:44:31 pm »
Are there any SD Wireless cards that aren\'t SDIO?  Will any of the SD Wireless cards work on my SL-C860?
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

mussi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #24 on: April 27, 2004, 03:26:25 pm »
I\'m not completely inept at electronics (buh, if you\'re one, that\'s not really difficult). I have taken apart a few devices using Intel PXA stuff, especially the PXA2xx. If someone could publish or mail me high-resolution pictures of the PCB (upper and lower side), I might make an educated guess. The pinout of the PXA2xx chips is known, and from this, we might be able to find out. See http://www.intel.com/design/pca/applicatio...ls/27869401.pdf for the Intel manual on the PXA255.

Now we need somebody to take pictures of the C860 PCB....who wants to sacrifice his Z for \'science\'?  

Of course, someone could still fake a connection and let it run into a dead end, or even use crippled PXA chips iof they order enough.

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #25 on: April 27, 2004, 04:34:21 pm »
I\'ll debate with myself over the next 24 hours if it\'s worth taking my C760 apart to take the photo. I am pretty confident I can strip it down and reassemble it fine, but who wants to take such a risk with such an expensive device?

PS. Due to it\'s significance (who WOULDN\'T want SDIO??) I\'ve set this topic as sticky in the hope it\'ll grab peoples attentions to keep following it.
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

vishnja

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #26 on: April 27, 2004, 05:41:47 pm »
I\'m definitely not able to put my Z together after having taken it apart, and I don\'t really want to send Foxdie up to the front - but I would like to have SDIO ;-)
C860 with Cacko 1.21 \"Elena\" ROM,
pretec wlan cf, nokia bt cf, ratoc usb host cf, socket lan cf,
sandisk 512 cf/sd, kingston 256 cf

jchung

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #27 on: May 04, 2004, 09:52:58 am »
I have a C700 that has problems with the display ( the display is very faint.. but still there.. no backlight.. etc). I have taken apart the screen part of the cover but not the bottom...

If it would help I can take the bottom apart and take pictures. It will take a little bit because I would need to borrow my friend\'s camera.

let me know if you guys would want that.. I know it\'s only C700 with the PXA250 but maybe it would help
C700 w/ Cacko 1.21b | 5500 w/ tkcROM
C760 w/ Cacko 1.21b
Lexar 256MB SD | Viking 1GB CF
Netgear MA701 WiFi | Ambicom WL1100C WiFi
Sharp CE-AG06 Camera | PDAir Leather Case | PDAir 3 in 1 stylus | G2 PDA Screen Protector

treke

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #28 on: May 04, 2004, 12:09:14 pm »
Quote
I definitively interested on this SDIO driver. Could please provide us with more details ?
Thanks in advance.


I spoke with the person in question again a couple weeks ago. The reason he never ended up releasing any of the work he did was due to possible legal concerns.

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Does the C860 have SDIO?
« Reply #29 on: May 04, 2004, 04:55:26 pm »
Quote
I have a C700 that has problems with the display ( the display is very faint.. but still there.. no backlight.. etc). I have taken apart the screen part of the cover but not the bottom...

If it would help I can take the bottom apart and take pictures. It will take a little bit because I would need to borrow my friend\'s camera.

let me know if you guys would want that.. I know it\'s only C700 with the PXA250 but maybe it would help


High resolution and high quality photos of all the C series innards would probably be good
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt