Author Topic: Kismet & Socket CF  (Read 5233 times)

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« on: October 20, 2004, 01:21:23 pm »
My problem with the Socket card is that although I can run the kismet GUI fine; it doesn't show any activity most of the time.  This occurs even though I'm standing next to an access point. Occassionally, it shows a few packets then seems to stop. Dmesg doesn't offer any relevant info. My SMC 2642w card works fine with my configuration. In RC-3 I had similar problem but it worked 30-50% of the time, seems to have gotten worse. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Jerry
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

Dr.HerbertWest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2004, 01:57:09 pm »
I have got kismet to only show 1 router it's rather annoying  someone should compile wellenreiterII for rc5 that would make me happy

tz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2004, 02:55:41 pm »
The normal socket driver cannot put the card into monitor mode.  When using the driver with monitor patches it works well.

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2004, 11:00:15 pm »
Quote
The normal socket driver cannot put the card into monitor mode.  When using the driver with monitor patches it works well.
@Tz
Ok, how do I patch the drivers?

@Laze - can the patch for the socket driver be included in the next release?

Cheers,
Jerry
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

tz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2004, 04:02:33 pm »
You might also need a kernel tree.

http://homepage.mac.com/tz1/

Get the s042mon.dif patch file.

Ferdy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2005, 01:56:58 pm »
Can anyone please tell me how I apply this patch? I also have this Socket CF W-lan card, and I'm experiencing the same problem.

NXK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2005, 05:24:40 pm »
I'm having the same problem with a Symbol CF and I can't seem to patch the drivers myself or find pre-patched versions.  Anyone have prepatched versions of Socket drivers they can make available?

Thanks,
NXK


Update: Duh, the Wiki points us here:
Getting your Socket...

Right under our noses...
« Last Edit: February 26, 2005, 05:52:21 pm by NXK »

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2005, 09:18:13 am »
Quote
I'm having the same problem with a Symbol CF and I can't seem to patch the drivers myself or find pre-patched versions.  Anyone have prepatched versions of Socket drivers they can make available?

Thanks,
NXK


Update: Duh, the Wiki points us here:
Getting your Socket...

Right under our noses...
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
If you're using RC9 or 9 or 9.1 the patch has already been applied. The problem I was having was turned out not to be drivers in the kernel but the version of kismet in the feed. My problem was fixed by installing the kismet ipk from the kismet site it works fine. [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=9712&pid=66133&st=0&#entry66133]See here[/url]
Cheers,
Jerry
« Last Edit: February 27, 2005, 09:18:45 am by jerrybme »
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

conundrum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2005, 12:05:33 pm »
I havent been in any high traffic areas sniffing for wifi, but kismet seems to work just fine.  Airsnort also works, just have to make an icon for it as the ipk only installs the binary.

Please excuse the lack of punctuation, this post brought to you by my C860 and Socket wireless card.

Ferdy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2005, 11:19:52 am »
Quote
I finally have gotten Kismet to work on RC9. Although I don't think it's a ROM issue. As stated in my above post, my problem was that while Kismet would run it wouldn't channel hop. It would stop on channel 1.

To solve this I installed the ipk from the Kismet site here It is version 2005-01-R1. Scroll down the page & look for the ARM Binary section.
It installed fine but didn't like being on the SD so I had to install on /
This release seems to play much better with the Socket cards. I've been running for several days now without problems.

Cheers,
Jerry
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66133\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I tried installing this version, but when I want to start Kismet, I get the following error: "Error opening terminal: xterm."

If I use the same kismet.conf and kismet_ui.conf files in the Kismet version from the RC9 feed, it freezes at channel hopping, but doesn't show an error.

Is there anyone else who got the same error, or does anyone know how to fix this?

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2005, 11:40:55 am »
Quote
I tried installing this version, but when I want to start Kismet, I get the following error: "Error opening terminal: xterm."

If I use the same kismet.conf and kismet_ui.conf files in the Kismet version from the RC9 feed, it freezes at channel hopping, but doesn't show an error.

Is there anyone else who got the same error, or does anyone know how to fix this?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69117\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Do you have
Code: [Select]
export TERMINFO=/usr/share/terminfo
export TERM=xterm-color
in your .bashrc file?
I believe I got this error too at first but the above fixed it.

Jerry
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

Ferdy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2005, 02:10:14 pm »
Quote
Quote
I tried installing this version, but when I want to start Kismet, I get the following error: "Error opening terminal: xterm."

If I use the same kismet.conf and kismet_ui.conf files in the Kismet version from the RC9 feed, it freezes at channel hopping, but doesn't show an error.

Is there anyone else who got the same error, or does anyone know how to fix this?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69117\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Do you have
Code: [Select]
export TERMINFO=/usr/share/terminfo
export TERM=xterm-color
in your .bashrc file?
I believe I got this error too at first but the above fixed it.

Jerry
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69121\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for the quick reply! Kismet works great now!  

rjohnson1969

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2005, 12:13:19 pm »
Did you-all get Kismet to start from the GUI?  It works great for me, but I must launch it from the terminal, and then start the kismet_qt GUI.
sl-5500 with Sharp 3.13 ROM
using stock PIM
generic 512MB SD
Pretec CF Wi-Fi

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2005, 04:18:27 pm »
Quote
Did you-all get Kismet to start from the GUI?  It works great for me, but I must launch it from the terminal, and then start the kismet_qt GUI.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77162\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Um, based on the info in your sig, you may have posted in the wrong forum, this thread is about using kismet with pdaxrom & the socket lowpower card. Run from the terminal in pdaxrom, it starts it's own terminal based gui. No qt involved.

Glad you got it work tho  
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Kismet & Socket CF
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2005, 03:34:48 am »
Which driver should I be using under kismet.conf with my Socket CF card? I have tried numerous combinations to no success.
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt