Author Topic: Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!  (Read 236345 times)

raybert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #60 on: May 01, 2005, 01:36:47 pm »
Okay, here's mine...  

I did it in three pieces:

uninst:
Code: [Select]
ipkg remove kaddressbook
ipkg remove kmicrokdelibs
ipkg remove kopiemail
ipkg remove korganizer
ipkg remove korganizer-alarm
ipkg remove ksharpPIM-DTMaccess
ipkg remove pwmanager
inst:
Code: [Select]
ipkg -force-depends install *.ipk
qcop QPE/System "restart()"

This final one just does a complete update by calling the other two...

update:
Code: [Select]
. uninst
. inst

You'll need to modify it slightly to support the exact components that you use.

uninst can be run from anywhere.  inst must be run from a directory containing the ipk's that you want to install (and, therefore, so must update).

Note that this doesn't work with installation to sd or cf (but could be modified easily to do so).

Note also that you must manually activate/deactive fast load (however, automatically activating it can be done pretty easily with a sed-based script to change the .desktop files).

~ray

shreks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #61 on: May 01, 2005, 03:59:35 pm »
Quote
Quote
When a CSV file is imported, the BIRTHDAY field can be selected to match the actual column of birthdays. But after importing, the actual contacts in KAPI do NOT contain birthday information. I think it was left out by accident.

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77464\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Please try version 2.1.4 and let me know if it works or does not work.
z.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77625\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Frist of all, the mapping function from all columns in CSV data to NOTES is working correctly, great work, Zautrix!!!

Second, I found other bugs in importing CSV:

1) the TITLE field is missing after selecting corresponding title column in CSV and importing the file. I guess the TITLE field when importing a CSV file should appear in the ROLE field in KAPI.

2) After I modified various places of the contacts in KAPI, now I want to quit KAPI and discard all changes. But currently there seems no way to exit KAPI without discarding changes, which means I have to save all changes before exit KAPI, right? One way is to UNDO all changes and then exit KAPI, but if there are too many changes happening, it is not practical to do. So I am wondering if you can add an option when exit KAPI, say:
You are about to quit KAPI and your contacts are changed. Do you want to save the changes before exit: Yes, No, Cancel.

3) In KAPI windows, the left part is a list of contacts, the right part is the details of each contact. Right now, person's name at the detail part is always: <First Name> <Last name>. Since KAPI already has a function to specify the formatted name of each contact (in Edit->Change->Set format name), I think it is perfect to let KAPI use the formatted name of each contact to display the name filed in the detail view of a contact, instead of the fixed "<First Name> <Last name>" pattern. This is because people from different culture have different preferences in displaying their entire names. For example, western people like using "<First Name> <Last name>" but eastern people like using "<Last Name> <First name>". I think KAPI will look more considerate to its users if this feature is added.

4) KAPI's data file "std.vcf" still contains the problem of splitting double-byte UTF-8 characters after importing an UTF8-encoded CSV file. I am trying to figure out how to solve this problem. From what I know, UTF-8 is the encoding mainly used for final saved file, and UCS-4 is the encoding mainly used for internal processing becuase this encoding represent each character, no matter single-byte or double-byte, by four bytes. My guess is that UTF-8 file is read into memory and then converted into UCS-4 encoding. When saving file, all characters are converted back to UTF-8. I will explore this issue more.

Thanks a lot, zautrix!

jpmatrix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
    • http://matrixmen.free.fr
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #62 on: May 02, 2005, 06:32:49 am »
Quote
Okay, here's mine... 

great! i'll test it ASAP
**Fujitsu U1010 !!!  
**ex-Zaurus SL-C3000 owner with Debian kernel 2.6.24-yonggun

ev1l

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://bbshuffle.blogspot.com/
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #63 on: May 03, 2005, 01:56:22 pm »
Quote
uninst:
Code: [Select]
ipkg remove kaddressbook
ipkg remove kmicrokdelibs
ipkg remove kopiemail
ipkg remove korganizer
ipkg remove korganizer-alarm
ipkg remove ksharpPIM-DTMaccess
ipkg remove pwmanager
You should check whether they're installed (ipkg status, and grep the output) before issuing an uninstall command. It'd be nice to integrate an unzip commad that expands the distribution zip as well.
Quote
inst:
Code: [Select]
ipkg -force-depends install *.ipk
qcop QPE/System "restart()"
Arg. it'd be better to enumerate all the packages you want (like in the first script). If there are other packages in the execution directory, they'll get shoved in as well.
Quote
Note also that you must manually activate/deactive fast load (however, automatically activating it can be done pretty easily with a sed-based script to change the .desktop files).
Since you're restarting anyway, fastload doesn't really matter. It's only important if you want to reload the updated binaries instead of using the ones already loaded in memory before you next reboot.
Don't take my comments wrong, k? Talking's easy, you're doing the actual work.

jpmatrix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
    • http://matrixmen.free.fr
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #64 on: May 03, 2005, 04:21:39 pm »
thanks Raybert !
your procedure worked great !
even without rebooting
**Fujitsu U1010 !!!  
**ex-Zaurus SL-C3000 owner with Debian kernel 2.6.24-yonggun

Ragnorok

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #65 on: May 04, 2005, 02:00:22 pm »
- Firstly, the entire K*/PI 2.1.1 package is STUNNING.  I've used Zs for years and this is the very first thing I've seen that makes a Z an usable PIM.  STELLAR WORK.
- I'm not using the mail app yet, nor the phone i'face, so I can't address those.  (wink)

PWM/PI:
- This requires an *unique* entry in the Description field, which I find just slightly bizzarre.  I'm trying to import my zSafe data, because that doesn't run in landscape (pout), and it keeps failing because I have lots of entries with the same "Description".  For instance, at work, I have account data for a dozen users on one server (my account and scads of test accounts with varying permissions).  The description has the server name, then username & password fields have the user/pwd.  I get the first entry for that server, and nothing else.  It makes no sense (to me at any rate [wink]) to put unique descriptors, or duplicate the user's name in the description.  I'd like a checkbox to disable this.  I could use server<n> or some such for each description but that, too, seems hokey.
- When I shut the Z off, and turn it back on, the passwords are still unlocked.  Don't know if this is good or bad, but zSafe requires re-auth on wake-up.  I haven't checked if the password timeout functions when suspended ... that would be okay if it does.
- Some of my "password" data aren't really passwords at all, like the number of miles I have with various airlines.  I don't really want or care for that to be hidden, once the file is decrypted; I just like my data in a common place.  (grin)  I'd find it convenient if the Category edit field, where I can change the labels, would also have a checkbox so the "password" field remains visible at all times.

KO/PI:
- When I eneter an event with an alarm, and click the little notes, the browser doesn't show anything.  Even if I drive to the directory where the Z keeps its .WAV files, there's just a blank screen there.  I can manually enter the full path to a .WAV and it will use it for that event, but I can't pick one.  This actually seems to be the case pretty much any time the file chooser is opened.  <curiosity>Is there a reason why the system default chooser isn't employed?</curiosity>
- The ToDo list is nice, but it doesn't update the percent complete for me, like StageOne does, as I complete subordinate entries.  Instead I have to manually select from fixed "percentages".
- I'd like to be able to re-organize the order of the ToDos manually, instead of having them appear in alphabetecal order.  I can work around that by putting numbers on the parent.
- When I create a sub-task, it doesn't show that new sub-task.  It does put a plus next to the parent of the new sub-task, which I can use to expand, but it doesn't expand right away.  This is minor, but first time I did it, I thought it didn't create the sub-task at all!  (wide grin)
- I'd like the ability to change what's shown in the upper-right, next to the calendar, so it doesn't always show ToDos, just like I can change what appears in the wide, lower part.
- When I hold on an event in the weekly, daily, monthly (any view with the hours on the left and the colored columns in the main area) until the context menu appears, I can't select anything in that content menu.  I can use Actions from the main menu just fine.
- Thanks for your time...

System is a C1000 running Sharp ROM 1.1JP (?) and KO/KA/PWM/PI v2.1.1.
| I shed a tear for the passing of Hiroshi; he served me well
| Zaurus zealot since Nov 2002, PDA user since Oct 1991
| Replaced Z with UMID BZ February 2010

ev1l

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://bbshuffle.blogspot.com/
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #66 on: May 05, 2005, 08:34:39 am »
Quote
- Firstly, the entire K*/PI 2.1.1 package is STUNNING.  I've used Zs for years and this is the very first thing I've seen that makes a Z an usable PIM.  STELLAR WORK.
We aim to please! I'll let Z answer the technical questions, and do the rest.
Quote
- I'm not using the mail app yet, nor the phone i'face, so I can't address those.  (wink)
The mail app is garbage. Z ported it to be able to read his IMAP email on the go (because big IMAP directories trash the default app), and that's about all it's good for. For POP stick to the system client.
Quote
PWM/PI:
- When I shut the Z off, and turn it back on, the passwords are still unlocked.  Don't know if this is good or bad, but zSafe requires re-auth on wake-up.  I haven't checked if the password timeout functions when suspended ... that would be okay if it does.
The timeout is probably not running when suspended, you have to lock the file manually. It's originally a desktop app, so things like that aren't implemented. Maybe Z'll take a crack at it, I don't know.
Quote
- Some of my "password" data aren't really passwords at all, like the number of miles I have with various airlines.  I don't really want or care for that to be hidden, once the file is decrypted; I just like my data in a common place.  (grin)  I'd find it convenient if the Category edit field, where I can change the labels, would also have a checkbox so the "password" field remains visible at all times.
I'm not sure I like that idea  

Quote
- The ToDo list is nice, but it doesn't update the percent complete for me, like StageOne does, as I complete subordinate entries.  Instead I have to manually select from fixed "percentages".
That'd be nice, I'll see if we can work something out. By default it'll mark the children as complete if the parent is, but not the other way around (people don't input everything in their PIM apps).

Quote
- I'd like to be able to re-organize the order of the ToDos manually, instead of having them appear in alphabetecal order.  I can work around that by putting numbers on the parent.
Arg! no. You know you can classify them by any column data you like, right? (priority, %age complete, categories, etc)
Quote
- When I create a sub-task, it doesn't show that new sub-task.  It does put a plus next to the parent of the new sub-task, which I can use to expand, but it doesn't expand right away.  This is minor, but first time I did it, I thought it didn't create the sub-task at all!  (wide grin)
I've been bugging Z about this for a while now. The focus management is still not super-brilliant in most cases, but it takes time to run through everything.
Quote
- I'd like the ability to change what's shown in the upper-right, next to the calendar, so it doesn't always show ToDos, just like I can change what appears in the wide, lower part.
What else would you want in there? The topbar only exists because desktop screens are big enough to handle that much info. When the app was ported it got ported as well, but the whole thing crowds the display really badly, I thought.
Quote
- When I hold on an event in the weekly, daily, monthly (any view with the hours on the left and the colored columns in the main area) until the context menu appears, I can't select anything in that content menu.  I can use Actions from the main menu just fine.
Not sure what you mean... Try unchecking "Block popup until mouse release" in the General options. I asked Z to make it the default on VGA screens at install time, but he probably hasn't had time to do that yet.
Quote
- Thanks for your time...
That'll be $249.
I just asked Z to compile 2.1.4 to all targets so people are on the same base. It fixes quite a few bugs from 2.1.0
Let me know if you run into anymore issues.

raybert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #67 on: May 05, 2005, 06:12:53 pm »
Quote
Don't take my comments wrong, k? Talking's easy, you're doing the actual work.
Comments taken as constructive.  

I should clarify though, that what I posted was a set of scripts I wrote for myself only, designed to serve my needs specifically.  It was not intended as a general purpose solution for anyone to use.  It was intended as something that others could build on to develop their solution, and/or as a demonstration as to how it was done.  Additionally, I can't even take full credit for it because it was derived from a script someone else posted on the forum (sorry, but I forget whom).

Anywho... I will respond to your comments anyway, by way of explanation:

Quote
Quote
uninst:
Code: [Select]
ipkg remove kaddressbook
ipkg remove kmicrokdelibs
ipkg remove kopiemail
ipkg remove korganizer
ipkg remove korganizer-alarm
ipkg remove ksharpPIM-DTMaccess
ipkg remove pwmanager
You should check whether they're installed (ipkg status, and grep the output) before issuing an uninstall command. It'd be nice to integrate an unzip commad that expands the distribution zip as well.
Since this was designed specifcally for my known configuration, I had no need to check; I knew what I normally install.  Note certain omissions from the full suite.

Quote
Quote
inst:
Code: [Select]
ipkg -force-depends install *.ipk
qcop QPE/System "restart()"
Arg. it'd be better to enumerate all the packages you want (like in the first script). If there are other packages in the execution directory, they'll get shoved in as well.
I keep my kdepim installations in a dedicated directory on an sd card.  I use tkcZip to manually extract the IPKs that I want (after deleting the old ones) and then I run the script.  So no danger of that in my set-up.

Quote
Quote
Note also that you must manually activate/deactive fast load (however, automatically activating it can be done pretty easily with a sed-based script to change the .desktop files).
Since you're restarting anyway, fastload doesn't really matter. It's only important if you want to reload the updated binaries instead of using the ones already loaded in memory before you next reboot.
As a habit, I always deactivate fastload before updating any software, just to make sure that all data is synched to disk (and I think that this is advisable for anyone).  That means, therefore, that I have to re-activate it after the update.  I could re-activate it automatically in the script (as I suggested in my note) but I prefer not to.  I like to run the programs without fastload first to make sure they are working correctly (i.e. not shredding my data, etc.; something of that nature *has* happened to me in the past).

Lastly, all of your suggestions are excellent for a more general purpose tool/installer.  The one piece that is not obvious to me (in creating a full general purpose updater) is how to select the apps from the zip file that you want to install/update (without actually writing an app to do it).

~ray

jh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #68 on: May 05, 2005, 06:27:19 pm »
Alright, so I'm a bit behind, but... Pi-Sync mode is absolutely awesome.  Just set it up today after getting 2.1.1 compiled on my linux box.  Now I have an awesome calendar app on my Z and on my desktop with easy sync.

THANKS!

jason

Ragnorok

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #69 on: May 06, 2005, 02:31:12 pm »
Quote
The timeout is probably not running when suspended, you have to lock the file manually. It's originally a desktop app, so things like that aren't implemented. Maybe Z'll take a crack at it, I don't know.

Actually, the timout never runs.  I left the unit on to see what happens, and the password never times out.  It's easy to lock it, so this is just information.

Quote
I'm not sure I like that idea

This would only apply to the Category where it's selected, not the entire system.  (shrug)  Just a feature request, anyway.  BTW, the main screen shows the password directly, without "Reveal"ing it, so it's Nothin' But A Thang.  (wide grin)

Quote
Arg! no. You know you can classify them by any column data you like, right? (priority, %age complete, categories, etc)

Sure.  I just don't always want them sorted by a visible criteria.  Again, just a feature request.  There are workarounds to make it sort by whatever I want.

Quote
What else would you want in there? The topbar only exists because desktop screens are big enough to handle that much info. When the app was ported it got ported as well, but the whole thing crowds the display really badly, I thought.

True.  I was thinking "What's Next", actually.  (grin)

Quote
Try unchecking "Block popup until mouse release" in the General options.

That be it.  Donkies!
| I shed a tear for the passing of Hiroshi; he served me well
| Zaurus zealot since Nov 2002, PDA user since Oct 1991
| Replaced Z with UMID BZ February 2010

raybert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #70 on: May 07, 2005, 03:43:40 pm »
Okay there, Dr. ev1l, you wanted a better install script, here ya go...    

(see attachment)

This is not yet tested extensively, so use at your own risk.  (I just installed 2.1.4 with it a couple of times and it was fine.)  Also, note that the text & menus may not work so well on a non-clamshell (ie. portrait display).

Here are the usage notes from the script:
Quote
Usage: ./kdepim-installer.sh <kdepim-zip-file>

Instructions:

 1. BACKUP YOUR DATA!!
 2. BACKUP YOUR DATA!! (bears repeating
 3. Disable fastload on all kdepim apps (if applicable).
 4. Copy the ZIPped kdepim suite distribution file to your Zaurus.
 5. Do not extract the contents of the ZIP file.
 6. Copy this script to your Zaurus.
 7. Run this script in the console, passing the name of the
    kdepim ZIP file on the command line.
 8. Follow the prompts.

Notes:

 - This script requires the 'unzip' package to be installed.
 - This script is written for the Sharp ROM and may not work
   as intended on other ROMs.
 - This script does not support installs to CF or SD cards.
 - The script will detect all IPKs in the ZIP file and determine
   which are installed on your system and what the default
   disposition should be for each package.  If no kdepim packages
   are already installed, the default disposition will be to
   install all packages.  If any are installed already, the
   default disposition will be to install/update the ones that
   are already installed and to *not* install the ones that
   aren't.  The script allows you to edit the disposition of all
   packages before proceeding.
 - This script does not utilize the package version numbers,
   allowing you re-install the current version or revert to
   earlier versions.

Enjoy!!    

~ray
« Last Edit: May 07, 2005, 03:44:50 pm by raybert »

ev1l

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://bbshuffle.blogspot.com/
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #71 on: May 08, 2005, 11:03:31 am »
Hey raybert, thanks for the script. I'm running through it now, and there doesn't seem to be any problems with the code iteself. I can think of a couple of things I'd like done differently from a functional point of view, but it's not my prerogative anyway
In any case, i'll try it out and let you know.

raybert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #72 on: May 09, 2005, 11:05:50 am »
Quote
Hey raybert, thanks for the script. I'm running through it now, and there doesn't seem to be any problems with the code iteself. I can think of a couple of things I'd like done differently from a functional point of view, but it's not my prerogative anyway
In any case, i'll try it out and let you know.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=78785\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

If you have some better ideas for any part of it let me know what they are.  If it doesn't take too long, maybe I'll implement them.

~ray

JoP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #73 on: May 10, 2005, 06:16:45 am »
Hey Z,
I was going to finish and post my translations to catalan and spanish, but, it's going to take me a while...
I've just ordered a C-1000, and it's on its way!!! How cool!, I thought. Two hands, two Zs...  

But two days ago I had a wreck with my motorcycle, broke my right hand and til I recover will only have three (painfully) useful fingers on my left hand  
(it's taking me years to write this!   )

Will keep watching your awesome work guys!

[edit]
I forgot to say but, just for the reliability worries of the Z, my 5500 was in my backpack and it survived the wreck in perfect conditions. Just had to reboot it a couple of times. I guess the SD card didn't stand very well the Gs of the crash...  
[/edit]
« Last Edit: May 10, 2005, 08:24:10 am by JoP »
C-1000 SHARP Rom jp
Brando Ultra Clear Screen Protector

SL-5500 + SD128 + CF256 + CF32
Cacko ROM with new Cacko kernel 64-0
Python - PyQt

Symbol Spectrum24 WIFI

ev1l

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://bbshuffle.blogspot.com/
Kde-pim/pi 2.1.0 Available!
« Reply #74 on: May 10, 2005, 07:38:14 pm »
Quote
If you have some better ideas for any part of it let me know what they are.  If it doesn't take too long, maybe I'll implement them.
Sure. Im stuck in bed right now (I hate you, fever!) but I'll let you know
Quote
But two days ago I had a wreck with my motorcycle, broke my right hand and til I recover will only have three (painfully) useful fingers on my left hand   
(it's taking me years to write this!   )
Sorry to hear that. Contributors getting into high-speed crashes are always a worry