Author Topic: GSM-calls?  (Read 1860 times)

LinuxGuy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« on: March 26, 2020, 04:47:03 pm »
Hi

now, as Linux has access to the sim - is there a program which can be used for ordinary pone calls/sms via GSM, like the phone app in Android? No VoIP or sip etc, of course.

Thanks a lot!

suhrm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2020, 09:59:14 am »
Hi,

Have you been able to use the modem in Linux? I have not had any luck even finding it using tools like modem-manager etc.

With regards to applications there should be an ubuntu-phone application called dialer-app.

mibry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2020, 11:16:42 am »
Quote from: suhrm
Hi,

Have you been able to use the modem in Linux? I have not had any luck even finding it using tools like modem-manager etc.

With regards to applications there should be an ubuntu-phone application called dialer-app.

Have you recompiled the kernel? I think the kernel might not include the modem at present I haven't had a look myself. Have you checked dmesg for the modem?
« Last Edit: March 27, 2020, 11:17:25 am by mibry »

mibry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2020, 11:57:21 am »
Quote from: mibry
Quote from: suhrm
Hi,

Have you been able to use the modem in Linux? I have not had any luck even finding it using tools like modem-manager etc.

With regards to applications there should be an ubuntu-phone application called dialer-app.

Have you recompiled the kernel? I think the kernel might not include the modem at present I haven't had a look myself. Have you checked dmesg for the modem?

From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.

LinuxGuy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2020, 03:23:13 am »
Hi to all

Quote from: mibry
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.
Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!

suhrm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2020, 09:36:04 am »
Quote from: LinuxGuy
Hi to all

Quote from: mibry
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.
Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!

After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through  /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL  etc. is limited.

cam1965

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
    • http://
GSM-calls?
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2020, 12:56:04 pm »
Quote from: suhrm
Quote from: LinuxGuy
Hi to all

Quote from: mibry
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.
Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!

After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through  /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL  etc. is limited.

Are you using v20 or v21 firmware,  right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks
« Last Edit: April 07, 2020, 12:56:55 pm by cam1965 »

suhrm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2020, 07:50:17 am »
Quote from: cam1965
Quote from: suhrm
Quote from: LinuxGuy
Hi to all

Quote from: mibry
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.
Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!

After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through  /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL  etc. is limited.

Are you using v20 or v21 firmware,  right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks

I am running v21.

cam1965

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
    • http://
GSM-calls?
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2020, 07:59:56 am »
Quote from: suhrm
Quote from: cam1965
Quote from: suhrm
Quote from: LinuxGuy
Hi to all

Quote from: mibry
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.
Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!

After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through  /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL  etc. is limited.

Are you using v20 or v21 firmware,  right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks

I am running v21.
Ok. Thank you.

mibry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2020, 04:49:38 am »
Quote from: cam1965
Quote from: suhrm
Quote from: cam1965
Quote from: suhrm
Quote from: LinuxGuy
Hi to all

Quote from: mibry
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.
Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!

After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through  /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL  etc. is limited.

Are you using v20 or v21 firmware,  right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks

I am running v21.
Ok. Thank you.

Are you making progress?

The next thing that will need to be looked at is power saving when closing the lid like on the gemini.

Piece_Maker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2020, 06:18:24 pm »
Which /dev/radio interface did you use? I've tried a few so far with no luck. I'm just using minicom though so not sure if I'm doing it wrong!

suhrm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2020, 02:36:55 pm »
Quote from: Piece_Maker
Which /dev/radio interface did you use? I've tried a few so far with no luck. I'm just using minicom though so not sure if I'm doing it wrong!
There the multiple different file discriptors each correspond to the some function for the 2 different UEs? (Is this modem true multi-UE or Mux'ed?) in the cosmo (1 per modem). the /dev/radio/acti1 is the first modem is atci1 and the second acti2. I have tried to use minicom as well but there seams to be some issue with the terminal-setup on the cosmo. Instead I used the echo and cat in two different terminals.

A few different references https://comsecuris.com/blog/posts/path_of_least_resistance/ and https://github.com/CellularPrivacy/Android-...ctor/issues/199

Also to answer milbry's question: I have been busy with my regular work and there have limited time to progress/investigate, however, I did do a dump of the modem setup process in android using logcat -b radio to understand how the process of the modem setup occurs as this basically to my understanding need be replicated by the RIL driver/plugin for ofono (the android-mediatek RIL is still user when booting under linux). From this it is clear that the rild-oem (different for previous media-tek approaches, see https://github.com/rilmodem/ofono) is used for some kind of diagnostic/configuration under android and that the ccmni1 and ccmni2 are the actual ppp data interfaces that are used in android. I have not filtered the dump for private information yet and will therefore not post it.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2020, 02:38:31 pm by suhrm »

mibry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2020, 09:25:53 am »
Quote from: suhrm
Quote from: Piece_Maker
Which /dev/radio interface did you use? I've tried a few so far with no luck. I'm just using minicom though so not sure if I'm doing it wrong!
There the multiple different file discriptors each correspond to the some function for the 2 different UEs? (Is this modem true multi-UE or Mux'ed?) in the cosmo (1 per modem). the /dev/radio/acti1 is the first modem is atci1 and the second acti2. I have tried to use minicom as well but there seams to be some issue with the terminal-setup on the cosmo. Instead I used the echo and cat in two different terminals.

A few different references https://comsecuris.com/blog/posts/path_of_least_resistance/ and https://github.com/CellularPrivacy/Android-...ctor/issues/199

Also to answer milbry's question: I have been busy with my regular work and there have limited time to progress/investigate, however, I did do a dump of the modem setup process in android using logcat -b radio to understand how the process of the modem setup occurs as this basically to my understanding need be replicated by the RIL driver/plugin for ofono (the android-mediatek RIL is still user when booting under linux). From this it is clear that the rild-oem (different for previous media-tek approaches, see https://github.com/rilmodem/ofono) is used for some kind of diagnostic/configuration under android and that the ccmni1 and ccmni2 are the actual ppp data interfaces that are used in android. I have not filtered the dump for private information yet and will therefore not post it.
Thanks for the update.

irukandji

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2020, 03:36:04 am »
Looks like it is happening... Update from plantpc

Quote
Linux Update
 
We have not updated you on Linux for a while, but we have also been working in the background on some features.
 
We are working on the following features:

* Suspend and Resume - on open / close

* Initial Voice Call telephony support
 
Both have now been implemented and are being tested.
 
More from us this week...

gabs5807

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
GSM-calls?
« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2020, 10:54:03 am »
Quote from: cam1965
Quote from: suhrm
Quote from: LinuxGuy
Hi to all

Quote from: mibry
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.
Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!

After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through  /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL  etc. is limited.

Are you using v20 or v21 firmware,  right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks
Is it possible to update firmware on 'debian only' cosmo?
I installed a 'debian only' with the first released sdcard image and i think the firmware was v19 at this time.
So i need to update the firmware from debian (if possible).
Otherwise i have to repartition the device an this delete the debian as well    .
Btw.: is there a newer image with a updated debian and firmware?
« Last Edit: June 13, 2020, 10:54:55 am by gabs5807 »
Amongst many other Computers and Phones i'm using a Gemini PDA WIFI+G4 and a Cosom Communicator both with German keyboard, all with SailfishOS and Debian ;-)