Author Topic: Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?  (Read 1650 times)

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook) e-mail Servers?  If so how?

If not... is there a Zaurus e-mail prgram that DOES work with Exchange/Outlook?

(I mentioned this before on another thread, but it was sort-of a side-note to the main subject)

Thanks,
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2004, 06:01:43 pm »
By the way.. I\'m NOT talking about \"syncing\" with a desktop... I\'m talking about downloading Exchange/Outlook e-mail right into my Zaurus (without the Desktop  ).
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

Violator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2004, 07:05:08 pm »
Hi,
You can set Exchange Server to act as a pop3 server and use the default email client in Zaurus. Otherwise you can use Outlook Web Access by browsing with Opera to (Servername/IPAddress)exchange
The Web Access is part of Exchange 2000/2003 but may not be installed/enabled on your server.

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2004, 07:40:16 pm »
hm... I don\'t have any controll over our Exchange server settings, but I\'ll give that a try.

So... there aren\'t any open source e-mail programs that support Microsoft\'s Exchange protocols?
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2004, 08:59:13 pm »
Quote
hm... I don\'t have any controll over our Exchange server settings, but I\'ll give that a try.

So... there aren\'t any open source e-mail programs that support Microsoft\'s Exchange protocols?


Ximian Evolution is the only app that I\'m aware of that can connect directly to Exchange - even then you need a special plugin.

Now that Novel has GPLed the Exchange connector we may see more email clients supporting exchange - but I hope not exchange sucks and is a horror to administer.

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2004, 09:07:27 am »
Quote
exchange sucks and is a horror to administer.  


I agree!  This is my work e-mail, so I don\'t have any say in the matter.

Quote
ow that Novel has GPLed the Exchange connector we may see more email clients supporting exchange


That would be great, since I can imagine many (or even \"most\") of the Zaurus owners have exchange at their Microsoft-centric workplace.  Hopefully this will change in the future, but for the time being it would be great to get work e-mail on the Zaurus.
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

grey_moon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2004, 09:21:27 am »
I use imap to check my exchange mail then i can leave my mail on the server and not take up precious resources...
SL_5600 with Sharp ROM 1.32 - Windows XP Pro
AmbiCom 802.11b CF WL1100C, Pretec CompactBT Bluetooth CF, Hagiwara 256MB SD Card
Expansys Black Chairmans Case, ShirtPocket Battery Extender, ShirtPocket Retractable USB Sync/Charger

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2004, 11:13:54 am »
\"IMAP\"?  Haven\'t heard of that application before.  I\'ll look it up...
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

grey_moon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2004, 02:29:05 pm »
imap is a protocol like pop3
the standard mail proggy with sharp 1.32 supports it, im guess the rest do too...
SL_5600 with Sharp ROM 1.32 - Windows XP Pro
AmbiCom 802.11b CF WL1100C, Pretec CompactBT Bluetooth CF, Hagiwara 256MB SD Card
Expansys Black Chairmans Case, ShirtPocket Battery Extender, ShirtPocket Retractable USB Sync/Charger

nevarrie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
    • View Profile
    • http://www.thegrantclan.org
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2004, 02:47:44 pm »
I uses mutt and pine to check my email here are work.  Exchange is just an IMAP/LDAP setup.  The main thing you lose is the access to calender system if you connect using IMAP.  Folders adn email work just fine through IMAP.  I have nto figure out how I will check e-mail though my 6k yet, though as I understand the mail client that comes with the 6k has imap as an option so I think I will try that first.   And I know my work uses webmail so I can always just access my mail though Opera...I should be able to give instructions after I start using my Z when I get home tonight(My 6k come today)...Checking mail is going to be one of the main things I will need to uses my Z for...
***********************
Jeremy "Nevarrie" Grant
SL-6000L
OpenZaurus 3.5.4.1 GPE(2.6 kernel)|GrantRom 0.01(e-image clone)
Targus IR Keyborad

grey_moon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2004, 02:58:27 am »
yeah calendaring is a bit of a pain, but i use intellisync and the standard calendar to keep that and my tasks up to date... if someone updates my caldendar out of hours and don\'t send me a mail warning then they\'ll just have to wait till i get home (OWA) or till the next day for me to deal with it..  btw i wanted open exchange, but the powers that be wanted something that they could pay lots of money for (i don\'t understand business people i thought the less u spend for the same facilities the better the model... most of them kept bringing up tco like a mantra, but had no idea wha tthe cost of either system would be, i hate dealing with it managers armed with tit bits of knowlegde from a sales brochure, lots of abbreviations and acronyms)
SL_5600 with Sharp ROM 1.32 - Windows XP Pro
AmbiCom 802.11b CF WL1100C, Pretec CompactBT Bluetooth CF, Hagiwara 256MB SD Card
Expansys Black Chairmans Case, ShirtPocket Battery Extender, ShirtPocket Retractable USB Sync/Charger

grey_moon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2004, 03:00:20 am »
btw i have lots of trouble accessing owa in opera 6 as i cant access the far right window
SL_5600 with Sharp ROM 1.32 - Windows XP Pro
AmbiCom 802.11b CF WL1100C, Pretec CompactBT Bluetooth CF, Hagiwara 256MB SD Card
Expansys Black Chairmans Case, ShirtPocket Battery Extender, ShirtPocket Retractable USB Sync/Charger

jimg_uk2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does QTopia\'s E-mail program work with Exchange (Outlook)?
« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2004, 03:40:17 pm »
Did you manage to get Opera working with OWA?
Everytime I try to get to OWA the right frame just shows 'Loading'.
BTW I use Opera 7.30