Author Topic: maps/travel software  (Read 25561 times)

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #45 on: May 19, 2004, 08:25:38 am »
GPS is a system of satelites in orbit.  Each Satelite gives off a unique signal to identify itself, which signal everyone can see.  Your GPS devices know the location of each Satelite\'s orbit and therefor when it find where each Satelite currently is, you then know where you are.   In other words, GPS can\'t be charged per month, because the Satelite never receives a signal from your GPS device and therefor doesn\'t even know that it exists...
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #46 on: May 19, 2004, 08:26:26 am »
More specifically... your GPS device usually only needs to know where 3 satelites are to triangulate your position.
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #47 on: May 19, 2004, 08:29:49 am »
Quote
OK, I found the newer ver...


Where?  Can you post a link?  I couldn\'t find it before...

Quote
...but i\'m still getting that error:
== roadmap_gps.c, line 232: cannot access GPS source: gpsd://localhost


It should still work with that error.  What happens after that error?... does the program still work?
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
maps/travel software
« Reply #48 on: May 20, 2004, 12:06:34 am »
Thanks for the reply.  I think I will be buying the Ambicom GPS.  It seems to be the cheapest one.
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

Ethereal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #49 on: May 20, 2004, 12:51:45 am »
cmisip:

Something to consider:  the CF GPS devices are rather bulky (too much so to be left in place for casual carrying around when not in use) and occupy the CF slot.  Unless you like shuffling CF cards and can tolerate being without network connectivity when using GPS, consider a BT GPS receiver instead.
I was able to get one on eBay for <200 USD delivered, and have been quite pleased with its performance.  (Drove 200 miles to a completely unfamiliar city today, got lost and un-lost repeatedly thanks to zRoadmap...and I\'m still learning how to use the program!)
SL-6000L, Sharp ROM 1.12;
Socket Rev 2.5 CF Bluetooth::SE T608;
Sandisk 512MB SD, formatted ext2;
Pocketop IR Keyboard

ChrisZaurus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
maps/travel software
« Reply #50 on: May 20, 2004, 02:03:29 am »
How did the bluetooth card hookup to the zaurus?  I gave up on trying the zRoadmaps program...  I got all the way to downloading the map into the program, and the program even recognizes the map.  But the map does not load.. And i\'ve tried zoom, etc.

I\'m going to just suffice for the mobile version of MapQuest for directions, etc.  And I guess if I get lost, hopefully there will be a local linksys router to connect to.   I might look into getting a BT GPS Receiver, as long as it does not take up my precious CF slot.
http://www.mapquest.com/pda/

Oh ya, you cand find all the file i\'ve been using for zRoadmap at the ZUG Develpment Site https://www.oesf.org/commu...tml?group_id=44
I noticed that there is zroadmap_1.0-1_arm.ipk and zroadmap_1.0-2_arm.ipk... Do they both have to be installed for it to work properly?
SL - 5600  PXA250
OpenZaurus 3.5.2
Kingston 256 SD Card
Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wi-Fi Card
CF Protection Card
Sharp CF Camera
Stock Cover - Clear Cover

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #51 on: May 20, 2004, 10:37:32 am »
Quote
Oh ya, you cand find all the file i\'ve been using for zRoadmap at the ZUG Develpment Site https://www.oesf.org/co ... roup_id=44


On that page it says:

zroadmap_1.0-1_arm.ipk 127128 384 ARM .ipk
zroadmap_1.0-2_arm.ipk 127106 621 ARM .ipk

Does anyone know what \"384 ARM\" and \"621 ARM\" means?
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #52 on: May 20, 2004, 10:43:20 am »
I had the zroadmap_1.0-1_arm.ipk installed.  I uninstalled it jsut now and instead installed zroadmap_1.0-2_arm.ipk.

The program loads up (just like with the previous version) and bahaves exactly the same.  (Keeping in mind that I still have the \"modifications\" I made before which was posted above).  I have the Iowa maps and I select 102 Main Keokuk IA and it freezes...

I had to use WhatsUpOnZ (awesome tool!) to kill the process (after waiting about 5 minutes for ZRoadMap to respond).
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

Ethereal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #53 on: May 20, 2004, 08:38:40 pm »
Quote
How did the bluetooth card hookup to the zaurus?  I gave up on trying the zRoadmaps program...  I got all the way to downloading the map into the program, and the program even recognizes the map.  But the map does not load.. And i\'ve tried zoom, etc.


The BT GPS receiver is just a little orb with a charging port and a couple of status lights.  It connects to a BT card via Serial Port profile on the Z.  Basically, I had to edit /etc/bluetooth/givepin to supply the right PIN, then did sdptool search SP, which will find the BT device address and channel of the GPS receiver.  (This also pairs the two devices, and I could then reset givepin to what I wanted.)  Then I edited /etc/bluetooth/rfcomm.conf to add /dev/rfcomm1, and started gpsd with the -p /dev/rfcomm1 option.  To gpsd, /dev/rfcomm1 is just a serial port via which it can get the NMEA 0183 data.

You will, in a sense, have to \"give up\" your CF slot (for a BT card), but since BT can handle multiple connections, you can simultaneously have a wireless serial connection to your GPS device on rfcomm1 and a wireless PPP session via cell phone on rfcomm0, or a wireless PAN connection to another BT-enabled machine--or all three, if you\'re feeling ambitious!

As for zRoadmap, I\'d say don\'t give up--I had fits getting it to display anything until I entered 100 main gainesville, fl (and be sure to hit the on-screen \"OK\" button in the \"Enter Address\" popup, NOT return, NOT the plastic OK button...don\'t ask me why, I don\'t know.)
SL-6000L, Sharp ROM 1.12;
Socket Rev 2.5 CF Bluetooth::SE T608;
Sandisk 512MB SD, formatted ext2;
Pocketop IR Keyboard

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #54 on: May 20, 2004, 09:33:25 pm »
ok... pressing the \"Ok\" keyboard button made the \"address\" window close without freezing... but it still didn\'t pull up a map.  The screen is blank with a small compass in the upper left corner...

I\'m running with root prveledges..
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

Ethereal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #55 on: May 20, 2004, 09:58:29 pm »
Quote
ok... pressing the \"Ok\" keyboard button made the \"address\" window close without freezing...


No, not the keyboard button--tap the little square labelled \"OK\" at the bottom of the \"Find Address\" popup window.  I don\'t know why, but any other OK/enter button seems to be interpreted as \"ahh, nevermind.\"
SL-6000L, Sharp ROM 1.12;
Socket Rev 2.5 CF Bluetooth::SE T608;
Sandisk 512MB SD, formatted ext2;
Pocketop IR Keyboard

LilMikey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #56 on: May 21, 2004, 12:33:26 am »
I don\'t know about the Z version but for some reason I have to be root for it to correctly display a map on my PC.  I set world permissions on /usr/share/local/roadmap and nothing complains but it won\'t show a map unless I\'m root.

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #57 on: May 21, 2004, 11:37:05 am »
Quote
No, not the keyboard button--tap the little square labelled \"OK\" at the bottom of the \"Find Address\" popup window. I don\'t know why, but any other OK/enter button seems to be interpreted as \"ahh, nevermind.\"


That did it!!  I now see a map!!!  Hurray!!  Thanks.
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #58 on: May 21, 2004, 07:48:13 pm »
I just read this thread and thought I would give it a try.

I have followed the instructions and placed all of my uscXXXXX.rdm\'s in
/mnt/card/QtPalmtop/share/roadmap

Now where do I find the usdir.rdm.tgz that contains the usdir.rdm file?

Do I make this myself...I can\'t find one?

TIA

Greg

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #59 on: May 21, 2004, 08:00:10 pm »
Never mind, I found it with all the others.

tgif

Greg :roll: