OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> joining the zug
post Jan 19 2004, 08:33 PM
Post #16





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



meangene, that was as quick a response as I've seen. biggrin.gif Thanks for the reply. I think even the best SL-5x00 screens show dead pixels. I've also noticed a good amount of dust under both my SL-5500 and SL-5600. Still a great machine! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 19 2004, 08:35 PM
Post #17





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



meangene: From a command prompt, cat /proc/cpuinfo should do the trick.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarkus
post Jan 19 2004, 08:35 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 15-January 04
Member No.: 1,448



That is my Guest post about the screen dust, etc. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
meangene
post Jan 20 2004, 03:38 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 1,451



Tarkus,
Since I'm really a newbie, I don't even know how to get to the command prompt!!! If it's a simple thing, please tell me how. If not, I'll pull out the manual. :wink:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarkus
post Jan 20 2004, 07:56 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 15-January 04
Member No.: 1,448



I was actually the other Guest. smile.gif smile.gif However, you can install a terminal program, like this one:

http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...eq=getit&lid=20

Once installed, you can start the program and type:

cat /proc/cpuinfo

at the command prompt.

You'll want to install and access this program anyway as you dig around the Zaurus and Linux. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
meangene
post Jan 20 2004, 03:20 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 1,451



Tarkus,
I ran the program, but I don't see the actual nomenclature of PXA255. Among the 10 or so lines of output, I see "CPU Part: 0x2D0" and "CPU Revision: 6". Does that tell me anything? Revision and serial fields below hardware show up as all "0".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Jan 21 2004, 04:09 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



Hi, I'm the other guy who's been posting to this topic. Decided it was high time to register. smile.gif After a bit of googling around, it seems like you really do have a PXA255 based on the part and revision.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 21 2004, 06:24 AM
Post #23





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Thanks for the investigative work, DrWowe; it would been far too simple for the output to state PXA255. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Jan 22 2004, 09:40 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



My 5600 arrived from Amazon today, looks like I'm also one of the lucky ones. smile.gif For me, the output of the command does specifically identify the PXA255. It also struck me how prominantly the words "PXA255 edition" are plastered on the box. When you first mentioned it was on the box, I was thinking it would be some little footnote somewhere. Amazing that Sharp never issued a press release or made any noise to indicate that it was being upgraded.

Here's the complete output if anyone is curious:

Processor : Intel XScale-PXA255 rev 6 (v5l)
BogoMIPS : 397.31
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp
CPU implementor : 0x69
CPU architecture: 5TE
CPU variant : 0x0
CPU part : 0x2d0
CPU revision : 6
Cache type : undefined 5
Cache clean : undefined 5
Cache lockdown : undefined 5
Cache unified : harvard
I size : 16384
I assoc : 16
I line length : 32
I sets : 32
D size : 16384
D assoc : 16
D line length : 32
D sets : 32

Hardware : SHARP Poodle
Revision : 0000
Serial : 0000000000000000
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 22 2004, 01:23 PM
Post #25





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



That's great news, DrWowe. Now, people don't think I'm crazy! It's always a pleasant surpise to receive something more than you expect. Maybe Sharp didn't advertise the upgrade, since PXA250 users would likely be upset. Dell did the same thing with processors, but the switch was publicized more.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 11 2004, 10:52 AM
Post #26





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



I hope I get one. I just bought one off of ebay. It is on it way to the house now. Maybe I will get lucky! Does the upgreadedprocessor do anything for you?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 08:20 AM