OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> adhoc mode slower then infrastructure mode ?
chacs
post Jan 16 2004, 08:06 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 8-December 03
Member No.: 1,092



Hi,

Using the Socket wifi cf card, I connects to 2 networks. One to a dlink di-614+ access point (infrastructure mode) and one to a dlink dwl-ag520 nic (adhoc mode).

Other than the mode of connection, other settings are practically identical: WEP, etc.

My observation is that adhoc mode is much slower (gut feels about 10 times) than the infrastructure mode. Is this inherently so, or perhaps mis-configuration.

Also in adhoc mode, I keep getting the "The signal is low." message every few seconds.

Any advice is most welcome.

-cs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 16 2004, 08:10 AM
Post #2





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



QUOTE
Also in adhoc mode, I keep getting the "The signal is low." message every few seconds.


I think that answers your question...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chacs
post Jan 16 2004, 12:34 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 8-December 03
Member No.: 1,092



QUOTE
QUOTE

Also in adhoc mode, I keep getting the "The signal is low." message every few seconds.


I think that answers your question...


I read somewhere that the low signal message is because of issue of signal strength reporting by the driver.

The zaurus is practically sitting next to the nic antenna.

-cs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Jan 16 2004, 04:45 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



QUOTE
QUOTE
QUOTE

Also in adhoc mode, I keep getting the "The signal is low." message every few seconds.


I think that answers your question...


I read somewhere that the low signal message is because of issue of signal strength reporting by the driver.

The zaurus is practically sitting next to the nic antenna.

-cs
It's a bug in Qtopia/Sharp, not in the driver.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chacs
post Jan 16 2004, 10:13 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 8-December 03
Member No.: 1,092



Mickeyl,

does that (bug in Qtopia/Sharp) explains the slowness ?
btw, there is no low signal message in infrastructure mode.

-cs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Jan 17 2004, 05:00 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



Not necessarily. You should check whether the channels are tuned to exactly the same value (there's some overlap in 802.11 channels so you might be able to connect to another station although you're not on the same channel) and then fire up ethereal (or something else) and check in monitor mode which packets really go over your net.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 11:26 PM