OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tutorial: Pdaxrom On Sl-6000, Everything you want to know, and less!
robyinno
post Aug 22 2005, 06:27 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 2-April 05
From: Italy
Member No.: 6,774



The problem 3 is solved:
The cf card had 2 partitions one fat16 /dev/hda1 and another /dev/hda2 ext2, now I have formatted all with ext2 so I have /dev/hda1 with ext2 and now I can install in this CF!

Roby

P.s.: Anyway I'm waiting some solutions for point 1) and 2), thanks

[quote=robyinno,Aug 22 2005, 11:27 AM]
I have installed pdaxrom on SL 6000L before read thi s tutorial, so without Guythiem ROM.

All working fine expect this:
3) So I have triet to to install in my CF card , in the partition formatted ext2 that I have mapped /mnt/cf2
all working fine but at the end tell me that doesn't exist external storage ( I have added in /etc/ipkg.conf the cf2 dest)
- For example I istall gimp , them i start gimp but I recieve "bus error" ( now I have only 700Kb free)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miskinis
post Aug 22 2005, 08:01 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



Just an update, to clarify the shutdown issue. I spoke to friend at work
who has a SL-6000 and runs the Sharp ROM. He also needs to reset to
be able to power-on after using "shutdown -h now".

Anyway, I'm back on pdaXrom again!

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnw
post Sep 14 2005, 08:59 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,083



QUOTE(johnw @ Aug 22 2005, 08:57 AM)
QUOTE(adf @ Aug 20 2005, 08:08 PM)
as usual ... do anything like this at your own risk.

My solution wouldbe to reset everything to "virgin sharp' and go from there. on my 6k I'd go the guylhem route.  Just did this morning, In fact.
*


I agree that going back to a "virgin sharp" setup would be the best approach. My question is how do I do that? According to the 6000 Hardware Info page listed here on this site it states:

QUOTE
30MB is mounted as '/home'. This can be modified by anyone on any ROM, and is not modified when flashing the unit. Some modified scripts however such as the one provided with OpenZaurus can prompt you to format it.


Based on this information simply flashing the ROM back to a Sharp setup would not alter the partitioning, and therefore IF flashing were successful it still might not be a "virgin sharp" setup. I need to get back to a "virgin sharp" setup so I can follow these new instructions listed in this thread.

Does anyone know the answer to this? Do I need some sort of repartitioning utility to set it back to a "virgin sharp" partition scheme? Does such a utility exist? When I repartitioned to a 45 MB partition as specified in the How to install pdaXrom listed at this site, what partition did it affect? Was it root / ?? Was it /home ??

Someone here must know the answers, but they aren't saying. Perhaps I haven't been clear in asking my questions.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

John
*




OK. I sure would have appreciated an answer to my question (ahem.. Laze) but since no one did I went ahead & took a chance. Here is what I found out. To go back to the original SL6000L ROM:

Simply go to http://www.thegrantclan.org/download/zaurus/roms/tosa/

Download the following file: 20040217SL6V112.zip
Follow the directions listed in: howtoflashsharprom.txt

Thats all you need to do. Don't worry about how you may have partitioned your 6000. THe NAND restore will restore EVERYTHING to its original pristine state.

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rip
post Sep 17 2005, 11:35 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 7-October 04
Member No.: 4,916



just a quick feedback about my experience:

followed the step by step howto, no pb at all!
as i'm not really friendly with "vi", obliged to google and to use and abuse of the vi linke provided to enable wifi.
all went ok but i can't surf...
i've changed the essid to mine "rip" but dhcp is not enabled and i have a 40 bit hexa wep key.
i've entered the wep key, the channel and the essid in the wireless box but i can't even ping my gateway.
is there anything more to add/modify in the resolv.conf to disable dhcp.

except that, sd card, cf card recognized 100%
noticed also the suspend mode as no leak at all, 100% battery in 3 days space.
great work! thanks a lot!

if you have any idea about my surf pb, will appreciate.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jcabrer
post Mar 8 2007, 02:12 PM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 23-June 05
Member No.: 7,429



I was going to update this howto today, and fix broken links, but it occurs to me that maybe there is a better place to put these howtos. Do we have a wiki somewhere for pdaXrom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radiochickenwax
post Mar 8 2007, 02:54 PM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 158
Joined: 21-November 04
Member No.: 5,548



QUOTE(jcabrer @ Mar 8 2007, 10:12 PM)
I was going to update this howto today, and fix broken links, but it occurs to me that maybe there is a better place to put these howtos.  Do we have a wiki somewhere for pdaXrom?
*


AFAIK:
http://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=PdaXrom

Thanks for the tutorial, by the way, as well as any updates.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Mar 9 2007, 04:34 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(jcabrer @ Mar 8 2007, 05:12 PM)
I was going to update this howto today, and fix broken links, but it occurs to me that maybe there is a better place to put these howtos.  Do we have a wiki somewhere for pdaXrom?
*

A more 6000 specific page is here: http://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=How_to_install_pdaXrom
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miskinis
post Mar 10 2007, 06:09 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



A couple of extra things that should be included in a SL-6000 "howto"

1 - My xmodmap updates to provide some missing keyboard characters (under X11)
I posted a thread about this.
EDIT: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18232

2 - Add a script to shutdown WIFI during a suspend, or the Z will freeze on resume

I've been away from my SL-6000 for a while, but I might start using it again this weekend.
If I discover any other useful things I did, I will update this thread with them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckblackm
post Mar 14 2007, 06:07 AM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-January 05
Member No.: 6,171



Is there any development being done on this for the 6000? I notice that it's still beta 1 for the 6000 but the other zauruses have several further releases.

thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jcabrer
post Mar 14 2007, 05:19 PM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 23-June 05
Member No.: 7,429



QUOTE(ckblackm @ Mar 14 2007, 07:07 AM)
Is there any development being done on this for the 6000?  I notice that it's still beta 1 for the 6000 but the other zauruses have several further releases.

thanks.
*


The SL6000 is the odd man out in many ways. If I'm not mistaken, the developers do not have access to a 6000 readily, so things come a little slower for the TOSA.

Most of the new development is targeted at supporting the newer models using newer Kernels. With the exception of accelerated video, which has not been added for TOSA, I don't know of anything that is lacking in the current TOSA releases of the kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckblackm
post Mar 14 2007, 06:03 PM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-January 05
Member No.: 6,171



I read the tutorial for the 6000, and had a couple of questions...
1) Does WPA security work?
2) How would one set -up multiple keys for wifi security... like 1 for my house, 1 for relatives house, 1 for friends house, etc...

tyvm,
Christopher.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Mar 14 2007, 08:50 PM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(ckblackm @ Mar 14 2007, 09:03 PM)
1) Does WPA security work?
*

WPA does not work. I got this info from the OZ wiki/FAQ. Theoretically, it is possible provided somebody can write a WPA driver for the wifi chip. But in practice, probably no one is ever willing to work on this Prism2 driver in the Tosa.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Mar 14 2007, 10:31 PM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



I've started a thread in the 6000 subforum: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=23491 to discuss/encourage development efforts on Tosa.

Btw, is any of the pdaXrom dev working on Tosa? Please reply or pm me on what's the status quo and roadmap for Tosa . I don't want to fork.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Mar 14 2007, 11:00 PM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



In beta1 feed, I found pdaXrom-builder with conlicting dates against version number. Which one is the most current version for Tosa? Which one should I dig into? I guess 18 means 2.4.18, while 20 means 2.4.20?

1.1.0beta1/pdaXrom-builder-14.03_29.12.05.tar.bz2 29-Dec-2005
1.1.0beta1/pdaXrom-builder-18.10_23.02.06.tar.bz2 26-Feb-2006
1.1.0beta1/pdaXrom-builder-18.24_22.01.06.tar.bz2 22-Jan-2006
1.1.0beta1/pdaXrom-builder-20.49_27.12.05.tar.bz2 27-Dec-2005

Please help out a newbie.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 15 2007, 03:19 AM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(xjqian @ Mar 15 2007, 05:00 PM)
In beta1 feed, I found pdaXrom-builder with conlicting dates against version number. Which one is the most current version for Tosa? Which one should I dig into? I guess 18 means 2.4.18, while 20 means 2.4.20?

1.1.0beta1/pdaXrom-builder-14.03_29.12.05.tar.bz2  29-Dec-2005
1.1.0beta1/pdaXrom-builder-18.10_23.02.06.tar.bz2  26-Feb-2006
1.1.0beta1/pdaXrom-builder-18.24_22.01.06.tar.bz2  22-Jan-2006
1.1.0beta1/pdaXrom-builder-20.49_27.12.05.tar.bz2  27-Dec-2005

Please help out a newbie.
*


actually, i dont think the numbers there correspond to the kernel versions.
i think it is more like hour.minute_day.month.year.tar.bz2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 06:42 AM