OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Getting Openzaurus 3.5.3 On My Sl-5500
ecl-ricochet
post Sep 27 2005, 11:00 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 8,203



I have gone through the flshing process about 5 times and still when I boot up the zaurus it just sits at the sharp screen with the blinking cursor on the bottom right hand corner. Any help would be awesome.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 27 2005, 01:55 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I guess that the two LEDs don't come on for the usual 5 min or so.

Check the following:

* CF card is fat formatted
* Check filenames = zImage & initrd.bin (make sure Windows, if you're using it, doesn't hide any extra extensions, etc.)
* Check the md5sums of the files - google for a binary if you're using Windows, and check them against the list in the txt file in the download dir - this will ensure that the files aren't corrupted

If all the above are okay, then the next step is to remove the partition on the Cf card, re-create one and reformat as FAT16

If that doesn't work, then there do seem to be some CF cards which just don't seem to work, so you may need to find/borrow another one.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ecl-ricochet
post Sep 27 2005, 02:07 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 8,203



No the LED's come on for 3-5 mins. It appears to be having an issue with booting. I mean it flashes as far as I can tell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dlichterman
post Sep 27 2005, 07:03 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 7,932



you are sure to press the reset button after the flash then put the cover on and flip the switch
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ecl-ricochet
post Sep 27 2005, 09:46 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 8,203



I hit the reset button just the directions said. I think I need to pop the cf card into one of my nix boxes and make sure the card is fat16.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 28 2005, 01:21 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



If the lights come on for ~5min (and stay on solidly, not flashing, etc.) then it's a fair assumption that it has flashed ok.

I'd try flashing an ospack (the original Sharp 'ROM') then flash OZ again - sometimes the flash internals can become corrupted (in fact I replied in a thread about this yesterday - the chap there was having the same problem and he flashed an ospack and it then booted ok) and flashing the ospack overwrites the whole lot which will get rid of any corruption.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ecl-ricochet
post Sep 29 2005, 12:41 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 8,203



When I try to flash with the ospack it boots up for the first time with fs issues. ANy help would be appreciated. feel free to emai me at doug.arcidino@eastcoastlan.com.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 30 2005, 03:44 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
it boots up for the first time with fs issues


What are these issues?

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ecl-ricochet
post Oct 3 2005, 09:57 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 8,203



QUOTE(lardman @ Sep 30 2005, 06:44 AM)
QUOTE
it boots up for the first time with fs issues


What are these issues?

Si
*



couldn't find ext2 superblock, trying backup blocks
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem
If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2 filesystem (and not a swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock.

This is after loading the ospack.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 4 2005, 03:16 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I've no idea why you'd get ext2 errors on the flash (I assumed this is what you were talking about) as with the Sharp 'ROM' it should be a read-only cramfs (and with OZ it should be jffs2).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ecl-ricochet
post Oct 11 2005, 05:48 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 8,203



Do you have alink to specifics on reloading the sharp rom. I might have been doing that wrong(I am new to messing with embedded systems) I am also going to go buy a new cf card tonight. Just to be on the safeside.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 12 2005, 02:30 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



http://www.myzaurus.com/lic5500v31c.asp

Stick the ospack file from the zip file on the CF card instead of the zImage & initrd.bin combo and proceed as per the usual instructions.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 08:28 AM