OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ram Upgrade, some questions :)
bam
post Jan 30 2006, 11:28 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



although reflow would not be needed if we were to get some flexwire to hand solder the chips
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 31 2006, 03:18 PM
Post #32





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(bam @ Jan 30 2006, 08:26 PM)
I have access to a reflow oven(programmmable) however quick question does the board have components on both sides?if the answer is yes this may be a problem.
*


yes, the boards are multi-layer double-sided, so sticking them in your oven would probably cause ALL the chips to fall off the board :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Feb 3 2006, 02:41 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



Damn and i was so looking foward to lead poisning
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Feb 3 2006, 02:45 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



QUOTE(bam @ Jan 30 2006, 08:28 PM)
although reflow would not be needed if we were to get some flexwire to hand solder the chips
*


Will one of you kind colonial cousins please explain what "flexwire" is.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ced
post May 17 2006, 04:01 AM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 225
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,104



I'm just bumping this thread again... it'll be nice for my 5600 to get a RAM upgrade, 32M to 128M...

Maslovsky, can I send my Zaurus to you? how much will it be for the upgrade?

Or maybe somebody else in West Europe...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 29 2006, 10:33 AM
Post #36





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I just wrecked my 6000 - snapped a DRAM chip when reassembling it (yes, I could weep ohmy.gif ). Looks like I'm going to be the ideal candidate for a trial RAM upgrade, on the basis I have nothing to lose sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post May 29 2006, 03:52 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



QUOTE(speculatrix @ May 29 2006, 08:33 AM)
I just wrecked my 6000 - snapped a DRAM chip when reassembling it (yes, I could weep ohmy.gif  ). Looks like I'm going to be the ideal candidate for a trial RAM upgrade, on the basis I have nothing to lose sad.gif


ok, now you're really scaring me smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chuckr
post May 29 2006, 04:57 PM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-January 04
From: Silver Spring, MD, USA
Member No.: 1,615



I have taken a look at my SL-C3000, it has the 561633F chips in it, but I haven't any access to a shop that could replace it. I don't know of anyone in the US doing this. If any of you know anyone who does this, or who might be talked into doing this, well, I'd sure appreciate it if you'd let me know about them or maybe give them my email address. With all the spam I get, it'd be a lot more reliable to give me their name.

I know I couldn't do the swapout myself, darn it. I used to be a pretty good solderer, but that's ancient news.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 30 2006, 01:40 AM
Post #39





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(chuckr @ May 30 2006, 01:57 AM)
I have taken a look at my SL-C3000, it has the 561633F chips in it, but I haven't any access to a shop that could replace it.  I don't know of anyone in the US doing this.  If any of you know anyone who does this, or who might be talked into doing this, well, I'd sure appreciate it if you'd let me know about them or maybe give them my email address.  With all the spam I get, it'd be a lot more reliable to give me their name.

I know I couldn't do the swapout myself, darn it.  I used to be a pretty good solderer, but that's ancient news.
*


you need access to BGA surface mount assembly as this device has a "Ball Grid Array" of solder balls... removing the old device, cleaning the board and soldering on new ones is far from trivial.

the 6000 takes an older version of the same chip - the 561633C variety. I *think* the only difference is power consumption and speed - possibly also the F is lead-free due to EU regulations on use of hazardous substances coming into force in July 2006.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 05:59 PM