OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C1000 To C3100 Conversion?, Adding an internal CF slot
frobnoid_
post Dec 18 2005, 07:04 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,985



Has anyone looked into the feasibility of turning a C1000 into a C3100 by soldering on an internal CF connector?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Dec 18 2005, 07:28 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



not do-able
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frobnoid_
post Dec 19 2005, 06:30 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,985



QUOTE(bam @ Dec 18 2005, 10:28 AM)
not do-able
*


Why not? I'd think this would be a relatively straightforward (but very delicate) soldering job...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Dec 19 2005, 08:30 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



i think the controller along with the plug and some other hardware is missing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Dec 21 2005, 12:04 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



definatly a surface mount job, but i think the hard part would be tracing down and aquiring the parts, just get pics of the 2 and see what differs

if you need help locating parts just message me
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mototech
post Dec 24 2005, 08:55 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 24-December 05
Member No.: 8,781



I wouldn't think there would need to be a controller chip. It is a CF drive and the PXA270 can address two pcmcia/CF sockets. It appears that all is needed is a buffer(the design sheet shows a 74HCV322244A ) which should be relatively easy to source.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 28 2005, 04:26 PM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



send me your C1000 plus US$450 and I will magically convert it into a 3100. in fact, I will even fit the case from a 3100.

step 1: receive C1000 and cash
step 2: buy a 3100, remove microdrive
step 3: send 3100 to customer, keeping the 1000 and microdrive
step 4: sell 1000 and microdrive
step 5: profit!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Dec 28 2005, 05:17 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Dec 29 2005, 10:26 AM)
send me your C1000 plus US$450 and I will magically convert it into a 3100. in fact, I will even fit the case from a 3100.

step 1: receive C1000 and cash
step 2: buy a 3100, remove microdrive
step 3: send 3100 to customer, keeping the 1000 and microdrive
step 4: sell 1000 and microdrive
step 5: profit!
*


hahaha, funny as hell!

but seriously, there are a few chips missing on the C1000, but luckily it seems to use the same PCB so you could in theory solder those extra chips onto the board but it's so small and delicate, but most likely will damage the unit unless you are an experienced micro solderer. its probably cheaper just to get a real c3100 rather than converting a c1000.

have a look at this for a comparison of c3100 and c1000 on the pcb level
http://symzing.way-nifty.com/blog/2005/08/...c1000_fbd4.html

probably best would be to just get a c3100, replace microdrive with cf flash and use microdrive as a secondary removable cf card, or alternatively, sell microdrive and buy another cf flash so you get 8GB with no movable parts (assuming two 4GB CF flash cards).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Dec 28 2005, 08:50 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



It sounds like it's best to use that hollow CF space to stuff something in, like:
-WiFi
-BT
-WiFi and BT
-an FM transmitter for the Zaurus audio (I may consider doing this)
-an X10 FM transmitter
-an RF tag
-some kind of funky light and make part of your zaurus transparent
-beef jerky (incase you need protein on the go)
-mini pizza pop tray to heat your mini pizza pop by the glow of the CPU
-ketchup packet(s) (incase Mc D. forgets to put some in your takeout bag... don't you hate that)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 29 2005, 02:40 AM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Antikx @ Dec 29 2005, 05:50 AM)
-some kind of funky light and make part of your zaurus transparent
-beef jerky (incase you need protein on the go)
-mini pizza pop tray to heat your mini pizza pop by the glow of the CPU
-ketchup packet(s) (incase Mc D. forgets to put some in your takeout bag... don't you hate that)



ROFL... so far, as I see it, only the above are possible due to missing chips inside the C1000.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Dec 30 2005, 07:02 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



I hear that the intel p4 range is good at cooking eggs, get a 2 way machine and you might be abel to do steak/pizza
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ragnorok
post Feb 16 2006, 06:18 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 298
Joined: 27-October 03
From: Greenfield, NH
Member No.: 781



QUOTE(Antikx @ Dec 29 2005, 04:50 AM)
...
-some kind of funky light and make part of your zaurus transparent
-beef jerky (incase you need protein on the go)
...
*


- d00d!! (maniacal laughter) That's what I'm talkin' about!
- It is funny, though, that Cacko reports two CF slots in Sysinfo. Could just be because it supports two natively, and it doesn't see there's no glue...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Feb 18 2006, 11:17 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



sounds about right from what i can make out
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Feb 19 2006, 06:47 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



QUOTE(Antikx @ Dec 29 2005, 04:50 AM)
.....
-mini pizza pop tray to heat your mini pizza pop by the glow of the CPU
-ketchup packet(s) (incase Mc D. forgets to put some in your takeout bag... don't you hate that)
*


Oh, you should visit the Far East, MacDonalds without Ketchup? never.... in many of theGolden Arches restaurants they have girls who walk around with big baskets of sachets just in case the 20 or so that they gave you weren't enough.

- Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 20 2006, 09:52 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Dec 31 2005, 04:02 AM)
I hear that the intel p4 range is good at cooking eggs.
*


Yes, it's on www.hackaday.com. Athlon's are also pretty good at it.

More entertaining is the fact that there was once actually a 3-4 foot tall modular computer called an Acorn RiscPC (Mine's only 5 inches - Can't afford the case slices) which actually HAD a pizza oven built in. It was called the RocketShip RiscPC. Wait, why don't we just build a big solid copper heatsink to replace the back panel of a 3100, then the heat from the 624 clocked PXA, and the CF card, will cook eggs! Just power on, flip, and fry.
The heatsink'll make it live longer, anyway.

. . . And look DAMN cool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st August 2014 - 03:54 AM