OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> X/qt Jumbo Cramfs, which model are you running it on?
which Z model did you get it working on
which Z model did you get it working on
C3x00 [ 8 ] ** [25.00%]
C1000 [ 11 ] ** [34.38%]
C8x0 [ 3 ] ** [9.38%]
C7x0 [ 5 ] ** [15.62%]
6000 [ 3 ] ** [9.38%]
5x00 [ 2 ] ** [6.25%]
Total Votes: 32
Guests cannot vote 
Miami_Bob
post Dec 20 2005, 09:24 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



Meanie -

Don't know if you are already aware of these. The XQT-INSTALL.SH v0.3.3 is attempting to use AWK. Nether of my C860s have it in their "native" configuration.

STDERR shows the *-SETUP scripts are each trying & failing to have /sbin/ldconfig create links from /lib/libwatch_conn.so.1 to /lib/libwatch_conn.so.1.0 and from /lib/libconfirm_host.so.1 to /lib/libconfirm_host.so.1 (for whatever it's worth).

The OpenOffice cramfs installs but will not run. From runoo zt the command line, it says:

"/home/QtPalmtop/bin/runoo: /home/zaurus: Permission denied"

Same message if run after SU.

The Mozilla cramfs is indeed bunged. It just loops endlessly through:

"Gdk-WARNING **: locale not supported by C library."

"*** loading the extensions datasource"

I'v let it loop for a LONG time with no joy.

The only way that I found to break out was to close rxvt but ps -A afterwards shows:

firefox
run-mozilla
firefox-bin

are still alive. Either have to kill -kill them or quit XQt. Thunderbird takes a *very* LONG time at

*** Profile extensions startup

but eventually runs.

HTH
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Dec 21 2005, 04:57 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



gee, that's awful that a linux distro doesn't have awk sad.gif

but anyway, there seems to be something wrong with your system because /lib/libwatch_conn.so.1, etc.. are system libraries that should have been already linked.
ldconfig verifies and relinks broken links as well as reloads its static library cache. xqt doesn't modify system libraries in /lib

as for openoffice, the script to run it is /home/QtPalmtop/bin/runxqtoo

did you use the latest mozilla cramfs? (mozilla bundle 0.2)

QUOTE(Miami_Bob @ Dec 21 2005, 03:24 PM)
Meanie -

Don't know if you are already aware of these. The XQT-INSTALL.SH v0.3.3 is attempting to use AWK. Nether of my C860s have it in their "native" configuration.

STDERR shows the *-SETUP scripts are each trying & failing to have /sbin/ldconfig create links from /lib/libwatch_conn.so.1 to /lib/libwatch_conn.so.1.0 and from /lib/libconfirm_host.so.1 to /lib/libconfirm_host.so.1 (for whatever it's worth).

The OpenOffice cramfs installs but will not run. From runoo zt the command line, it says:

"/home/QtPalmtop/bin/runoo: /home/zaurus: Permission denied"

Same message if run after SU.

The Mozilla cramfs is indeed bunged. It just loops endlessly through:

"Gdk-WARNING **: locale not supported by C library."

"*** loading the extensions datasource"

I'v let it loop for a LONG time with no joy.

The only way that I found to break out was to close rxvt but ps -A afterwards shows:

firefox
run-mozilla
firefox-bin

are still alive. Either have to kill -kill them or quit XQt. Thunderbird takes a *very* LONG time at

*** Profile extensions startup

but eventually runs.

HTH
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Dec 21 2005, 05:06 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(jfv @ Dec 21 2005, 11:49 AM)
I've fixed the keymapping problem. One needs a .xmodmaprc and this one works fine. Put it in /home/zaurus/ or wherever $HOME is.

Felipe
*


so this means the 5x00 have the same keyboard layout as the 6000 since the .xmodmaprc you used is for the 6000.

btw, what is the model name of your Zaurus, poodle or collie?

does /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt link to Xqt-old or Xqt?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Dec 21 2005, 05:48 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



QUOTE(Meanie @ Dec 21 2005, 08:06 AM)
so this means the 5x00 have the same keyboard layout as the 6000 since the .xmodmaprc you used is for the 6000.

btw, what is the model name of your Zaurus, poodle or collie?

does /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt link to Xqt-old or Xqt?
*


I knew the .xmodmaprc was for the 6000 but it was the first I found with google and I guessed it would either work or be very close.

My Zaurus is a collie.

The link is to Xqt-old.

Felipe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Dec 21 2005, 01:23 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



QUOTE(Meanie @ Dec 21 2005, 08:57 AM)
gee, that's awful that a linux distro doesn't have awk sad.gif

Will be correcting that little oversight on Sharp's part just as soon as I can download an awk package.

QUOTE
but anyway, there seems to be something wrong with your system because /lib/libwatch_conn.so.1, etc.. are system libraries that should have been already linked.

ldconfig verifies and relinks broken links as well as reloads its static library cache. xqt doesn't modify system libraries in /lib

Both C860s have:

/lib/libconfirm_host.so

linked to

/lib/libconfirm_host.so.1.0

and

/lib/libwatch_conn.so

linked to

/lib/libwatch_conn.so.1.0

the *-setup output says

/sbin/ldconfig: Can't link /lib/libwatch_conn.so.1 to libwatch_conn.so.1.0
/sbin/ldconfig: Can't link /lib/libconfirm_host.so.1 to libconfirm_host.so.1.0

*.so.1 I don't see. "Confusion reigns among the people".

QUOTE
as for openoffice, the script to run it is /home/QtPalmtop/bin/runxqtoo

Hummmmm. I have a

/home/QtPalmtop/bin/runxoo

linked to

/mnt/xqt/xqt-gtk-jumbo/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/runoo

and a

home/QtPalmtop/bin/runxqtoo

Not linked at all.


Checking them in Tree!Text QT shows that they are quite different.

runoo checks to see if "X already running" then "xlauncher debian office".

runxqtoo tries "debrid -x /opt/OpenOffice/soffice" and reports if OO not installed.

OK. I think that I see where I am confused. I have not installed any Debian cramfs and assumed that the OO package had checked for any "depends" that it needed when it mounted. Gone jumping to contusions again, did I eh?

Another tick mark on the old d/l list.

QUOTE
did you use the latest mozilla cramfs? (mozilla bundle 0.2)

Sorry, no. The one that I got is v0.1, I see now that I look closer. I'll go grab v0.2 & try again.

Thanks for the clarifications, Oh most kind, wise, patient & benificient Meanie. May Santa bring you lots & lots of mega neat toys!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Dec 28 2005, 07:18 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



I have updated xqt-apps and xqt-mozilla cramfs images.

The new xqt-mozilla (0.2) cramfs now has working firefox and thunderbird

The xqt-apps (0.3) cramfs now contains the following applications:

- abiword 2.0 (word processor - unchanged)
- bluefish 0.13 (web authoring tool - new)
- bochs 2.1.1 (x86 emulator with freedos - new)
- dia 0.92 (diagram editor similar to visio - new)
- dillo 0.8 (web browser - unchanged)
- dv 0.0.1 (xv image viewer clone - new)
- ethereal 0.10.2 (packet analyzer - updated to run with sudo)
- feh 1.3.4 (image and slideshow viewer - new)
- flfm 0.3 (file manager - unchanged)
- fltdj 0.7 (pim - unchanged)
- gimp 1.2.5 (image editor - unchanged)
- gqview 1.4.2 (image viewer - unchanged)
- gnumeric 1.2.2 (spreadsheet - unchanged)
- grisbi 0.5 (accounting package - unchanged)
- minimo 1.6 (web browser - unchanged)
- nedit 5.4 (text editor - unchanged)
- sylpheed 0.9.99 (mail client - unchanged)
- vncviewer 4.0 (remote desktop client - new)
- xchat 2.0.5 (irc client - unchanged)
- xmms 1.2.10 (multimedia player - unchanged)
- xpdf 2.03 (pdf viewer - new)

a new xqt-gtk jumbo cramfs is still in the works. aterm and gtk-theme-switch will be added to it hopefully soon.

once that is done, I will start packaging up individual ipk files for each of the applications.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Dec 29 2005, 02:36 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



Where is this available for download. I did not find it on your web site Meanie? I would like the jumbo package with the new updated apps. Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Dec 29 2005, 05:25 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(loc4me @ Dec 30 2005, 08:36 AM)
Where is this available for download. I did not find it on your web site Meanie? I would like the jumbo package with the new updated apps. Thanks
*


I probably should have posted a link to the files but I assumed everyone already knew

http://www.thegrinder.ws/Meanies_XQT/cram/

Since I ran out of space on my server, Bam has graciously offered to host the files for me.

My X/Qt page with the instructions is http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/jumbo/xqtjumbo.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Dec 29 2005, 08:01 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(Meanie)
I probably should have posted a link to the files but I assumed everyone already knew...


Thanks, I did find that link i was just not sure if it was the newest stuff. I am new to the X/QT stuff. I have never tried it. Untill now. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
upstart7
post Dec 29 2005, 08:26 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 9-December 05
Member No.: 8,693



[quote=Meanie,Dec 28 2005, 11:18 AM]
I have updated xqt-apps and xqt-mozilla cramfs images.

The new xqt-mozilla (0.2) cramfs now has working firefox and thunderbird

Another job well done Meanie, you are a Saint. I was having problems with firefox cramfs, now it works perfect! Two questions though:

1) is it possible you can give more instructions on how to link the images with the ipktools package. I not sure what to type at the command line with xipk-link

2) I would like to know can you provide some basic howto convert deb to ipk package. I'm interested in porting the latest firefox to the zaurus. The one in you cramfs is version 0.9 I believe.

Thanks for all the hard work, it's much appreciated by everyone on this forum, and noobs like me.

Carl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Dec 29 2005, 09:05 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



[quote=upstart7,Dec 30 2005, 02:26 PM]
[quote=Meanie,Dec 28 2005, 11:18 AM]
I have updated xqt-apps and xqt-mozilla cramfs images.

The new xqt-mozilla (0.2) cramfs now has working firefox and thunderbird

Another job well done Meanie, you are a Saint. I was having problems with firefox cramfs, now it works perfect! Two questions though:

1) is it possible you can give more instructions on how to link the images with the ipktools package. I not sure what to type at the command line with xipk-link

2) I would like to know can you provide some basic howto convert deb to ipk package. I'm interested in porting the latest firefox to the zaurus. The one in you cramfs is version 0.9 I believe.

Thanks for all the hard work, it's much appreciated by everyone on this forum, and noobs like me.

Carl
*

[/quote]

Can you clarify question 1? you don't need ipktools package and use xipk-link unless you want to build your own cramfs image. is that what you are trying to do? the xqtapps-setup file for example is xipk-link (in fact most of the xqt*-setup files in the various cramfs images are xipk-link renamed.

Converting a .deb to .ipk can be easily done by running deb2ipk package.deb
That's the easy bit. However, the firefox on debian is compiled with glibc 2.3.2 whereas sharp rom has glibc 2.2.2. Upgrading to 2.3.2 on the C3000 is very dangerous unless you really know what you are doing. On all other models, you can and should do a NAND backup before attempting to upgrade glibc to 2.3.2

On another note, sashz just compiled the new pdaxrom 1.1.0 beta1 for X/Qt and I was able to run the latest abiword 2.4.0 on xqt. it also comes with firefox 1.5! but i haven't been able to get that to work yet. i will probably have to redo all of the jumbo packages so it will use all the latest apps from pdaxrom 1.1 when it is officially released.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Dec 30 2005, 03:16 AM
Post #27





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



hey meanie....

thanks for the ftp program. It was badly needed for the zaurus. I been using tkcftp but the problem with that along with opieftp is that it would not grab directories. Ill give the ftp program a try.

firefox and mozilla works as well as java.

I tried a few programs but the ones i rarely use like bluefish...missing lib. Ill post more details on all the problem that might pop up.

These files are a good update!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
upstart7
post Dec 30 2005, 08:43 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 9-December 05
Member No.: 8,693



*

[/quote]

Can you clarify question 1? you don't need ipktools package and use xipk-link unless you want to build your own cramfs image. is that what you are trying to do? the xqtapps-setup file for example is xipk-link (in fact most of the xqt*-setup files in the various cramfs images are xipk-link renamed.
[/quote]

Actually, I think I'm a bit confused... if I reset the zaurus, the files just need to be remounted and/or relinked? or is relinking done once, and automounting the cramfs image everytime my SD card is removed and plugged in?

My goal might clarify things. I just want to be able to run XQT and the mozilla package off of my SD card at anytime, regardless of if I removed the card and re-inserting it. That is of course with the intent that my cramfs images reside in the same directory all the time on the SD card.

I've used your automount before it works, but a few times, the sd card did not wake up from suspend, so I uninstalled the automounter. Is this the automounter or a problem inherent to the zaurus or SD card?

Thanks in advance,

Carl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Dec 30 2005, 05:37 PM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



[quote=upstart7,Dec 31 2005, 02:43 AM]
*

[/quote]

Can you clarify question 1? you don't need ipktools package and use xipk-link unless you want to build your own cramfs image. is that what you are trying to do? the xqtapps-setup file for example is xipk-link (in fact most of the xqt*-setup files in the various cramfs images are xipk-link renamed.
[/quote]

Actually, I think I'm a bit confused... if I reset the zaurus, the files just need to be remounted and/or relinked? or is relinking done once, and automounting the cramfs image everytime my SD card is removed and plugged in?

My goal might clarify things. I just want to be able to run XQT and the mozilla package off of my SD card at anytime, regardless of if I removed the card and re-inserting it. That is of course with the intent that my cramfs images reside in the same directory all the time on the SD card.

I've used your automount before it works, but a few times, the sd card did not wake up from suspend, so I uninstalled the automounter. Is this the automounter or a problem inherent to the zaurus or SD card?

Thanks in advance,

Carl
*

[/quote]

The install script will mount the cramfs images and link the files.

Each time you insert or eject the SD card, you need to mount/unmount the cramfs. You do not need to relink again. Also, you need to mount them again after you reboot.

This is all done for you if you have automounter installed (it works on the sharp rom, but disabled the auto mount and unmount of the SD for cacko since its done differently).

The Z will force an unmount of your SD when you suspend. So it should also unmount the cramfs before unmounting the SD. This is OK normally except when the cramfs is in use and cannot be unmounted, ie you are running some X application which is keeping a lock on its files.
When you resume, it normally remounts your SD and then the cramfs, but if it was in a dead lock situation when it suspended, the file handles/locks would had been forcibly killed, but the application would still be in memory and trying to use its existing file lock which doesnt exist anymore. All you need to do is kill the rogue process. A better solution would be to exit all the apps on the SD before you suspend.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
qx773
post Jan 1 2006, 05:15 PM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 10-February 04
Member No.: 1,807



Nice work, Meanie.

The downloads from http://www.thegrinder.ws/Meanies_XQT/cram/ were the fastest that I have ever had, about 697KB/second. Left clicking on the files did not seem to do anything, so I right-clicked on them in Internet Explorer and chose "Save As".

I got awk from the ELSI library, but I had to rename the awk *.tar file to *.ipk in order to get it installed on my C760 Sharp ROM. awk works even though the computer informed me that not all files were installed.

I saw an error message about a library when the java cramfs was being installed. There was something about bad locale.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 02:10 PM