OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Working Tomtom Nav On Angstrom, - working adequately, seeking permission from tomtom
offthefront
post Oct 2 2006, 03:01 AM
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,040



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Sep 30 2006, 10:20 PM)
and TomTom navigator now mostly runs on the Zaurus running OZ!


That's great news. Thanks Paul (and masked hacker smile.gif ) I've been following this with interest, although haven't been able to spare any time to help so far.

How hard is it to get what is needed from a 300? Would I be able to buy a broken one cheap and copy what's need from there.

Sue
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 2 2006, 04:53 AM
Post #62





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(offthefront @ Oct 2 2006, 12:01 PM)
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Sep 30 2006, 10:20 PM)
and TomTom navigator now mostly runs on the Zaurus running OZ!

How hard is it to get what is needed from a 300? Would I be able to buy a broken one cheap and copy what's need from there.
*



You might need the product code which is on a busines-card sized plasticised sheet of paper, it's a set of letters and numbers. If needed you have to put it into http://www.ttcode.com along with the device code (found through one of the menus when running tomtom on zaurus), and it'll give you the activation code to put into the Z.

Basically, you simply take the files from the SD card on the 300 and put them on the zaurus EXCEPT for the file called "ttsystem". The SD card contains maps and bulk data, the ttsystem file contains linux.

I think I explained before, and there is lots of info on the www.opentom.org website, but ttsystem is a special file consisting of a combined vmlinuz and initrd file, for which a small C is used available on opentom website.

*very* briefly, You loopback mount the initrd, and copy that into your /home/tomtom directory. You'll have to change the mount point for the sd card to /home/tomtom/mnt/sdcard (you can always umount the standard one and mount it manually at that position)... then chroot into /home/tomtom then run ttn.

when things work better I'll do a proper write-up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 2 2006, 01:23 PM
Post #63





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



photo added to http://www.zaurus.org.uk/opentom/index.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lurker
post Oct 2 2006, 03:16 PM
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 30-May 05
Member No.: 7,235



Awesome!
::drooooooooool::


Will any map card work with any TomTom unit, no matter the region?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 3 2006, 03:12 AM
Post #65





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Lurker @ Oct 3 2006, 12:16 AM)
Will any map card work with any TomTom unit, no matter the region?
*


provided you have the product code for it.

Be warned that most tomtom stuff on ebay is pirated or dodgy, and not in a subtle way, so much so I'm amazed that TomTom haven't sued the arse off ebay for not doing something about it!

From what I've read, once a product has been activated and assigned to a device identity, it can be very difficult to reassign it to another one - I don't know how many times you can do it, so if you buy second hand map card/disks the product code might no longer be valid and switchable to your zaurus. HOWEVER, you can change your Z's device ID, so if you do have the product code, device ID and activation code you should be OK.

I did have the traffic speed camera add-on for my non-broken go 300, and I was able to switch it to my newer go 500, and it works.

the license for the maps make up a significant cost for TomTom, so morally it's important to use a legitimate source!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 3 2006, 01:11 PM
Post #66





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(albertr @ Jan 4 2006, 02:29 PM)
Just curious if it would be possible to run the navigation software from TomTom on the Zaurus? What GIU is used on TomTom GO?
-albertr
*


it appears that tomtom don't use any standard GUI but have their own drawing libraries and write direct to framebuffer. your kernel and fb driver need to be able to switch to 320x240 otherwise it crashes - this seems to be what was stopped me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 6 2006, 06:41 AM
Post #67





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



video on youtube of the Z running ttn in demo mode

-- edit: deleted invalid forum html code

This post has been edited by speculatrix: Oct 6 2006, 06:42 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
harvell
post Oct 6 2006, 07:09 AM
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 11-May 06
From: Silicon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,831



Nice... does it talk to you?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 6 2006, 01:27 PM
Post #69





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(harvell @ Oct 6 2006, 04:09 PM)
Nice... does it talk to you?
*


Sadly, sound is still in progress.

BTW, I came across the tomtom SDK on sale for $200!
http://www.handango.com/PlatformProductDet...187644&R=187644
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 17 2006, 07:30 AM
Post #70





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



Things are definitely getting a bit hotter with TomTom on linux devices. Another person has managed to run TTN on a Navman iCN 330, which is an interesting thing to do given that it's a GPS navigation device from a different company and with their own OS but successfully runs linux now!

The last big breakthrough is yet to come, sound, but hopefully the two geniuses working on it (not me!) will crack it.

This post has been edited by speculatrix: Oct 17 2006, 09:21 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Oct 17 2006, 08:08 AM
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



Wow, cool. So what are the requirements to get this working? Buy a tomtom device to get the software and run openzaurus?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 17 2006, 08:42 AM
Post #72





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I have permission to publish the website of the linux-on-navman site, there's nothing about TTN on it *yet*.
http://www.duff.dk/navman/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 17 2006, 08:52 AM
Post #73





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(xamindar @ Oct 17 2006, 05:08 PM)
Wow, cool.  So what are the requirements to get this working?  Buy a tomtom device to get the software and run openzaurus?
*


As far as I can see in order to be honest, buy any tomtom device (broken or working) which comes with the product code and device ID, and then www.ttcode.com will give you the map activation code. The software itself does not seem to be device locked. Put the tt files and the maps onto the Zaurus running OZ (although pdaXrom would probably work too provided its kernel 2.6 and gcc3), set up the appropriate chroot'd environment, and then when you run it, enter the activation code for the map. You will need to edit the sysfile/ID file to put in the device ID.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 17 2006, 08:54 AM
Post #74





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I see that the Nokia 770 tablet is going to have a GPS Nav package soon:
http://www.linuxdevices.com/news/NS2397078895.html

maybe TomTom will follow suit?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Oct 17 2006, 08:55 AM
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Oct 17 2006, 04:52 PM)
although pdaXrom would probably work too provided its kernel 2.6 and gcc3
*


I wouldn't due to softfloat differences
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 09:54 AM