OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Big Storage Options..., ...SD, MMC, CF, or CF Microdrive?
hakujin
post Jun 23 2006, 10:31 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



So has anyone come across an SD card or CF (flash or otherwise) larger than a gig that can be used with the sl-5600?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Jun 26 2006, 11:46 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



I have come across a CF microdrive that works. It is a seagate 4 gig photo hard drive. The package says it is only for cameras but so far it is humming along nicely in my Z. I have loaded a gang of mp3s on it for playing on xmms-embedded (opie media player will not play mp3s on my Z). I will let you all know if it dies anytime soon. It cost 70 bucks at Fry's. Internet search didn't come up with it being cheaper anywhere else.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rolf
post Aug 27 2006, 12:05 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 5-October 04
Member No.: 4,884



QUOTE(cho1ce @ May 24 2006, 06:04 AM)
is there an absolute max that the zaurus sl-5500 will accept on the sd an cf slots?
(like is there any hardware limits that would restrict size.)

This question is old, but I'll pick it up nonetheless since I just pounded that question as well. The OZ FAQ says that 1GB SD is the max for the collie. This is an issue of the driver and since that one is closed source it is unlikely to change anytime soon.

That much being said I wonder how hakujin can claim to have used an SD card 2G in size and even flashed OZ from it huh.gif. AFAIK, neither is possible for the SL-5500 as well as the SL-5600.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 30 2006, 04:10 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Actually on SL5600 (Poodle) using the 3.5.4.2 RC1 2.6.17 based Distro, SD cards can be used of upto 4GB. Could be larger, but I think 4GB is the Currently Available max anyway, so no way to test it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Nov 5 2006, 10:19 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



QUOTE(rolf @ Aug 27 2006, 01:05 PM)
QUOTE(cho1ce @ May 24 2006, 06:04 AM)
is there an absolute max that the zaurus sl-5500 will accept on the sd an cf slots?
(like is there any hardware limits that would restrict size.)

This question is old, but I'll pick it up nonetheless since I just pounded that question as well. The OZ FAQ says that 1GB SD is the max for the collie. This is an issue of the driver and since that one is closed source it is unlikely to change anytime soon.

That much being said I wonder how hakujin can claim to have used an SD card 2G in size and even flashed OZ from it huh.gif. AFAIK, neither is possible for the SL-5500 as well as the SL-5600.
*


Woah there killer. I never wrote that I flashed from a 2gig sd card. If you go back and read my post you will see I wrote that the 2 gig card never worked. When I wrote that I had flashed from an SD card I was talking about a 256 meg san disk sd card. My point was that you can flash from an SD card on an SL-5600. The largest sd card i got working was a 1 gig kingston. However I also have a seagate 4gig microdrive (it says on the package that it is only for cameras) that has been working fine for a while now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Nov 5 2006, 10:22 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Aug 30 2006, 05:10 AM)
Actually on SL5600 (Poodle) using the 3.5.4.2 RC1 2.6.17 based Distro, SD cards can be used of upto 4GB. Could be larger, but I think 4GB is the Currently Available max anyway, so no way to test it.
*

How is this distro? I was having trouble with an earlier 2.6 rom on my poodle and switched back to the sharp rom. Have you tried the rc2 distro? is rc2 an unstable/ testing distro? Have you been able to sync with it? I could never get OZ to sync with Outlook.(I know microsoft is the devil but i have to use it at work.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 03:19 AM