OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Omfg Broadband!, Now THIS is what I'm talking about.
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 20 2006, 10:12 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



http://www.vodafone.jp/en/data_card/

Yep, that's right. 3'rd Generation GPRS (3g for short)

And fully tested and complient and whatnot (BY THE MANUFACTURER NO LESS!) with the Zauri.

Now I need someone in Japan to buy me one. Aww hell, I'm gonna bug Vodafone till they get me one. This should be of particular notice to all of you guys in the UK, because this works with Vodafone's 3G datacard tariffs, if we can get them into the UK (It's the same as the PCMCIA card vodafone sell, but smaller. SEIKO is the OEM)

Is that, or is that not the coolest thing in Zaurus COMMS since the Audiovox RTM8000?

hehehe
Insert this into AlbertR's C1000, and you essentially have a Faster-clocked, Open source HTC universal. ^^
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 20 2006, 10:24 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



smile.gif I'm already doing 3g through a bluetooth phone. Though I would hardly call it broadband, it feels somewhere between isdn and dsl (not even close to cable). I get 300K download, but I haven't tried upload speeds.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 20 2006, 11:15 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Yeah. Slightly better than 64k GPRS, don't you think?

And despite having fully working gear, my life with Bluetooth was hell. I swear I must exude some form of selective Frequency jamming.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 20 2006, 11:25 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



BT wasn't too bad for me, once I figured that the socket card and/or the phone needed to be reset once in a while. I think I've turned into a cliff claven with this thing because I can lookup info out of nowhere.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 20 2006, 11:33 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Mine just was havok. Wouldn't connect properly. Couldn't make anybody elses work either. I prefer hardwired, it's more reliable.

Heh, I spent £14 on Credit this weekend, just keeping up on Forums from a Bench on Oxford's Broad Street.

(Actually, there were two benches, which I alternated between)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnX
post Mar 20 2006, 11:48 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 4-May 05
From: Lynnwood, WA, US
Member No.: 7,070



For some reason I remember hearing that bluetooth can only do ~720kbs (as a theoretical maximum, not including bluetooth 2.0). I wonder how much of a limiting factor that is in practice...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 20 2006, 11:50 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Even I'll admit, as a Bluetooth-hater, it's not QUITE that bad.

Standard Class 1, Class 2 v1.1 is 112.5kbps through to 4mbps, depending on situation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Curious Aardvark
post Mar 28 2006, 07:46 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 29-January 05
From: england
Member No.: 6,345



what's wrong with wifi ?
you guys made of money or something ?

I just keep note of the wireless networks I'm setting up :-)

And wasn't there some bizarre rumour that the entire city of london was going to be a FREE wifi zone ?
I mean you probably need some sort of compensation for having to go to the dump. But if london does it, then so will most cities.

Got to keep up with the joneses.

But I'll be buggered if I'm going to contaminate my z with a mobile phone card. Hell I don't even use a mobile myself :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Mar 28 2006, 08:16 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



QUOTE(Curious Aardvark @ Mar 28 2006, 03:46 PM)
...
And wasn't there some bizarre rumour that the entire city of london was going to be a FREE wifi zone ?
...


Awesome!, however, I haven't heard that rumour.... I presume that means some of central London... I doubt it will extend out as far as Chiswick sad.gif

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Curious Aardvark
post Mar 28 2006, 08:31 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 29-January 05
From: england
Member No.: 6,345



Probably not chiswick - it was actually the City of london - which I think means the bit you get charged for driving in. Although wifi tends to leak a bit so you could probably park up just outside the congestion zone and steal their internet :-)
Fairly sure it was a register article so I would have thought it wasn't entirely smoke and mirrors :-)
Nope it's genuine
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/02/21/city_gets_wifi/
Looks like they're doing it so the lawyers can surf porn in their lunchhour :-)

Possibly not entirely free - but we all know ways round that :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w14
post Mar 28 2006, 09:14 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 180
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,049



Its not even that good ... The City of London is about 1 square mile of banks, hedge funds and insurance companies. Its not even part of London, and has its own mayor.

You know you're entering the "City" when you pass the nice silver dragon sitting in the middle of the road. There are some pics of the dragons on Wikipedia, with a nice map showing just how much of the city (with a small 'c') is covered by this ...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/City_of_london
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 29 2006, 03:03 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



You know, unsurprisingly, in the middle of Wincanton, Somerset, there are BUGGER ALL wifi hotspots. Even in Oxford only a few of the coffeehouses have access. Besides, my wificard commited suicide about a week after I got it. Entertainingly, it took the college wifi network with it, which has never been repaired. . . No idea what the hell happened to it. Not that anyone cares that much, only one person ever used it, it only worked properly in one room of the Science block.

So I gave up and got the Ambicom GPRS/Chi Mei G1 / Audiovox RTM8000, which has served me well. ESPECIALLY in Oxford. Costs a bomb though. Also getting an XDA in a few weeks, which will further compliment my geeekiness. I'm already the only person within a 20 mile radius who feels the need to carry more than one phone and more than one PDA.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
brashley46
post Mar 29 2006, 03:23 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Toronto
Member No.: 7,227



Dunno about London, but Toronto is getting free wifi in the financial district this Summer; read all about it here.
Toronto Hydro will introduce us to the crack free, and then make us pay after six months. laugh.gif Within three years they intend to cover the whole city.

QUOTE(Curious Aardvark @ Mar 28 2006, 10:46 AM)
what's wrong with wifi ?
you guys made of money or something ?

I just keep note of the wireless networks I'm setting up :-)

And wasn't there some bizarre rumour that the entire city of london was going to be a FREE wifi zone ?
I mean you probably need some sort of compensation for having to go to the dump. But if london does it, then so will most cities.

Got to keep up with the joneses.

But I'll be buggered if I'm going to contaminate my z with a mobile phone card. Hell I don't even use a mobile myself :-)
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 30 2006, 01:05 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



What ya gonna do?

I'll stick with my GPRS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 30 2006, 06:34 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



one tradeoff of using the slower bluetooth dun/3g setup is that it uses less power than a wifi. I can surf for a longer time, but pages load slower.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 02:06 PM