OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Static Binaries, How to use static binaries???
VirtusRex
post May 2 2006, 06:30 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 26-April 06
Member No.: 9,713



Hello all,

I’ve come across some software on the following website: http://kost.com.hr/securus.php, called Securus, which contains a collection of pen-testing programs. The only thing is that the files are in a format called static binaries. I am new to pdaxrom and not sure how to use static binaries or what they are.

Does anybody out there know how to use static binary files?


Thanks,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xromer
post May 2 2006, 06:46 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Rome Italy
Member No.: 9,229



QUOTE(VirtusRex @ May 2 2006, 03:30 PM)
Hello all,

I’ve come across some software on the following website: http://kost.com.hr/securus.php, called Securus, which contains a collection of pen-testing programs. The only thing is that the files are in a format called static binaries. I am new to pdaxrom and not sure how to use static binaries or what they are.

Does anybody out there know how to use static binary files?


Thanks,
*


Right, static binaries it' s not a really good description for that files, that' s why you didn' t understand.
I think the author wanted to say Statically linked binaries that means that the binaries don' t need any libraries to work, as they are linked internally in the binaries themselves.
That' s why the files are bigger.
So you have just to copy them in your Zauri and execute as the author said.
This is a thing i'm studying deeper to compile some programs not compatible with libraries in the PdaXrom ROM, to not break the ROM installation and having to compile the ROM again.
BYEZ!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VirtusRex
post May 2 2006, 07:15 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 26-April 06
Member No.: 9,713



Ok, so all I do is copy the Statically linked binaries to my Sd card and run them? Do I have to set the chmod for each one, or is there a special command to run Statically linked binaries?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VirtusRex
post May 2 2006, 11:14 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 26-April 06
Member No.: 9,713



Nevermind, figured out how to do it. Seems that to execute a binary file you need to set the file to 'chmod +x BinaryName' and then run the binary file by the following command ./BinaryName.

Thanks,

Virtusrex
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xromer
post May 2 2006, 06:18 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Rome Italy
Member No.: 9,229



QUOTE(VirtusRex @ May 2 2006, 08:14 PM)
Nevermind, figured out how to do it. Seems that to execute a binary file you need to set the file to 'chmod +x BinaryName' and then run the binary file by the following command ./BinaryName.

Thanks,

Virtusrex
*


Offcourse, whatever binary file or script you want to execute, you have to set the eXecution flag as you did it.
If you put these file in a PATH DIR as /bin, /usr/bin,/usr/local/bin etc. in your PATH list, you have only to call them.
Now you have to call them with the ./ or with the complete PATH like /DIR_WHERE_THE_FILES_ARE/
because that DIR it' s not in your PATH list.
You can change the PATH variable in your /etc/profile file and the dir where your programs are to execute them too.
BYEZ! laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 02:45 PM