OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wifi Troubles
totaln00b
post May 15 2006, 07:28 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 4-May 04
From: Lancaster, UK
Member No.: 3,142



Hi List,

I've got a D-Link dcf-660W wifi card, which my 860 (Cacko 1.23 full) recognises straight away when I insert it. I can run Kismet and Wellenreiter, and can connect to my home adhoc network (no encryption- I'm just testing at the moment), with IP address and Subnet Mask defined.

What I can't do is connect to a local open access network with DHCP, even though I can with my pc. When I set it up as a connection it starts to connect then initialises, then eventually times out and says that the network is off-line.

What I have tried so far is to delete all the other entries for cards in /etc/pcmcia/hostap_cs.conf, I've inserted and reinserted the card, and rebooted my zaurus, ran iwconfig from the command line to set up the connection manually. Nothing seems to help.

I checked the firmware on the card using hostap_diag and it reports that it is running NICID v1.0.0, PRIID v1.1.1 and STAID v1.7.4, so I guess that updating the firmware is a possibility. If I need to do this, could someone give me some fairly concise instructions as I have checked the normal links given and I'm quite uncertain about what I should be doing so I don't trash the card!

It's hard for me to post dmesg in its entirety but running it straight after inserting the card gives me the following lines that I have seen elsewhere in the forum:

hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_PM_SUSPEND
hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_RESET_PHYSICAL
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0x8888
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: entry still in list? (entry=c39feda0, type=0, res=-1)
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: interrupted; err=-110
wifi0: hfa384x_get_rid: CMDCODE_ACCESS failed (res=-110, rid=fd51, len=6)

then it repeats the wifi0 lines a number of times occasionally with different values for entry.

If I run it when trying to connect to this open access point, it tells me that it can't read current wep flags, and that encryption setup has failed- but there is no encryption on the network I am trying to access.

Basically I have been through the forums, I know there are a few things I should try but I don't really know which ones (I'm very new to wifi), so I would be very grateful for some assistance.

I hope this is enough information for someone to help me out, and apologise for the long post!

Jo
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loothi
post Jul 13 2006, 06:39 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-February 06
From: Amsterdam
Member No.: 9,111



Hiya,

Same problem. (sorry no suggestions!) :-)

Open Wifi networks that my XP laptop has no problem with - my Zaurus replies "network offline".

If I don't have access to the router and the specs for the open wifi, how do I debug to see why the zaurus is having problems.

I have connected to one open Wifi so far, but it's one out of 5 I would like to use, that have no encryption, and work on other machines.

Argh. Any ideas?

thanks
~loothi

cacko 1.23
sl-c3100
working senao cf wifi card
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
powertowin
post Apr 27 2007, 11:05 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-April 06
Member No.: 9,670



Hi, I have the same problem. I use Cacko ROM. I was able to connect using PDA XRom but unfortunately my TheKompany software doesn't work with Opie
I use a Sandisk Card for wireless
I have also a Socket 10/100 rugged ethernert card and have the same problem
Thanks for any help on this matter!

Tony
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Apr 27 2007, 01:06 PM
Post #4





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



Not sure if this will help but when I had issues accessing my wifi with no encryption, I lowered the speed of the wifi router. I hope you get my drift. So I don't use wireless g and went down to something slower.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Apr 27 2007, 01:07 PM
Post #5





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



Not sure if this will help but when I had issues accessing my wifi with no encryption, I lowered the speed of the wifi router. I hope you get my drift. So I don't use wireless g and went down to something slower.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 04:42 AM