OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Irda Dial Up Problem
ffelgenh
post Feb 25 2004, 03:49 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-February 04
Member No.: 2,034



I am trying to connect to the internet via a cellphone.

I tried with a Nokia 6210 and a Nokia 7650.

I like to use a CSD connection not a GPRS connection.

I tried first with a ATDT initstring. That does not work at all.

Then I tried with empty initstring. That does not worked with the Nokia
7650 at all too. The Nokia 6210 started to dial the number I entered, got a carrier but hangup later. Down there you see the lines from file /etc/ppp/connect-errors:

Nokia 7650 with initstring ATDT:

/tmp/qpe-pppd-log:

Feb 25 14:53:23 localhost pppd[2790]: pppd 2.4.0 started by root, uid 0
Feb 25 14:53:23 localhost pppd[2790]: Removed stale lock on ircomm (pid 2194)
Feb 25 14:53:24 localhost chat[2792]: abort on (NO CARRIER)
Feb 25 14:53:24 localhost chat[2792]: abort on (NO DIALTONE)
Feb 25 14:53:24 localhost chat[2792]: abort on (BUSY)
Feb 25 14:53:24 localhost chat[2792]: send (ATDT^M)
Feb 25 14:53:24 localhost chat[2792]: expect (OK)
Feb 25 14:53:27 localhost chat[2792]: ~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&^Z=}6^E}"}&} } } } }'}"}(}"N9~~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&^Z=}6^E}"}&} } } }
Feb 25 14:53:32 localhost pppd[2790]: Hangup (SIGHUP)
Feb 25 14:53:32 localhost pppd[2790]: Connect script failed
Feb 25 14:53:32 localhost chat[2792]: SIGHUP
Feb 25 14:53:32 localhost chat[2792]: Can't restore terminal parameters: Input/output error
Feb 25 14:53:33 localhost pppd[2790]: Exit.

without initstring I get

... send(ATDT+49177123100)

not

... send (ATDT)


In /etc/ppp/connect-errors:

abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATDT^M)
expect (OK)
~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&^Px3}>}"}&} } } } }'}"}(}"%^?~~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&^Px3}>}"}&} } } }
warning: read() on stdin returned 0
Failed
Can't restore terminal parameters: Input/output error

or again

... send(ATDT+49177123100) without initstring

The phone did not dial!

Nokia 6210:

initstring ATDT

File /tmp/qpe-pppd-log:

Feb 25 16:30:05 localhost pppd[4161]: pppd 2.4.0 started by root, uid 0
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: abort on (NO CARRIER)
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: abort on (NO DIALTONE)
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: abort on (BUSY)
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: send (ATDT^M)
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: expect (CONNECT)
Feb 25 16:30:12 localhost chat[4170]: ATDT^M^M
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost chat[4170]: NO CARRIER
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost chat[4170]: -- failed
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost chat[4170]: Failed (NO CARRIER)
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost pppd[4161]: Connect script failed
Feb 25 16:30:28 localhost pppd[4161]: Exit.

and

/etc/ppp/conect-errors:

abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATDt^M)
expect (CONNECT)
ATDT^M^M
NO CARRIER
-- failed
Failed (NO CARRIER)

empty initstring

qpe-ppd-log:

Feb 25 16:30:05 localhost pppd[4161]: pppd 2.4.0 started by root, uid 0
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: abort on (NO CARRIER)
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: abort on (NO DIALTONE)
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: abort on (BUSY)
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: send (ATDT+49177123100^M)
Feb 25 16:30:06 localhost chat[4170]: expect (CONNECT)
Feb 25 16:30:12 localhost chat[4170]: ATDT+49177123100^M^M
Feb 25 16:30:12 localhost chat[4170]: CARRIER^M
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost chat[4170]: ^M
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost chat[4170]: NO CARRIER
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost chat[4170]: -- failed
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost chat[4170]: Failed (NO CARRIER)
Feb 25 16:30:27 localhost pppd[4161]: Connect script failed
Feb 25 16:30:28 localhost pppd[4161]: Exit.

connet-errors:

abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATDT+49177123100^M)
expect (CONNECT)
ATDT+49177123100^M^M
CARRIER^M
^M
NO CARRIER
-- failed
Failed (NO CARRIER)

what went wrong?????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 26 2004, 02:10 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I don't like the look of all of those ^Ms though perhaps they are supposed to be there. Try using vi (and look for and delete ^M) or dos2unix on the script file.

Try changing ATDT to a plain ATD and then sticking the phone number straight after it. I don't know whether the +number thing works so you may be better off using the full one:

ATD0049177123100 (or whatever it is in your country).

Can you post a copy of your scripts?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 26 2004, 05:33 AM
Post #3





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



first of all the script, this is with empty init string in the configuration GUI:

115200
connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATDT0049177123100" CONNECT'
crtscts
noipdefault
modem
user "eplus"
usepeerdns
defaultroute
connect-delay 1000
remotename DialupIrDAGSM1077535884

This is the script after changed with your remarks in mind:

115200
connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATD0049177123100" OK "ATDT0049177123100" CONNECT'
crtscts
noipdefault
modem
user "eplus"
usepeerdns
defaultroute
connect-delay 1000
remotename DialupIrDAGSM1077535884

The Nokia 7650 still do not dial, the Nokia 6210 dialed but was not successfully connected.

This is from connect-errors while connecting with the Nokia 6210. You see a difference, we
connected with 9600 baud! But the phone still hangs up after a while:

abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATD0049177123100^M)
expect (OK)
ATD0049177123100^M^M
CARRIER^M
^M
CONNECT 9600^M
~^?}#@!}!}1} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"^Lj~~^?}#@!}!}2} }9}"}&} }*} } }
#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"@^G~~^?}#@!}!}3} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"}$~
~^?}#@!}!}4} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"IT~~^?}#@!}!}5} }9}"}&} }*} } }
#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"^M}/~~^?}#@!}!}6} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"Ab~
~^?}#@!}!}7} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"}%9~~^?}#@!}!}8} }9}"}&} }*} }
}#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"J{~~^?}#@!}!}9} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"^N ~
~^?}#@!}!}:} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&8P^U]}'}"}(}"BM~^M
NO CARRIER
-- failed
Failed (NO CARRIER)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 26 2004, 06:39 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Sorry I meant replace the existing ATD0049177123100 with the new one. Looking at the log it would appear that the number is dialed correctly so just ignore what I said before and go back to your original script.

Have you got the appropriate entries in pap-secrets and chap-secrets (your username & password for authentication)?

Change:
CODE
connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATD0049177123100" OK "ATDT0049177123100" CONNECT'


to

CODE
connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATD0049177123100" OK "ATDT0049177123100" CONNECT "~" '


nb. That is add a space, then "~" then another space before the closing single quote. This will wait until ppp has started on the other end before handing over control to pppd on this end.

All of those strange chars are ppp comms.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 26 2004, 07:01 AM
Post #5





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Do you know why the Nokia 7650 is doing nothing, because I prefer to use the 7650!

OK, I changed to

connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATD0049177123100" OK "ATDT0049177123100" CONNECT "~" '

But again we got this:

abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATD0049177123100^M)
expect (OK)
ATD0049177123100^M^M
CARRIER^M
^M
CONNECT 9600^M
~^?}#@!}!f} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}"5`~~^?}#@!}!g} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}
%B#}%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}"q;~~^?}#@!}!h} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}">y~~^?}#
@!}!i} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}"z"~~^?}#@!}!j} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}
%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}"6O~~^?}#@!}!k} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}"r}4~~^?}#@!}
!l} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}"?^~~^?}#@!}!m} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%
}&9^X2}'}"}(}"{G~~^?}#@!}!n} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}"7*~~^?}#@!}!o}
}9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9^X2}'}"}(}"sq~^M
NO CARRIER
-- failed
Failed (NO CARRIER)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 26 2004, 07:25 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Oops typo again from me sorry. Get rid of the second phone number. Change to:

CODE
connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATD0049177123100" OK CONNECT "~" '


I don't know why your 7650 doesn't work but you could try downloading the AT command set for the phone from www.nokia.com and then try an init string. Then you'd change it to (something like):

CODE
connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "AT init_string" OK "ATD0049177123100" OK CONNECT "~" '
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 26 2004, 08:14 AM
Post #7





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Sigh, no after changing to:

connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATD0049177123100" OK CONNECT "~" '

still:

abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATD0049177123100^M)
expect (OK)
ATD0049177123100^M^M
CARRIER^M
^M
CONNECT 9600^M
~^?}#@!}!&} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"_G~~^?}#@!}!'} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}
%B#}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"^[^~~^?}#@!}!(} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"T^~~^?}#
@!}!)} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"}0^E~~^?}#@!}!*} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#
}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"h~~^?}#@!}!+} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"^X3~~^?}#@!}
!,} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"U;~~^?}#@!}!-} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%
}&9T m}'}"}(}"}1`~~^?}#@!}!.} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"]}-~~^?}#@!}!/
} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&9T m}'}"}(}"^YV~^M
NO CARRIER
-- failed
Failed (NO CARRIER)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 26 2004, 09:20 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Hmm, I'd be tempted to split the chatscript out.

Take a look at the Modem HowTo and the PPP HowTo. It should tell you how to do it. I'm off home now before the snow freezes me in at uni.

I'll get back to you tomorrow.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ffelgenh
post Feb 26 2004, 10:09 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-February 04
Member No.: 2,034



I will have a look. By the way I am using a SL-5600 with SharpRom 1.32. Some users in a german
news group stated with SL-5500 and Rom 3.something there are Problems with IrDA and Nokia 6210
not with Rom 2.something. Maybe Rom for SL-5600 has the same Problem. I already tried with version
1.0.

username and password are correct.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 26 2004, 12:47 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I have a feeling there may be issues with pppd on the newer Sharp ROMs (which includes your one I'm afraid). Try a forum search for pppd. I only caught this in passing as I run OZ which is fine.

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 26 2004, 02:58 PM
Post #11





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



I also had some problems setting up an IrDA connection to a Nokia 6510. After some experiments with the modem init strings it worked out fine.

My Equipment: C750, original ROM, Qtopia, Nokia 6510 german Eplus mobile network, GPRS

There were two issues:
1) Major trick was to send an initial modem reset before dialing.
2) The init string seems to be extremely sensitive to blanks and CR Characters (^M) within commands.

The following settings worked fine for me:
Settings->Network->Dial-up PPP->New
Under Account: Username = Eplus, Password = gprs, Phone = *99***1#
Under Network: First DNS = 212.23.97.2, Second DNS 212.23.97.3, Obtain TCP/IP Information = auto
Under Modem:
At-dial: ATDT, Init Commands = ATZ^MAT +cgdcont=1,"IP","internet.eplus.de"^M (enter all characters as shown, e.g. ^M as two separate chars)
My modem refused to dial until I entered a blank between AT and +cgdcont. Then it seemed to dial, but got no connection. Finally I added the ATZ^M before the original AT command which causes a general modem reset. The trick here is to enter two (or more) AT commands in the same line, separating them with CR Characters (^M). After that it worked fine.

Looking at your ppp log it seems to me that the Zaurus never gets a data connection to the modem. The PPP software sends initializing AT commands internally before sending the User's init string. To make sure that the modem is in a defined state, it is a good practice to issue ATZ. (if you don't receive an "OK" from the modem after issuing ATZ, something must be wrong with the IrDA communication between the Zaurus and the modem. The problem would be "no modem response" rather than "modem not dialing". In this case you could try to add three plus-characters (+++) before ATZ. This should put the modem into "command mode".

By the way, some trivial questions :
Have you enabled IrDA on the Nokia? (by default it is turned off!)
Have you activated data services at the Eplus network? (not sure whether you really need this for HSCSD)
Why would you want HSCSD when you can have GPRS (Always on; billed by volume)?

Regards
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 27 2004, 01:49 AM
Post #12





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



OK, first the answers to your questions before I will try out your hints:

Yes I enabled IrDA. The IrDA symbol was blinking then it stoped blicking
the 6210 dialed the phone hangup and IrDA starts blicking again. I also
tried to send files from the 7650 to the Zaurus and it worked.

It is not HSCSD Iam using. I read some posting that for HSCSD you
have to use special init strings. I am using a normal CSD connection
in the moment. For the reason that it is not that expensive when surfing
normal web sites then using GPRS! For email and other sessions with not
that much traffic GPRS would be better.

Now I will try your init string proposal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 27 2004, 03:02 AM
Post #13





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



tried it with GPRS too:

connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATZ^MAT" OK "+cgdcont=1,"IP","internet.eplus.de"^M" OK "ATDT*99***1#" CONNECT'


abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATZ^MAT^M)
expect (OK)
~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&75*}}"}&} } } } }'}"}(}"Yh~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&75*}}"}&} } } } }'
SIGHUP
Can't restore terminal parameters: Input/output error

then

connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATZ^M" OK "AT +cgdcont=1,"IP","internet.eplus.de"^M" OK "ATDT*99***1#" CONNECT'

abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATZ^M^M)
expect (OK)
~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&'.0}/}"}&} } } } }'}"}(}"}!S~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&'.0}/}"}&} } } }
SIGHUP
Can't restore terminal parameters: Input/output error

then

connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATZ" OK "AT +cgdcont=1,"IP","internet.eplus.de"" OK "ATDT*99***1#" CONNECT'

abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATZ^M)
expect (OK)
~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&8kqA}"}&} } } } }'}"}(}"^W<~^?}#@!}!}!} }4}%}&8kqA}"}&} } } } }'
SIGHUP
Can't restore terminal parameters: Input/output error

now with CSD again:

connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATZ" OK "ATD0049177123100" OK "ATD


abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (ATZ^M)
expect (OK)
ATZ^M^M
OK
-- got it

send (ATD0049177123100^M)
expect (OK)
^M
ATD0049177123100^M^M
CARRIER^M
^M
CONNECT 9600^M
~^?}#@!}!^V} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&=ku}&}'}"}(}"; ~~^?}#@!}!^W} }9}"}&} }*} } }#
}%B#}%}%}&=ku}&}'}"}(}"^?{~~^?}#@!}!^X} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&=ku}&}'}"}(}"09~~
^?}#@!}!^Y} }9}"}&} }*} } }#}%B#}%}%}&=ku}&}'}"}(}"tb~^M
NO CARRIER
-- failed
Failed (NO CARRIER)

The zaurus has done initilizing, connecting authentication and then the phone hangup again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 27 2004, 03:04 AM
Post #14





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



sorry with CSD it was:

connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "ATZ" OK "ATD0049177123100" OK "ATDT0049177123100" CONNECT'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 27 2004, 03:10 AM
Post #15





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



ffelgenh,

I managed to connect to the internet using my siemens s56. I can also use the irda to transfer midi files for music like kight rider for ring tones and also pictures to siemens. its awsome.

anyway, to answer your question....you can access the internet using gprs through your nokia and at&t

first off.....you need to call at&t and have them give you 4mb transfer total a month for only 12.99 and if you use pda google or mapquest pda, then your in...if not, try this website for starters on your pda.

http://pda.web-geek.com/

okay do this first....call at&t and have them set you up with an gprs account for 12.99 a month....rape price but with pdawebgeek, you will never use up the 4mb in a month.

then tell talk to a tech guy and not the sales department and tell them you want to teather your nokia's gprs line to your zaurus incase they ask and if you get an idiot tech guy, tell them you want the 12.99 a month service and you were told about a number to use just like mine which is

*99#


they will more than likely give you the same number..... i think all of them use this number as a matter of fact.

then on your zaurus, go to network, say new irda (i call mines s56 under names after my cellphone) and no username and no password and in the phone area enter *99# and then auto detect network and then remove init commands and hardware flow control under modem. no proxy.

then your set to browse the net at 56k speeds. well not 56k but it feels just like my targus 56k cf modem.

email me at cresho@earthlink.net if you found this usefull



Cresho

http://home.earthlink.net/~cresho/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 12:13 PM