OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Supertux Game: "can't Load .."
daniel3000
post Jun 17 2006, 02:26 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



Hello,

I have tried to install and run Supertux_0.1.2-3_arm.ipk.
Installation went fine, SDL libs are installed, after getting an unresolved symbol "gzungetc" I compiled and installed the latest zlib (the zlib I found as an IPK didn't solve the problem (1.2.2 or so), it seems not to contain this symbol).

Now I get the following error:

CODE
Error: Can't load
/home/QtPalmtop/bin/../share/supertux/images/background/arctis2.jpg

Aborted


(On another machine I tried to install and run it a MOD file could not be loaded, same error message).
I have checked: The files exist.

Any ideas what could cause this behavior?
THe first machine I'm talking about is a C3100 with Cacko 1.23, the second one a C3000 with Caco 1.23beta1

Thanks!
daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwagelaar
post Jul 28 2006, 11:44 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-July 04
From: Brussels, Belgium
Member No.: 4,106



Hmm, it's most likely still a dependency problem. Please check if you have anything missing at the following URL:
http://www.elsix.org/index.php?w=project&p=supertux

Since it's a JPEG that fails, check if you have libjpeg installed. The command 'ldd /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/supertux' includes a reference to libjpeg.so.62, so that file should be present.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwagelaar
post Aug 2 2006, 04:38 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-July 04
From: Brussels, Belgium
Member No.: 4,106



QUOTE
Thanks.
Now I get another error about the undifined symbol "gzungetc".
I installed zlib_1.1.2_arm.ipk before.

Do I need another zlib package?

Thanks
daniel


The minimum version of zlib required is 1.1.4, but I'm using 1.2.2. As far as I know, the Cacko ROM includes this already (I'm running Cacko 1.22, so I'm not 100% sure about Cacko 1.23).

However, if you have ever installed a zlib ipk on that ROM, you "overwrite" the zlib from the ROM itself. The ROM zlib version does not get restored if you uninstall a zlib ipk. You have to manually create the symlinks again. I have the following symlinks in /usr/lib/:

CODE
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           13 Feb 12  2005 /usr/lib/libz.so -> libz.so.1.2.2
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           13 Feb 12  2005 /usr/lib/libz.so.1 -> libz.so.1.2.2
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           26 Feb 12  2005 /usr/lib/libz.so.1.2.2 -> /usr/lib.rom/libz.so.1.2.2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Aug 2 2006, 07:51 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



QUOTE(dwagelaar @ Aug 2 2006, 02:38 PM)
The minimum version of zlib required is 1.1.4, but I'm using 1.2.2. As far as I know, the Cacko ROM includes this already (I'm running Cacko 1.22, so I'm not 100% sure about Cacko 1.23).

However, if you have ever installed a zlib ipk on that ROM, you "overwrite" the zlib from the ROM itself. The ROM zlib version does not get restored if you uninstall a zlib ipk. You have to manually create the symlinks again. I have the following symlinks in /usr/lib/:

CODE
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           13 Feb 12  2005 /usr/lib/libz.so -> libz.so.1.2.2
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           13 Feb 12  2005 /usr/lib/libz.so.1 -> libz.so.1.2.2
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           26 Feb 12  2005 /usr/lib/libz.so.1.2.2 -> /usr/lib.rom/libz.so.1.2.2

*


Sorry - the message you replied to was deleted by me shortly after i wrote it, becasue I realized that I was at this point before (see first posting) ;-)

Now I'm at the same stage (arctis2.jpg ont loadable).

libjpeg is there.
libpng too.

Could it be an SDL problem?
I have installed:

libSDL-image 1.2.5cvs1
libSDL-micer 1.2.5cvs1
libSDL-net 1.2.5cvs1
libsdl 1.2.5-slzaurus20050410

Thanks
daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwagelaar
post Aug 2 2006, 11:05 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-July 04
From: Brussels, Belgium
Member No.: 4,106



QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Aug 2 2006, 04:51 PM)
Sorry - the message you replied to was deleted by me shortly after i wrote it, becasue I realized that I was at this point before (see first posting) ;-)

Now I'm at the same stage (arctis2.jpg ont loadable).

libjpeg is there.
libpng too.

Could it be an SDL problem?
I have installed:

libSDL-image 1.2.5cvs1
libSDL-micer 1.2.5cvs1
libSDL-net 1.2.5cvs1
libsdl 1.2.5-slzaurus20050410

Thanks
daniel
*


Hmm, I checked what errors you would get if a library is missing, and it's not anything like your error. The kind of error you get is more like having a wrong version of a library and supertux only finds out if it tries to use the library for loading stuff. I've the following libraries installed:

libSDL-image_1.2.3-1
libSDL-mixer_1.2.6-zports-1

The main libSDL is already included in the Cacko 1.22 ROM. There may be problems with your version of libSDL-image. Can you try the 1.2.3-1 version? You can get it here:
http://ssel.vub.ac.be/Members/DennisWagela...ownload/zaurus/

I also found a report on getting supertux to work on the stock ROM of an SL-C3000. You could try those instructions as well:
http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/custom.html#supertux
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Aug 3 2006, 03:57 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



QUOTE(dwagelaar @ Aug 3 2006, 09:05 AM)
Hmm, I checked what errors you would get if a library is missing, and it's not anything like your error. The kind of error you get is more like having a wrong version of a library and supertux only finds out if it tries to use the library for loading stuff. I've the following libraries installed:

libSDL-image_1.2.3-1
libSDL-mixer_1.2.6-zports-1

The main libSDL is already included in the Cacko 1.22 ROM. There may be problems with your version of libSDL-image. Can you try the 1.2.3-1 version? You can get it here:
http://ssel.vub.ac.be/Members/DennisWagela...ownload/zaurus/


I just tried both of your different libSDL versions to no avail. Same error.

QUOTE
I also found a report on getting supertux to work on the stock ROM of an SL-C3000. You could try those instructions as well:
http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/custom.html#supertux
*


Also that modificatoin of the sh script does not lead to success.
Strange.
Am I the only one who has this problem?

Maybe I'll try on a fresh Cacko install on my backup unit some day.

Thanks for your help so far. Please let me know if you have more ideas.
It's not that important for me to install a game, but especially supertux would be nice because these are the kinds of games I like to play from time to time.


daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
climber
post Aug 7 2006, 01:28 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 21-November 05
Member No.: 8,574



dwagelaar,

please could you test your java applications if you have some? When I install libjpeg no java application will work.

thanks,
climber
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwagelaar
post Aug 16 2006, 02:12 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-July 04
From: Brussels, Belgium
Member No.: 4,106



QUOTE(climber @ Aug 7 2006, 10:28 AM)
dwagelaar,

please could you test your java applications if you have some? When I install libjpeg no java application will work.

thanks,
climber
*


I'm using J2ME Personal Profile, which works without problems on Cacko 1.22, which has libjpeg built in.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
agoodm
post Sep 18 2006, 03:13 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 30-December 05
Member No.: 8,817



Was this ever resolved, I have this arctis error too
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwagelaar
post Sep 19 2006, 12:24 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-July 04
From: Brussels, Belgium
Member No.: 4,106



QUOTE(agoodm @ Sep 19 2006, 12:13 AM)
Was this ever resolved, I have this arctis error too
*

I don't think so. Perhaps daniel3000 managed to get it working with a fresh install? I'm still suspicious of libSDL-image and libjpeg. Perhaps things go wrong if libSDL-image is compiled on top of another version of libjpeg than the one that is installed? All I know is that the libSDL-mage_1.2.3-1 I use was built against libjpeg_6b: ldd gives the following:

CODE
$ ldd /opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libSDL_image-1.2.so.0.1.2
       libjpeg.so.62 => /home/QtPalmtop/lib/libjpeg.so.62 (0x40021000)
       libpng12.so.0 => /home/QtPalmtop/lib/libpng12.so.0 (0x40047000)
       libz.so.1 => /usr/lib/libz.so.1 (0x40483000)
       libSDL-1.2.so.0 => /home/QtPalmtop/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0 (0x4049d000)
       libqpe.so.1 => /home/QtPalmtop/lib/libqpe.so.1 (0x404ea000)
       libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x40673000)
       libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x40691000)
       libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0x407ac000)
       libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x407da000)
       libcrypt.so.1 => /lib/libcrypt.so.1 (0x407e5000)
       /lib/ld-linux.so.2 => /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0x2aaaa000)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Sep 19 2006, 01:35 AM
Post #11





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



if you download all my snes emulator package and install everything in there exactly like i stated, it will run supertux. it will also run billiards.

Here is the list

libmad_0.15.0b-zports-0_arm.ipk
libSDL_1.2.6-zports-5_arm.ipk or libsdl_1.2.5-slzaurus20050410_arm.ipk
libSDL-mixer_1.2.6-zports-0_arm.ipk
libSDL-image_1.2.5cvs-1_arm.ipk
libpng3_1.2.4-1_arm.ipk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Sep 19 2006, 07:20 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



A bit off topic.
Anyone know what this file is used for?
supertux-0.1.2-fp.patch.gz

It's located here with supertux_0.1.2-3_arm.ipk
http://ssel.vub.ac.be/Members/DennisWagela...ownload/zaurus/

I'm not going to use it, but have downloaded it, in case it gets mentioned.

I just installed supertux, and I already have the libraries installed that Cresho mentioned above.
I installed the snes package properly. All the emulators work as they are supposed to work.
I have a C3100 running Cacko Lite 1.23
I'm getting this error:
I could not load icon image /home/QtPalmtop/bin/../data/images/icon.xpm
The simple DirectMedia error that occured was:
Couldn't open /home/QtPalmtop/bin/../data/images/icon.xpm

EDIT: I just found the location of icon.xpm here:
/home/QtPalmtop/share/supertux/images/icon.xpm
Maybe it's a permission issue? I'll try relaxing permissions in that directory.
That didn't work.
Also the directory under /home/QtPalmtop/share/ called /supertux, must be the cramfs image.
I couldn't change permissions there.

The supertux.cramfs image is mounted in 3 places, (in sysinfo).
/dev/loop3 cramfs ro
/dev/loop2 cramfs ro
/dev/loop1 cramfs ro
Could this be because of several failed attempts to get supertux to run?

EDIT2: A reboot unmounted the 3 instances of supertux.cramfs.
I'll do some more searching, (here in the forums), before I attempt to launch supertux again.

EDIT3: after searching..
dwagelaar
I read your post about my error mentioned above here:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...indpost&p=67841
Supertux mounts the cramfs file, but it gives me the above error.
I used the console to launch supertux.sh
If I try to launch it from the icon, it mounts the cramfs file again, and nothing else happens.
Every instance of launching supertux causes one additional mount of /dev/loopx cramfs ro

EDIT4: I tried to unmount supertux manually, using the last line in supertux.sh
su
sudo umount ${BASE}share/supertux
mount: /home/zaurus/share: No such file or directory

I assume the reason the above won't unmount the cramfs, is because my "share" directory is here:
/home/QtPalmtop/share/
Supertux is mounted below there. (The cramfs file is also located there)

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Sep 19 2006, 09:34 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Sep 19 2006, 01:48 PM
Post #13





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



QUOTE(Cresho @ Sep 19 2006, 01:35 AM)
if you download all my snes emulator package and install everything in there exactly like i stated, it will run supertux.  it will also run billiards.

Here is the list

libmad_0.15.0b-zports-0_arm.ipk
libSDL_1.2.6-zports-5_arm.ipk      or      libsdl_1.2.5-slzaurus20050410_arm.ipk
libSDL-mixer_1.2.6-zports-0_arm.ipk
libSDL-image_1.2.5cvs-1_arm.ipk
libpng3_1.2.4-1_arm.ipk
*




well, i was pissed off, so I figured I would reinstall the thing and try it.

IT WORKS!

J JON shed some light to me as well, and i figured out the extra libraries needed.

ontop of the ones posted up in addidion, you will need...
sudo_0.1_arm.ipk
zlib_1.2.3-1_arm.ipk

and DO NOT LAUNCH FROM THE TERMINAL! launch from the application icon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Sep 19 2006, 02:01 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(Cresho @ Sep 19 2006, 04:48 PM)
J JON shed some light to me as well, and i figured out the extra libraries needed.

ontop of the ones posted up in addidion, you will need...
sudo_0.1_arm.ipk
zlib_1.2.3-1_arm.ipk

and DO NOT LAUNCH FROM THE TERMINAL!  launch from the application icon.
*


Cresho, I was informed that Cacko already has Sudo installed, (but is a scaled down version).
I have not installed Sudo.
The thread also mentioned NOT to install Sudo in Cacko. I think it is in Meanie's "X/QT jumbo package" thread.
I have zlib_1.2.3-1_arm.ipk installed

Thank you for your help,
Jon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Sep 19 2006, 02:21 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I got it working! smile.gif
Using Meanie's guide, (I followed this guide in latest zbook3k.pdf)
(I did not need to configure sudo, in Cacko)

Installing Supertux
Once you have installed supertux you need to change /home/QtPalmtop/bin/supertux.sh
(this assumes you already have sudo configured to allow you to mount and unmount, see sudo section):

CODE
#!/bin/sh -e
BASE=`grep "/QtPalmtop/$" /usr/lib/ipkg/info/supertux.list | tail -n 1`
#sudo mount ${BASE}share/supertux.cramfs ${BASE}share/supertux -o ro,loop
sudo mount ${BASE}share/supertux.cramfs ${BASE}data -o ro,loop
supertux
#sudo umount ${BASE}share/supertux
sudo umount ${BASE}data


the 2 lines that are changed/commented out, replaces:

share/supertux
with
data
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 12:35 PM