OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Poor Video Playback Quality Av700, Recording from cable TV via a VCR
psa_psa
post Jul 16 2006, 06:09 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-July 06
Member No.: 10,425



I have the AV700 when I record video directly from my TV to the AV700 and then play the video on the TV the quality is very bad. I'd say the quality of the video is worse than a bad VHS recording..........My current settings are...

Formware: 1.5.12

Source:........Composite
Format:....... 4:3
Res:.............Optimal
Bitrate:.........2500
Sampling:.....48
Brightness:...29
Contrast:......24
Saturation:...35
Hue:.............2

Connection is via analog basic cable to a VCR. I have tried numerous different setting on the AV700 but the playback quality is always poor...very grainy and the clarity and detail is also bad. Is this the way the AV700 is supposed to work...?

Any help is much appreciated....

FYI...Mac OS 10.3.9
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tat2sailor
post Jul 17 2006, 03:59 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 14-November 05
Member No.: 8,533



You may try these setting:

Source:........S-VIDEO (you need S-VIDEO cable)
Res:.............VGA

Btw what's your TV screen size? and is it a CRT(normal TV), LCD or Plasma....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tripdad
post Jul 17 2006, 05:16 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 2-June 06
Member No.: 10,038



My quality seems pretty decent.
My settings are as follows;

Firmware: 1.5.12

Source: Auto
Format: Auto
Res: VGA
Bitrate: 2500 kb/s
Sampling: 48 khz
Brightness: 37
Contrast: 25
Saturation: 25
Hue: 0

I too come directly out of a VCR to make my connection. I have tried a cable box at a friend's house and the quality seems the same.

Best of luck,

Tim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psa_psa
post Jul 17 2006, 05:39 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-July 06
Member No.: 10,425



this is actually how I have everything hooked up....I have a splitter in there so that I won't have to bother with dealing with the VCR remote.....now I'm wondering if the splitter is degrading the incoming signal and that's why the video quality is poor...?
Attached File(s)
Attached File  pic_08.jpg ( 123.83K ) Number of downloads: 85
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tripdad
post Jul 18 2006, 04:30 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 2-June 06
Member No.: 10,038



A splitter will degrade your signal, but if your getting a decent picture you should be recording the same.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psa_psa
post Jul 18 2006, 05:09 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-July 06
Member No.: 10,425



QUOTE(tripdad @ Jul 18 2006, 04:30 AM)
A splitter will degrade your signal, but if your getting a decent picture you should be recording the same.
*



probably going to try to hook everything up through the VCR and get rid of the splitter.

btw....I have a 6-7 year old RCA 35in. CRT (normal TV)

just basically trying to find out if anyone else was not happy with the recording quality of the AV700......thx....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tat2sailor
post Jul 18 2006, 08:36 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 14-November 05
Member No.: 8,533



"btw....I have a 6-7 year old RCA 35in. CRT (normal TV)"

35" TV is a problem too, with the current max recording resolution for AV700, it can best go up to 21" or 25" TV. Try your previous recordings on a smaller screen TV, there will be great difference.

Cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 11:22 PM