OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SL 5500 TCK ROM 2.0 Aplha 3 with Home on SD script
revdjenk
post Mar 22 2004, 04:35 PM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 8-December 03
Member No.: 59



Bad news on my end. My Simpletech SD does not like to be ext2 and treated as home. I get similar findings as n8a gets with his SanDisk. Oh well... just so you know, Derek, it all looks good and runs fine until you suspend!
I'll have to break down and get a Lexar! I want to run KO-PI!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
derekp
post Mar 22 2004, 04:42 PM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 153
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 1,464



Revdjenk, there's another thread around here on SD card speed, where they were talking about an alternate SD driver. It's available under the downloads section, it seems to solve a bunch of problems. Try it and let me know if it solves your problems.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
towster
post Mar 23 2004, 06:58 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-July 03
Member No.: 296



eww.. thanks for the heads up.. was just getting ready to try this kernel myself..

QUOTE
Well, as much fun as it's been to use the asyncio kernel, I just encountered a dealbreaker... at least for the present.  It seems that the asyncio kernel has affected the serial_cs.o, to the effect that I get the following messages when installing bluetooth (as usual on tkcROM):

<code snip>

Any ideas here, Derek?  I'd like to get this working, but replacing the existing driver with another copy of serial_cs.o that I have (then doing a depmod -a and modprobe) did not seem to work, so I'm off to the original tkcROM zImage for now... sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g1gsw
post Mar 24 2004, 01:05 PM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 3-August 03
Member No.: 323



I am using a sandisk sd card and the tkrom a3 with the prep-home script and it has been work great for about a week now no problems at all and witht he sd mounted via loopback I cannot really tell any difference from using main memory for /home. Thanks for a great script.

Colin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
n8a
post Mar 31 2004, 12:21 PM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Chicago, Illinois
Member No.: 1,359



QUOTE
It looks like the serial driver is compiled into the tkc kernel. When I compiled the async io kernel, I left most of the config options set to default, which ends up putting the serial driver as a module. 
I've attached the serail.o module, try insmoding this one before loading up your serial_cs.o modules and let me know if it works. 


derek,

I have the file and finally have my 5500 back in the configuration to try this out, but I'm not sure of how to insmod the serial.o file. I have copied the file to the following directory:
CODE
# pwd

/home/root/modules/2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix/pcmcia

# ls

memory_cs.o    prism2_cs.o    serial_cs.o    spectrum_cs.o

orinoco_cs.o   serial.o       sharpzdc_cs.o

#


I then did # insmod serial.o, which just returned me to the prompt. What can I do to get this to work as you explained above? Thanks in advance for the baby steps wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
agosine
post Mar 31 2004, 12:35 PM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 4-March 04
From: Toronto, Canada
Member No.: 2,156



n8a - It took me a while, but I figured it out. This is what I did:

insmod serial.o
insmod serial_cs.o

Installing serial.o first loads the symbols required to load serial_cs.o. You can do a lsmod to see what modules are installed. If everything works after this let me know. I figured out how to edit the modules file so that this loads automatically.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jscriv
post Mar 31 2004, 04:36 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 8-December 03
From: Wellington, New Zealand
Member No.: 1,084



Not sure if others have the same experience, but the my Netgear MA701 wasn't recognised by the async kernel. (cardinfo would return a result, but there was no kernel output to dmesg on card insert).

Swapped in the 'standard' kernel that ships with TKC ROM and the card works fine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
n8a
post Mar 31 2004, 06:24 PM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Chicago, Illinois
Member No.: 1,359



Thanks a ton, agosine. However, this is what I'm getting:

CODE
# ls

memory_cs.o    prism2_cs.o    serial_cs.o    spectrum_cs.o

orinoco_cs.o   serial.o       sharpzdc_cs.o

# insmod serial.o

# insmod serial_cs.o

# /etc/rc.d/init.d/bluetooth restart

Shutting down Bluetooth... Can't open RFCOMM control socket: Address family not supported by protocol

Done.

Starting Bluetooth... modprobe: line 1: Invalid dependency

       1à Bà0 â Áåõÿë

modprobe: line 1: Invalid dependency

       1à Bà0 â Áåõÿë

Can't set line discipline: Invalid argument

Can't initialize device: Invalid argument

Can't open RFCOMM control socket: Address family not supported by protocol

Done.

# /etc/rc.d/init.d/pcmcia restart

# /etc/rc.d/init.d/bluetooth restart

Shutting down Bluetooth... Can't open RFCOMM control socket: Address family not supported by protocol

Done.

Starting Bluetooth... modprobe: line 1: Invalid dependency

       1à Bà0 â Áåõÿë

modprobe: line 1: Invalid dependency

       1à Bà0 â Áåõÿë

Can't get port settings: Input/output error

Can't initialize device: Input/output error

Can't open RFCOMM control socket: Address family not supported by protocol

Done.

# lsmod

Module                  Size  Used by

serial_cs               4640   0  (unused)

serial                 25504   0  [serial_cs]

sa1100_bi              23088   0  (unused)

net_fd                 16688   1

usbdcore               22592   0  [sa1100_bi net_fd]

usbdmonitor             5488   0

devinfo                 2912   0  (unused)

sharp_mmcsd_m          27408   2

# modprobe serial

modprobe: line 1: Invalid dependency

       1à Bà0 â Áåõÿë

# modprobe serial_cs

modprobe: line 1: Invalid dependency

       1à Bà0 â Áåõÿë

#


Obviously, I don't really know what I'm doing with these modules... Time for me to try to research this more. As always, I welcome any tips! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
n8a
post Mar 31 2004, 07:10 PM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Chicago, Illinois
Member No.: 1,359



OK, so I just remembered to do a "depmod -a", and thus I no longer have the crazy modprobe results:

CODE
# depmod -a

# modprobe serial_cs

# modprobe serial

# /etc/rc.d/init.d/bluetooth restart

Shutting down Bluetooth... Can't open RFCOMM control socket: Address family not supported by protocol

Done.

Starting Bluetooth... Can't get port settings: Input/output error

Can't initialize device: Input/output error

Done.

# hciconfig

#


Still ain't working...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
agosine
post Apr 1 2004, 07:50 AM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 4-March 04
From: Toronto, Canada
Member No.: 2,156



n8a - Glad I could help a little. If I come across anything more I'll let you know.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
derekp
post Apr 1 2004, 09:34 AM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 153
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 1,464



n8a,
Here's a new copy of the async kernel.
What I did this time dump /proc/ksyms from both the standard tkcrom kernel, and the async kernel, then started tweeking the async kernel until the kernel symbols match between the two. What this has is CONFIG_SERIAL and CONFIG_SERIAL_COLLIE turned on, and CONFIG_SERIAL_8250 turned off. Also, the Aironet driver is turned on. At this point, the only apparent difference is the tkcrom kernel has two ksyms related to the Raylink driver, which I couldn't find the kernel option to turn on. I don't think that one is important.

Let me know if you have better luck with this kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
n8a
post Apr 2 2004, 10:37 AM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Chicago, Illinois
Member No.: 1,359



That did it, Derek! Very, very nice.

Well, I must say that I'm finally very happy with the state of my 5500. Thanks MUCHO. I certainly want to do some dual-booting, but man, that zImage asyncio kernel makes a HUGE speed difference compared to running home-on-sd with the -f option and the normal tkcROM zImage.

The one MAJOR remaining issue is that I have rebooted the 5500 three times, with the following results:

First time, after installing a ton of apps, the system booted to this:
I had a shell and it complained that the file system was corrupt. It then gave me these options: Enter password to repair or press Control-D. Then:
1) reboot... after which it dies and can't be started unless I flash it again
2) I get a prompt that comes up like the following
(Repair FS) #

I ended up having to pop the battery out to get it to respond… I then see the “Generating SSH Keys…” Nice! wink.gif

Second time, error messages for about 8 minutes before the startup message began…

Third time, same as the first time (again, I had installed a bunch of apps).

The good thing is that since *everything* seems to be on the SD card, once it loads up, everything is intact, including data that I’ve stored. If there is a way to remedy this unfortunate process, then this will become my hands-down favorite configuration for the 5500…
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
derekp
post Apr 2 2004, 11:20 AM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 153
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 1,464



Well, I'm glad that the new kernel is working for you. The filesystem errors you get on reboots worries me though. The only time I've come accross that is with the modified prep-home-sd.sh that is included on the tkc-2.0alpha3 rom. That version creates the /mnt/card/rc.card script with a mkswap command at the end that turns the ramdisk into a swapfile. This of course causes the ramdisk to become corrupted after heavy application usage (including installing a bunch of packages), which will cause fsck to dump out a bunch of errors.
I know that you've grabbed the newer prep-home-sd.sh script (test5) which doesn't have this issue, but just in case, double-check your rc.card file (on the root of the sd card), and if it contains a line "mkswap /dev/iramdisk" at the end of it, coment it out (along with the following swapon command).
If it isn't the mkswap issue, then I'm out of ideas, as I haven't run accross this issue otherwise. I'll be at the user-group meeting on Sunday, so I can take a look then.
--derek
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
n8a
post Apr 2 2004, 01:10 PM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Chicago, Illinois
Member No.: 1,359



hmmm... this is what I found in /home/rc.card:

CODE
cd /

umount /home

fsck -y /dev/mmcda1



# Rename the devices.  This is so the SD shows up

# as "Internal Storage" in Qtopia

mv /dev/mtdblock1 /dev/iramdisk

mv /dev/mmcda1 /dev/mmcsd1

ln -s /dev/mmcsd1 /dev/mtdblock1

mount -oasync,noatime /dev/mtdblock1 /home

mkswap /dev/iramdisk

swapon /dev/iramdisk


I just checked the version of your script that I downloaded, and it definitely ends in test5.zip. In addition, I tried to replace the script on my CF card with the script from that zip file and both files were identical down to the modified date.

So, I just comment out the last two lines and it should work fine, right? I'll give it a go. Out of curiosity, why did you turn the whole ramdisk into a swapfile, then specify a 20 MB swapfile when running the script? Or is the swapfile specification at install a new feature of the test5 version? At any rate, thanks again and I'll let you know if this solves it --
Nate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
derekp
post Apr 2 2004, 01:37 PM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 153
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 1,464



Let me back up a couple notches here :-)
I had originally put together the prep-home-sd script (and modified rc.sysinit script) without any swap file, then sent it into Proto to include in the tkcrom. Then we started going over ideas to improve it a bit. Proto thought it would be a good idea to then turn the ramdisk into a swap partition, since it was no longer being used for /home, so he added the mkswap & swapon to the end of the script and included that version in the tkcrom 2.0 alpha-3 release. However, since a fsck is run by rc.sysinit before the rc.card script is called, this would cause the fsck errors that you see.
Meanwhile, I had fallen off the face of the plannet (read: got bogged down with work). Later, I sat down a my orignial script (without the mkswap) and overhauled it (added a swap file (not a swap partition), moved some stuff around, etc). I've been waiting to here back from Proto, but I take it that it's his turn to get over-loaded with non-Zaurus activities :-).
The version of the rc.card script you posted above, is not generated by the new script but is the one generated by the (old) prep-home-sd.sh script included in the tkcrom. So, one of two possibilities: 1) you probably ran the old version of the script (the one on the tkcrom) by mistake, or 2) you ran the old version originally, and for some reason the new version didn't overwrite the rc.card that was put on the sd previously. To make sure that you are running the right version, specify the whole path of where you put it. Also, the new version has better help (the help text should pop up if you don't specify any parameters). Or, a third posibility is that I upload the wrong script. Nah, that couldn't happen :-)
Good luck,
--derek
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 12:14 AM