OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pictures Of Sl-c3100 Guts?
Capn_Fish
post Jan 28 2007, 06:41 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



I'm curious to see what the insides of my C3100 look like (and half-considering some modding), and was wondering if there are any hi-res pictures out there. If so, can anybody point me to them?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 28 2007, 09:50 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



There's some on my site.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 29 2007, 04:51 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 12:50 AM)
There's some on my site.
*

Nice! Do you have any higher-res pictures?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 29 2007, 10:26 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 29 2007, 03:51 AM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 12:50 AM)
There's some on my site.
*

Nice! Do you have any higher-res pictures?
*




Nope, the originals got lost in a drive failure. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 29 2007, 11:48 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 01:26 PM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 29 2007, 03:51 AM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 12:50 AM)
There's some on my site.
*

Nice! Do you have any higher-res pictures?
*




Nope, the originals got lost in a drive failure. sad.gif
*


Too bad, both about the pictures and the drive failure.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 29 2007, 01:23 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 29 2007, 10:48 AM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 01:26 PM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 29 2007, 03:51 AM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 12:50 AM)
There's some on my site.
*

Nice! Do you have any higher-res pictures?
*




Nope, the originals got lost in a drive failure. sad.gif
*


Too bad, both about the pictures and the drive failure.
*


Yea, it sucked. I have a backup server running now. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 30 2007, 03:17 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



How much space is there between the mainboard and the top of the case around the USB area? More to the point, is there enough room to mod in a full-sized USB port?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 31 2007, 10:07 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 30 2007, 02:17 PM)
How much space is there between the mainboard and the top of the case around the USB area? More to the point, is there enough room to mod in a full-sized USB port?
*



I don't think there's enough space.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 31 2007, 11:26 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 31 2007, 01:07 PM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 30 2007, 02:17 PM)
How much space is there between the mainboard and the top of the case around the USB area? More to the point, is there enough room to mod in a full-sized USB port?
*



I don't think there's enough space.
*


Dang! It would be awesome to mod in a full-sized port and not bother with the stupid cable.

About how much space is there?

EDIT: You are assuming that the original port would be ripped out, right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scholbert
post Feb 14 2007, 03:47 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 21-November 05
Member No.: 8,576



Hi there,

here are some links you might already know (all japanese), but maybe helpful to post them again biggrin.gif :
Zaurus internal components
C3000 internals

I also remember a page (also japanese), where a guy put a very small USB bluetooth dongle inside a C3x00.
The USB connector was unsoldered and he put it right above the NAND flash (the Samsung part) in the lower right corner (top view of PCB).
At moment i can't find the link to the page, but i will rolleyes.gif .

I also checked this area with a very small dongle and it seemed possible to put it there.

Don't forget to check out the great page from albertr!!!

Greets,

scholbert
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Feb 14 2007, 04:58 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Thanks! Those pages look great. You say there would be room for a USB dongle? Any hope for Wi-Fi? Ripping out the USB and replacing the USB port looks fairly easy, but it seems you need more than a dongle for Wi-Fi...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scholbert
post Feb 14 2007, 09:33 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 21-November 05
Member No.: 8,576



Hi Capn

QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Feb 14 2007, 01:58 PM)
Thanks! Those pages look great. You say there would be room for a USB dongle? Any hope for Wi-Fi? Ripping out the USB and replacing the USB port looks fairly easy, but it seems you need more than a dongle for Wi-Fi...
*


Not to be misunderstood, the USB connector of the stick was ripped off, not the small mini USB placed on the C3100 mainboard.

Placing a Wi-Fi stick wouldn't be that easy, it depends on the size of the module of course. In any case Bluetooth modules are smaller!
Use a USB WLAN stick, and USB interface is sufficient biggrin.gif .
Albertr managed to do so in a C1000, as you can see at his webpage.
But the C1000 devices have more space inside the case because of the missing harddisk.

Another aspect of placing additional hardware inside the case is power consumption and RF requirements.

Anyway you have to find a place inside, where RF broadcast can leave the case easily. Have a look around there are many postings about that in this forum wink.gif .

Regards

scholbert
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
louigi600
post Jul 20 2007, 04:44 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 9,928



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 31 2007, 09:26 PM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 31 2007, 01:07 PM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 30 2007, 02:17 PM)
How much space is there between the mainboard and the top of the case around the USB area? More to the point, is there enough room to mod in a full-sized USB port?

I don't think there's enough space.
*


Dang! It would be awesome to mod in a full-sized port and not bother with the stupid cable.

About how much space is there?

EDIT: You are assuming that the original port would be ripped out, right?
*


Hum ... but even if there wasenough space there is a major problem:
you loose the hardware sensing of hos/client operation.
Remember that pin 4 selects between HOST/CLIENT.
You would ither haveto hard wire one type of operation or find a free GPIO to select via software.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jul 21 2007, 01:16 PM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I thought these might be interesting - comparisons between the 1000 and 3x00

Attached File  bunkai2.jpg ( 52.48K ) Number of downloads: 62


Attached File  bunkai3.jpg ( 56.3K ) Number of downloads: 40


Attached File  bunkai22.jpg ( 29.21K ) Number of downloads: 38
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jul 21 2007, 08:25 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(louigi600 @ Jul 20 2007, 03:44 AM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 31 2007, 09:26 PM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 31 2007, 01:07 PM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 30 2007, 02:17 PM)
How much space is there between the mainboard and the top of the case around the USB area? More to the point, is there enough room to mod in a full-sized USB port?

I don't think there's enough space.
*


Dang! It would be awesome to mod in a full-sized port and not bother with the stupid cable.

About how much space is there?

EDIT: You are assuming that the original port would be ripped out, right?
*


Hum ... but even if there wasenough space there is a major problem:
you loose the hardware sensing of hos/client operation.
Remember that pin 4 selects between HOST/CLIENT.
You would ither haveto hard wire one type of operation or find a free GPIO to select via software.
*




I don't think I've ever used my Z in client mode, so host only would work just fine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2014 - 08:45 AM