OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

20 Pages V  « < 15 16 17 18 19 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A Clean, Fresh, Configured Eabi Rootfs Tarball, last updated 080416; see the first post
LinuxGadget
post Mar 30 2008, 03:21 AM
Post #241





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 21-October 07
From: Aschersleben, Germany
Member No.: 20,849



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 12:05 PM) *
...
Things already done:
...
7) Some tweaks to reduce disk writing (esp. for flash disks)


That's really great for my C1k, maybe it speeds things up a little bit?

QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 12:05 PM) *
...
Things to be done (any help greatly appreciated!):
1) bluetooth
2) WPA support
3) automount SD/CF cards


So what's up with bluetooth? Some time ago i managed to sync my phone contacts with opensync and evolution by bluetooth. Maybe i can help? wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 30 2008, 03:27 AM
Post #242





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(LinuxGadget @ Mar 30 2008, 01:21 PM) *
So what's up with bluetooth? Some time ago i managed to sync my phone contacts with opensync and evolution by bluetooth. Maybe i can help? wink.gif


Yes, Please do! Thanks! smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 30 2008, 07:07 AM
Post #243





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Want to install Debian to my internal 6GB microdrive.

So, extracted the tarball and modules file on ext3 formatted SD card using another computer. Seems OK,

Meanwhile, using fdisk I formatted my internal microdrive into 2 partitions; large ext3 partition (hda1) and a small swap partition (hda2).

Then I formatted the hda1 partition using
CODE
mke2fs -j /dev/hda1
.

So, now some questions please to help minimize my making mistakes....

1) I did not format the hda2 swap partition. Do I need to do that?

2) Do I need to mount the hda1/hda2 partitions before doing rest of install? If so, mount to?

Instructions say
QUOTE
Step 3:
Edit /etc/fstab and assign the correct mount points to the root partition and the swap partition.
The default is set to boot from the internal drive.
Just comment the lines for /dev/hdaX and uncomment the lines for /dev/mmcblk0pX if debian boots from SD.


However, I just looked at '/etc/fstab' file on SD card. It shows the following:

CODE
/dev/root          /               ext2      rw                          1  1
/dev/shm          /tmp         tmpfs    size=16M                 1  2
/dev/mmcda1   /mnt/card  auto      noauto, owner          0  0
none               /dev/pts     devpts   gid=5, modes=620   0  0



So, this is a lot different than what instructions say I'll see.....


3) Then do I need to copy over all the files from SD card to internal microdrive in order to install it there or can I install to microdrive using files on SD? What would be best way?


Appreciate all the help!

Thanks,

Mark

This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Mar 30 2008, 07:23 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 30 2008, 07:19 AM
Post #244





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



A suggestion of partitioning of microdrive: /dev/hda1 = swap partition; /dev/hda2 = root partition
Reason: swap partition is accessed faster in the beginning of the drive. (Flash disks don't seem to have this issue)

Swap partition: you have to do: mkswap /dev/hda1 (or /dev/hda2)

"Installation" of the rootfs: Just copy/extract the content of the rootfs tarball to the microdrive partition. Make sure that your kernel matches the partition. So if your rootfs is in /dev/hda1, use yonggun's hda1 kernel, and so is hda2.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 30 2008, 07:29 AM
Post #245





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



About /etc/fstab:
Change to this:
CODE
/dev/hda2    /     ext3   rw,noatime      1  1
/dev/hda1    /none  swap  sw                0  0
proc         /proc   proc  defaults         0  0
sysfs        /sys    sysfs  defaults        0  0
/dev/shm     /tmp   tmpfs  size=16M         1  2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 30 2008, 08:58 AM
Post #246





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 08:19 AM) *
A suggestion of partitioning of microdrive: /dev/hda1 = swap partition; /dev/hda2 = root partition
Reason: swap partition is accessed faster in the beginning of the drive. (Flash disks don't seem to have this issue)

Swap partition: you have to do: mkswap /dev/hda1 (or /dev/hda2)

"Installation" of the rootfs: Just copy/extract the content of the rootfs tarball to the microdrive partition. Make sure that your kernel matches the partition. So if your rootfs is in /dev/hda1, use yonggun's hda1 kernel, and so is hda2.


Thanks, ZDevil!

OK, re-did my microdrive as you suggested.... think I'm getting close now to getting install working...

Edited fstab as you suggested... (however, when I reopened fstab in vi, this time it looked like the way it was mentioned in instructions, so was OK, weird....).

When I tried to copy over tarball contents to microdrive, it couldn't do it, said there wasn't room....
Now, I realize that I made a mistake by trying to mount hda2 per criteria in fstab, as it was trying to copy file to root, but this is the small area in the linux emergency mode....

So, now, I need to mount hda2 properly to copy files over to it using cp -R /mnt/card /mnt/???

What is the right mount point for hda2 in order to be able to copy the files over it?

Do I need to do the same thing now for hda1, the swap partition??

Also, regarding yonggun's kernel, I downloaded the hda1 one and renamed it to zImage.bin as in instructions...so, the only other Sharp bootloader files on that webpage were for mmcdablk0p1 and mmcdablk0p2....none for hda2. So, is this OK to use zImage.bin that I downloaded?

Thanks,


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 30 2008, 09:06 AM
Post #247





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Follow the first post of this thread: http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25029

I made a mistake about the /etc/fstab. You don't need the line for tmpfs (i.e. the last line in my previous post).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 30 2008, 09:11 AM
Post #248





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 10:06 AM) *
Follow the first post of this thread: http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25029


I'm trying, ZDevil, I'm trying....

rolleyes.gif

But, don't I need to copy over the files from my SD card to my internal drive before flashing kernel?? Or are saying that I can install those files from SD card to microdrive during install or later??

If I need to copy files over now, then I need to know what is the proper way to mount hda2 from commant prompt...


QUOTE
I made a mistake about the /etc/fstab. You don't need the line for tmpfs (i.e. the last line in my previous post).


Oh, OK....

Thanks!

This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Mar 30 2008, 09:16 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 30 2008, 09:20 AM
Post #249





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



mkdir /mnt/cf (the name of the mount point doesn't matter)
mount -t ext3 /dev/hda2 /mnt/cf

Ready your root partition and rootfs before flashing the kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 30 2008, 10:10 AM
Post #250





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 10:20 AM) *
mkdir /mnt/cf (the name of the mount point doesn't matter)
mount -t ext3 /dev/hda2 /mnt/cf


Right, ZDevil....mounted OK now....


QUOTE
Ready your root partition and rootfs before flashing the kernel.


If by this you mean copy over the extracted tarball and module files to root level of hda2 then that is what I'm doing now on Z..... given the size of the files, I think it will take some time to complete copying all the files...

THANKS again for all your help. Truly appreciate it!!!!

biggrin.gif

UPDATE: Just tried flashing and it says error message something like :

CODE
  
Zaurus SD Updater
/mnt/card/$UPDATE_SHELL not found


So, something is not ready yet....

blink.gif





This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Mar 30 2008, 10:39 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 30 2008, 10:43 AM
Post #251





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Which partition is your rootfs in?
If it is /dev/hda1, flash the hda1 yonggun kernel.
If it is /dev/hda2, flash the hda2 yonggun kernel.
Use the "updater.sh" attached in the first post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 30 2008, 10:45 AM
Post #252





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 11:43 AM) *
Which partition is your rootfs in?
If it is /dev/hda1, flash the hda1 yonggun kernel.
If it is /dev/hda2, flash the hda2 yonggun kernel.
Use the "updater.sh" attached in the first post.


rootfs is in hda2....but as mentioned before, I didn't see any hda2 kernel on yonggun's webpage, just hda1 and the others for mmcda....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 30 2008, 10:47 AM
Post #253





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



... which link are you looking at? blink.gif

My bad!! Sorry for that. Here it is: http://yonggun.tistory.com/68

Now go correct the post ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 30 2008, 12:40 PM
Post #254





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 11:47 AM) *
... which link are you looking at? blink.gif

My bad!! Sorry for that. Here it is: http://yonggun.tistory.com/68

Now go correct the post ...


OK, no problem.... except how do I now find and erase all the modules that I already extracted so that I can replace them with the ones from the new link???

blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 30 2008, 12:46 PM
Post #255





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



You don't have to remove the older kernel modules. Just leave them there and extract the new one to the root of the root partition.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

20 Pages V  « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2014 - 08:28 AM