OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko And Pppoe
evilsocket
post Dec 25 2007, 11:28 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 17-November 07
Member No.: 20,954



Hello guys, first of all let me describe my environment ... i have a Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000 (akita), with Cacko ROM 1.23 (build 1029311005) installed, Qtopia 1.5.4 and kernel 2.4.20 .
I also have a wifi cf card perfectly configured and working ... now here's the problem .

In the newtwork configuration of Cacko (under Settings tab), i see there's the possibility to check and then configure a pppoe authentication ... well, i tried it cuz i have a wifi router that needs an pppoe session to route dsl connection to the client end point but ... it just doesn't work !
Actually, when configure the username and password, check the pppoe authentication checkbox and try to connect, the connection process starts but immediately fails with no error messages or something i could use to understand what's goin on .

For now, the only way i have to use internet connectivity from my akita, is enable forwarding in my laptop and set the default zaurus' gateway as its ip address ...


any hint ? ^^

PS : i use wep encryption
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 26 2007, 01:44 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(evilsocket @ Dec 25 2007, 07:28 PM) *
In the newtwork configuration of Cacko (under Settings tab), i see there's the possibility to check and then configure a pppoe authentication ... well, i tried it cuz i



erm, the pppoe (ppp over ethernet) is the encapsulation of the IP datagrams for passing over a (usually) DSL circuit. Your router does this for you, and will present a pure IP over ethernet to its client devices.... so, just create a plain Wifi connection on Zaurus and it "should" work. You can do WPA as well, search forum but in essence you wack "WPA=y" into /etc/pcmcia/wlan-ng.opts into appropriate section and create a /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf entry.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
evilsocket
post Dec 26 2007, 02:29 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 17-November 07
Member No.: 20,954



Man, i definetly know what pppoe is... in fact my router, require the client end point to enstabilish a pppoe connection to forward it to the web .

On my slackware linux pc, i just associate my wlan interface to the router, then use the pppoe-setup/start scripts to enstabilish the DSL connection .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 26 2007, 03:08 PM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(evilsocket @ Dec 26 2007, 10:29 PM) *
Man, i definetly know what pppoe is... in fact my router, require the client end point to enstabilish a pppoe connection to forward it to the web .

On my slackware linux pc, i just associate my wlan interface to the router, then use the pppoe-setup/start scripts to enstabilish the DSL connection .


sorry if I insulted your intelligence. Is your "router" really just a DSL modem working in bridge mode so that any connected computer has to do all the pppoe work?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
evilsocket
post Dec 26 2007, 03:34 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 17-November 07
Member No.: 20,954



QUOTE(evilsocket @ Dec 26 2007, 02:29 PM) *
Man, i definetly know what pppoe is... in fact my router, require the client end point to enstabilish a pppoe connection to forward it to the web .

On my slackware linux pc, i just associate my wlan interface to the router, then use the pppoe-setup/start scripts to enstabilish the DSL connection .


Well i kinda strange, is a router that a telephony company in my country (italy) gives within adsl line ... i think that it IS a router, but doesn't not have the ppp over ethernet encapsulation layer, so the computers, as you just said, must do all the dirty work tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2014 - 09:25 PM