OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Canon K30225 Cf Wifi, working with debian on the Z?
gojira
post May 19 2008, 12:26 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 16-January 05
Member No.: 6,248



There are some cheap Canon K30225 CF wifi cards on ebay at the moment. Anyone using one with debian? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
axeTail
post May 20 2008, 01:24 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 14-December 07
Member No.: 21,073



QUOTE(gojira @ May 19 2008, 10:26 AM) *
There are some cheap Canon K30225 CF wifi cards on ebay at the moment. Anyone using one with debian? Thanks.


I'm currently based in South Africa and cf WIFI cards are impossible to find sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
axeTail
post May 20 2008, 03:02 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 14-December 07
Member No.: 21,073



QUOTE(gojira @ May 19 2008, 10:26 AM) *
There are some cheap Canon K30225 CF wifi cards on ebay at the moment. Anyone using one with debian? Thanks.


Has anyone tried the SparkLAN WL-672 Wireless Compact Flash? Does it work?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skywarrior1
post May 21 2008, 03:50 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 21,808



Bought one last month for a 2200 series Ipaq. Came with no driver which auction said included. note that their auctions now say does NOT include CD.They did not respond to requests for drivers instead sent me to a site that had drivers for downloading which could not be uploaded into XP or Vista.
Nice card though. My 5 year old loves it for her dollhouse. Get an SDIO and pay. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kkazakov13
post May 23 2008, 05:23 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 3-December 06
Member No.: 13,063



I'm using exactly the same Canon on pdaXrom beta 3 without any problem. Worked out of the box, so I doubt you will have any problem with debian.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AltairTK
post Jun 30 2008, 01:58 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 20-March 08
From: Venice -Italy
Member No.: 21,530



QUOTE(kkazakov13 @ May 23 2008, 05:23 AM) *
I'm using exactly the same Canon on pdaXrom beta 3 without any problem. Worked out of the box, so I doubt you will have any problem with debian.

I'm using exactly the same Canon too, on Sharp Zaurus C1000 with "Andromeda" filesystem and kernel 2.6.24-4yonggun. Work perfectly and when connect it to my Z. it's autoconfigure as eth1 interface.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
same
post Sep 16 2008, 06:34 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 29-October 07
From: barcelona
Member No.: 20,873



QUOTE(AltairTK @ Jun 30 2008, 01:58 AM) *
QUOTE(kkazakov13 @ May 23 2008, 05:23 AM) *
I'm using exactly the same Canon on pdaXrom beta 3 without any problem. Worked out of the box, so I doubt you will have any problem with debian.

I'm using exactly the same Canon too, on Sharp Zaurus C1000 with "Andromeda" filesystem and kernel 2.6.24-4yonggun. Work perfectly and when connect it to my Z. it's autoconfigure as eth1 interface.


I also installed debian-andromeda, but the canon k30225 can't be detected. I see there's no hostap_cs.conf file in /etc/pcmcia (planex gw-cf11h working with andromeda and hostap)
It's being detected and working under pdaxrom

Any ideas? thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Sep 21 2008, 01:24 PM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(same @ Sep 16 2008, 03:34 PM) *
I also installed debian-andromeda, but the canon k30225 can't be detected. I see there's no hostap_cs.conf file in /etc/pcmcia (planex gw-cf11h working with andromeda


do the usual thing... "pccardctl ident" and status and inquiry etc etc, and let us know what you see. might need to do pccardctl resume before hand. (cardctl and pccardctl are equivalent commands depending on age of distro)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
same
post Sep 26 2008, 03:56 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 29-October 07
From: barcelona
Member No.: 20,873



hello,

CODE
yonggun:~# pccardctl info 1
PRODID_1="Canon"
PRODID_2="Wireless LAN CF Card K30225"
PRODID_3="Version 01.00"
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=0004,2003
FUNCID=6

yonggun:~# pccardctl status 1
  3.3V 16-bit PC Card
  Subdevice 0 (function 0) [unbound]

yonggun:~# pccardctl ident 1
  product info: "Canon", "Wireless LAN CF Card K30225", "Version 01.00", ""
  manfid: 0x0004, 0x2003
  function: 6 (network)

yonggun:~# dmesg | tail -n 2
pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 1
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia1.0


tried loads of things for days with no success, maybe I googled with wrong keywords for this issue, but no doc related or working for me. planex card is failing and need to replace it

thanks for your attention
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Sep 26 2008, 07:40 AM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149




it looks like this is a prism2 card with alternative ident... you should be able to modify your /etc/pcmcia/wlan-ng.conf (or equivalent file) to add lines like this:

card "Canon Wireless LAN CF Card K30225"
manfid 0x0004,0x2003
bind "prism2_cs"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
same
post Sep 27 2008, 03:24 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 29-October 07
From: barcelona
Member No.: 20,873



added
CODE
card "Canon Wireless LAN CF Card K30225"
manfid 0x0004,0x2003
bind "prism2_cs"

but main problem is that cant build prims2_cs with module-assistant as there's no linux headers

added
CODE
card "Canon Wireless LAN CF Card K30225"
manfid 0x0004,0x2003
bind "hostap_cs"

to /etc/pcmcia/config

added SYSFS{manf_id} and SYSFS{card_id} in /etc/udev/rules.../70-persistent-net.rules with mac and all

tried also creating a rules file in same folder with
CODE
ACTION=="add", SYSFS{manf_id}=="0x0004", SYSFS{card_id}=="0x2003", SYSFS{func_id}=="0x06", \
         RUN+="/sbin/modprobe hostap_cs ignore_cis_vcc=1"

ACTION=="add", SYSFS{manf_id}=="0x0004", SYSFS{card_id}=="0x2003", SYSFS{func_id}=="0x04", \
         OPTIONS="last_rule"


edited the udev rules generation for net disabling all ignore conditions.

added options hostap_cs ignore_cis_vcc=1 to /etc/modules and modules.conf

nothing has any minimal effect, always get the:
CODE
pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 1
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia1.0


i can't even get a debug message that shows me the next step, always the same reply no matter what i do blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
same
post Sep 27 2008, 11:03 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 29-October 07
From: barcelona
Member No.: 20,873



http://lists.infradead.org/pipermail/linux...ary/005305.html
after reading this i don't know if it's possible to bring that card up using the custom yonggun kernel

but seing the previous post from AltairTK
QUOTE
I'm using exactly the same Canon too, on Sharp Zaurus C1000 with "Andromeda" filesystem and kernel 2.6.24-4yonggun. Work perfectly and when connect it to my Z. it's autoconfigure as eth1 interface.

it's confusing, did a fresh andromeda install and nothing configured as eth1, as expected
i would like to see a lspcmcia -vvv of AltairTK's card just to check that it's not a different card


edit: i see in /hostap-driver-0.4.9/driver/modules/hostap_cs.c L:935
CODE
#if (LINUX_VERSION_CODE >= KERNEL_VERSION(2,6,13))
static struct pcmcia_device_id hostap_cs_ids[] = {
    PCMCIA_DEVICE_MANF_CARD(0x000b, 0x7100),
    PCMCIA_DEVICE_MANF_CARD(0x000b, 0x7300),
...

seems manfids are hardcoded in hostap driver?! 2or0 please rolleyes.gif
thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
same
post Dec 9 2008, 06:08 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 29-October 07
From: barcelona
Member No.: 20,873



SOLVED, hexedited hostap_cs.ko, always backup the original file first!

finally, after some time forgeting it as planex card was (half)working it forced me to start checking this ebay-Canon card again.

1) i found that the same Canon K30225 might have two different manfid:

I guess AltairTK K30225 card is
QUOTE
Identification: manf_id: 0x0156 card_id: 0x0002
function: 6 (network)
prod_id(1): "Wireless LAN" (0x4b8870ff)
prod_id(2): "11Mbps PC Card" (0x70e946d1)
prod_id(3): "Version 01.02" (0x4b74baa0)
prod_id(4): --- (---)
as seing in http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.distr...93/match=k30225

while my K30225 card is
QUOTE
product info: "Canon", "Wireless LAN CF Card K30225", "Version 01.00", ""
manfid: 0x0004, 0x2003
function: 6 (network)

hostap_cs.ko (.c with source) has
CODE
    PCMCIA_DEVICE_MANF_CARD_PROD_ID1(0x0156, 0x0002, "INTERSIL",
                     0x74c5e40d),
    PCMCIA_DEVICE_MANF_CARD_PROD_ID1(0x0156, 0x0002, "Intersil",
                     0x4b801a17),

and might detect AltairTK's card, but hasn't 0x0004, 0x2003 (my K30225) anywhere in source file
2) forcing the detection of my card hexediting /lib/modules/(...)/wireles/hostap/hostap_cs.ko
* i first searched for the (text) string "m000Bc7100" and changed it to "m0004c2003"
* then searched for the hex string "0B 00 00 71" and changed it to "04 00 03 20".

got the idea from here: http://sin613.blogspot.com/2007/02/i-win.html

modified hostap_cs.ko attached: dload and untar it in the /lib/modules/(...)/net/wireles/hostap/ folder
Attached File(s)
Attached File  hostap_cs.ko.tar ( 70K ) Number of downloads: 4
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 10 2008, 12:19 PM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



well done, your persistence has paid off

I am reminded of how people discovered that the original (cheaper) Orinoco silver cards (40 bit wep) were identical to the more expensive Orinoco gold cards (full 128 bit wep), with only a different ident, so that the driver refused to use a larger key. People were able to hack the windows driver, and then someone hacked the firmware updater which allowed you to turn a silver into a gold!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AltairTK
post Dec 11 2008, 01:44 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 20-March 08
From: Venice -Italy
Member No.: 21,530



Hi,
my wireless-cfcard work perfectly if i used a no-protected wifi connection (i have not tested with WEP encryption) because when i plugged in automatically load the orinoco driver.
If i insert Orinoco in blacklist and manually modprobe hostap my card is recognised as pcmcia but no network adapter is added (eth1, wlan0 ecc...)

-- For Same --
this is my output of dmesg when i plugged the card:

pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 0
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0
pcmcia: request for exclusive IRQ could not be fulfilled.
pcmcia: the driver needs updating to supported shared IRQ lines.
eth0: Hardware identity 801b:0000:0001:0000
eth0: Station identity 001f:0004:0001:0008
eth0: Firmware determined as Intersil 1.8.4
eth0: Ad-hoc demo mode supported
eth0: IEEE standard IBSS ad-hoc mode supported
eth0: WEP supported, 104-bit key
eth0: MAC address 00:00:85:31:e2:33
eth0: Station name "Prism I"
eth0: ready
eth0: orinoco_cs at 0.0, irq 169, io 0xc4820000-0xc482003f
udev: renamed network interface eth0 to eth1


and the output of lspcmcia & pccardctl:


yonggun:/sbin# pccardctl ls
Socket 0 Bridge: [pxa2xx-pcmcia] (bus ID: pxa2xx-pcmcia)
Socket 0 Device 0: [orinoco_cs] (bus ID: 0.0)

yonggun:/sbin# pccardctl info
PRODID_1="Wireless LAN"
PRODID_2="11Mbps PC Card"
PRODID_3="Version 01.02"
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=0156,0002
FUNCID=6

yonggun:/sbin# pccardctl ident
Socket 0:
product info: "Wireless LAN", "11Mbps PC Card", "Version 01.02", ""
manfid: 0x0156, 0x0002
function: 6 (network)


-------

With orinoco drivers i have some problems with my Router and wpa encryption. I think it's not supported ( eth0: WEP supported, 104-bit key );
when i launch wpa_supplicant, iwlist, wpa_gui and wifi-radar detect my network but the led of connection is not fixed and wpa_supplicant enter in a continuous scan loop (i try wext and wired drivers).
Now I try to make the change, suggested by Same, in the configuration file of pcmcia card and to udev for (i hope) use HostAP instead of Orinoco.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th September 2014 - 08:03 AM