OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Angstrom + E-wm On Tosa, almost there?
undrwater
post Jan 8 2009, 10:33 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



With help from Dmitri and others working on the kernel for the Tosa on Angstrom, things are starting to get interesting again!

I decided I'd like to start to play again. I was able to get e-wm installed and it even starts up to the point where the language is asked for, but can get no further.

First thing: there is no language selectable on that screen...not sure if that even matters.

The killer: the screen is not registering touches...nor do any of the buttons or keys seem to do any selecting of items on the screen.

I've got tslib installed, but I'm wondering if there's anywhere these things get logged. Can't find anything pertinent in dmesg.

CODE
tmio-nand tmio-nand: timeout waiting for interrupt


Don't think that's anything...

If anyone has any pointers on where to start looking, I'd appreciate it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jan 15 2009, 12:36 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



What about running strace? I am not sure if it's appropriate for what you are doing, but if this is something that can be started from command line, you could see what went wrong with it by using strace.

syntax to put the output on file called /mnt/card/STRACEOUTPUT would be:

strace -f -v -s 100 -o /mnt/card/STRACEOUTPUT e-wm &

Output can be huge, and this might be a crazy suggestion if you can't start e-wm from command line, but what the heck.

Output can also be a challenge to decipher, you can check man page on it and also the "-s 100" can be changed to ask for more or less characters per string output for each line. "-s 60" is more standard but I've found it isn't always long enough if something important gets cut off.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Jan 15 2009, 08:58 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



Thanks, I'll try that this weekend. I can start e from the CLI...even via ssh...so I should have no problem getting some kind of output. one thing I didn't try is to do something like
CODE
cat /dev/input/event0

while e is running. I did something like that before starting X, and got a response.

My guess is that e is not picking up any input from the device...so something is either missing or broken. Nothing obvious during the startup of e.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jan 18 2009, 01:09 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Also, I don't know if this will be relevant, but sometimes I can't get apps to raise properly unless I go through qtopia to start them, the ones not tweaked specifically for this ROM.

If you have qcop on board, you can do that with something like:

qcop QPE/Application/COMMAND 'raise()'

Another way to watch what is happening, if qtopia is involved, is with qcoptest. It's another possible tool that can help you figure out the right qcop parameters to use. My qcoptest page, with limited discussion and links to the IPK (not specific for Tosa, I think I am using the one from my Collie) is at http://sdjf.esmartdesign.com/ipks/qcoptest.html

But I would not do strace at the same time...this is just another different approach.
sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 11:27 AM