OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Arm Architecture, ARM+ consequences
masanasj
post Jan 18 2010, 12:05 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-January 10
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 59,091



Which are the direct consequences that the Netwalker have an architecture ARM, without tecnic words, in simple words for common users?
On not having Bios Set up, wow is possible to control the start of Netwalker?

Is ARM one problem to usual programs like skype or update to ubuntu 9.10 (karmic)?

See you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merlin1
post Jan 18 2010, 12:20 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 15-December 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 56,976



By consequences I assume you mean disadvantages...?

Some I can see:

- not all "common" apps are available e.g. Flash and Java can be problematic (but are fortunately available)
- browser plugins may not be available (can't think of any right now though)
- inability to run Windows and assorted apps, only disadvantageous to some...
- only a few Linux distros have ARM ports, fewer have mature ARM ports
- performance is lower than e.g. Atom's (but power usage and efficiency is much better)

There may be other advantages, but those I can think of.

As for a "BIOS" as in what is found on PCs, you do not need that on RISC devices. You can change the boot device to the microSD card (primarily used to recover), that's about it.

The ARM architecture is not an issue when upgrading to 9.10 as it is almost fully available for ARM as well. As you said upgrading failed there must be an issue preventing this but it's not the fact the Netwalker is ARM-based itself. Genesi's Efika MX smarttop has similar hardware and runs 9.10 fine.

It may be helpful to, sort of, see the Netwalker as a high-end smartphone (in terms of hardware similarity) minus phone/3G functionality (out of the box) plus keyboard, mouse and, most importantly, a proper desktop OS. You shouldn't compare it to a standard PC/laptop/netbook.

Just my $0.02.

PS: I noticed you PM'd me at Pocketables forum - I don't visit that anymore so in case you want to contact me, do it here smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jan 18 2010, 01:59 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



As merlin1, did a good job of answering your question, I will just say the following to you:

Welcome to the Netwalker Club, masanasj!

Thanks for posting here....

Look forward to further discussion with you about this fun little device....

smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
masanasj
post Jan 19 2010, 11:42 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-January 10
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 59,091



I'm very happy to contact both (Merlin1 & ArchiMarK) rolleyes.gif a few days ago i can't post here.

Well, Merlin you says that:

"you do not need that on RISC devices. You can change the boot device, that's about it. " ... how I can restart Netwalker in an USB stik?

"see the Netwalker as a high-end smartphone"..... well Merlin1, is a too expensive Smartphone, and i can't call with him, i can't install iven one Skype ?

To one and another (Merlin1 & ArchiMarK) , thaks for your atention.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merlin1
post Jan 19 2010, 01:12 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 15-December 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 56,976



QUOTE(masanasj @ Jan 19 2010, 08:42 PM) *
how I can restart Netwalker in an USB stik?

well Merlin1, is a too expensive Smartphone, and i can't call with him, i can't install iven one Skype ?

You're welcome smile.gif

1. There's no official way I know of to boot the Netwalker from an USB device. It boots from the internal flash, or from the microSD card if both mouse buttons are pressed at power on. There's a "switch block" in the device supposedly meant to select other boot devices including USB, but the switches are not connected so inaccessible to the user. Here you can see what I mean: http://hitaki.net/diary/images/netwalker_an12.jpg

2. It should be possible to make/receive VoIP calls. As Skype doesn't work*, you may want to try Ekiga (http://ekiga.org/). I haven't looked into any of those though so don't know if they work (well).

*The main reason for this is the developer hasn't yet released a version for standard Linux on ARM and as there's no source code, others' chances to port it are low. There is a Linux/ARM version but it is meant to run on Nokia Internet Tablets and quite old. Unlikely to work on Netwalker. So unless the developer decides to release a version of Skype for Linux on ARM (possible considering the anticipated number of smartbooks), you're out of luck.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
masanasj
post Jan 20 2010, 01:59 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-January 10
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 59,091



QUOTE(merlin1 @ Jan 19 2010, 10:12 PM) *
QUOTE(masanasj @ Jan 19 2010, 08:42 PM) *
how I can restart Netwalker in an USB stik?

well Merlin1, is a too expensive Smartphone, and i can't call with him, i can't install iven one Skype ?

You're welcome smile.gif

1. There's no official way I know of to boot the Netwalker from an USB device. It boots from the internal flash, or from the microSD card if both mouse buttons are pressed at power on. There's a "switch block" in the device supposedly meant to select other boot devices including USB, but the switches are not connected so inaccessible to the user. Here you can see what I mean: http://hitaki.net/diary/images/netwalker_an12.jpg

2. It should be possible to make/receive VoIP calls. As Skype doesn't work*, you may want to try Ekiga (http://ekiga.org/). I haven't looked into any of those though so don't know if they work (well).

*The main reason for this is the developer hasn't yet released a version for standard Linux on ARM and as there's no source code, others' chances to port it are low. There is a Linux/ARM version but it is meant to run on Nokia Internet Tablets and quite old. Unlikely to work on Netwalker. So unless the developer decides to release a version of Skype for Linux on ARM (possible considering the anticipated number of smartbooks), you're out of luck.




All of you are a fountain of sapience, you surprise me every day.

If you see, the boot is very complicated, if you want to touch, you have to open netwalker as your own risk. mad.gif
I will try Erika, and will explain here wow it woroks.

The developers hasn't yet reased a version for linux, but in that way .... fo ARM .... never.
IA litle detail... in the box of sharp netwalker, when you buy, they write : SHARP...mobile internet tool wink.gif . They forget to write: for some somethinks, not for all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
masanasj
post Jan 20 2010, 02:20 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-January 10
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 59,091



Can you explain why "GPARTED" do not work in Netwlker? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merlin1
post Jan 20 2010, 01:10 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 15-December 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 56,976



QUOTE("masanasj)
Can you explain why "GPARTED" do not work in Netwlker?

What are you trying to do with it, partition the internal 4GB flash? Unfortunately, that's not going to work - we have two separate 2GB chips in there and there's a big ubifs volume spanned over them. No way to repartition the flash yet I'm afraid.


QUOTE("masanasj")
If you see, the boot is very complicated, if you want to touch, you have to open netwalker as your own risk.

Sorry, I don't understand. Are you not happy with what the device offers in terms of boot device selection? If you want to boot from USB to run other operating systems on the Netwalker, you can just as easily boot from a prepared microSD card - the steps are essentially the same.

QUOTE("masanasj")
The developers hasn't yet reased a version for linux, but in that way .... fo ARM .... never.
IA litle detail... in the box of sharp netwalker, when you buy, they write : SHARP...mobile internet tool . They forget to write: for some somethinks, not for all.

I don't quite understand your first sentence. There may be a Skype version for Linux/ARM because of the anticipated smartbooks, in fact, I believe we'll see a Skype version for those someday. The Netwalker is just the first device of this (or a similar) type, so early adopters have to cope with missing software etc. As for Sharp not writing what the Netwalker isn't:

1. This is marketing. It doesn't have to be 100% true. smile.gif If you were going to sell a device you certainly wouldn't tell customers what it can't do.
2. "Internet" can mean many things - browsing, mail, flash, media etc. The Netwalker does everything I do on the internet just fine so it is a "mobile internet tool" to me. If you want it to do something it can't do (yet) then this is sad but it's not Sharp's fault. They never said Skype runs on it.

I hope you don't misunderstand - I'm not trying to have a go at you or defend the Netwalker. But as of now, if you really need a device this small and light with the ability to run full-blown Skype you might want something like the UMID mbook M1 or BZ etc. using an Atom/x86 CPU so there are no problems running any existing software.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pdahero
post Jan 26 2010, 10:26 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-December 06
From: Japan
Member No.: 13,435



I couldn't get MAME to compile on the Netwalker sad.gif

I have a feeling it wouldn't be very fast, however. Stella (Atari 2600) and some NES emulator don't run all that well. Turning off the sound increases speed.

I also couldn't get GoogleEarth to work (even after following an online guide.) Anyone else gotten it up and running? Without 3D it would be a bear, but I'd still like to try.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gojira
post Jan 27 2010, 06:24 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 16-January 05
Member No.: 6,248



QUOTE(merlin1 @ Jan 21 2010, 08:10 AM) *
What are you trying to do with it, partition the internal 4GB flash? Unfortunately, that's not going to work - we have two separate 2GB chips in there and there's a big ubifs volume spanned over them. No way to repartition the flash yet I'm afraid.

ubimkvol

http://www.linux-mtd.infradead.org/doc/ubi.html

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
XE1UFO
post Feb 18 2010, 08:04 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-January 10
From: San Juan del Río, Querétaro, Mexico
Member No.: 60,003



I also installed Gparted, thinking to add a Swap file to 16Gb microSDHC card. Gpated installed, but showed no drives whatsoever. I even plugged in an external hard drive, which showed up quickly on the desktop. I refreshed Gparted's devices, but still no drives of any kind.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merlin1
post Feb 19 2010, 05:37 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 15-December 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 56,976



QUOTE(XE1UFO @ Feb 19 2010, 05:04 AM) *
I also installed Gparted, thinking to add a Swap file to 16Gb microSDHC card. Gpated installed, but showed no drives whatsoever. I even plugged in an external hard drive, which showed up quickly on the desktop. I refreshed Gparted's devices, but still no drives of any kind.

Did you run gparted as root?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
XE1UFO
post Mar 17 2010, 08:18 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-January 10
From: San Juan del Río, Querétaro, Mexico
Member No.: 60,003



QUOTE(merlin1 @ Feb 19 2010, 07:37 AM) *
QUOTE(XE1UFO @ Feb 19 2010, 05:04 AM) *
I also installed Gparted, thinking to add a Swap file to 16Gb microSDHC card. Gpated installed, but showed no drives whatsoever. I even plugged in an external hard drive, which showed up quickly on the desktop. I refreshed Gparted's devices, but still no drives of any kind.

Did you run gparted as root?


Yes, I tried to run it as "Root".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
masanasj
post Mar 18 2010, 01:38 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-January 10
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 59,091



QUOTE(XE1UFO @ Mar 18 2010, 05:18 AM) *
QUOTE(merlin1 @ Feb 19 2010, 07:37 AM) *
QUOTE(XE1UFO @ Feb 19 2010, 05:04 AM) *
I also installed Gparted, thinking to add a Swap file to 16Gb microSDHC card. Gpated installed, but showed no drives whatsoever. I even plugged in an external hard drive, which showed up quickly on the desktop. I refreshed Gparted's devices, but still no drives of any kind.

Did you run gparted as root?


Yes, I tried to run it as "Root".


Do not use gparted, it doesnt run, i have to install, all again.
Its the pleasure of ARM tecnology. I have may problems mad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merlin1
post Mar 18 2010, 01:50 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 15-December 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 56,976



QUOTE(XE1UFO @ Mar 18 2010, 05:18 AM) *
QUOTE(merlin1 @ Feb 19 2010, 07:37 AM) *
QUOTE(XE1UFO @ Feb 19 2010, 05:04 AM) *
I also installed Gparted, thinking to add a Swap file to 16Gb microSDHC card. Gpated installed, but showed no drives whatsoever. I even plugged in an external hard drive, which showed up quickly on the desktop. I refreshed Gparted's devices, but still no drives of any kind.

Did you run gparted as root?


Yes, I tried to run it as "Root".

Sorry but I have no idea what causes gparted to not run. Adding a swap file on the microSD can be done as outlined there: http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?s=&...st&p=183783 No need for gparted then smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 04:31 PM