OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I guess I'm the first on ZUG to have a SL-6000L
v8esprit
post Mar 28 2004, 11:45 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



I posted pics of the USB port. I sort of hope mine is busted. That connector should be Universal, as in USB. It would really be great to plug things into it, like an external HD as I mentioned earlier. The pics can be found at:

http://www.profitsource.us/zaurus/usb.zip

So I suppose I'll be sitting tight with the Sharp ROM for a while then...until the OZ guys get around to porting it. That's too bad...but it could take the sting out of an RMA. I'm just hoping that more people jump on board so that we can see what's going on. I also remember someone once saying that one of the benefits of a 6000 was to plug it into a PC by USB would show up on the PC as a hd. Well, that hasn't happened for me yet. I have used the included util on the CD but the files transfer like it was on a serial cable. I also notice that even changing directories take a long time through that program.

I've been installing programs from the SHARP website. I installed a couple without incident, but I found that the BilliardsZ game once froze it up to the point that I had to reboot. The filemanager and the file browsers that is part of the rom love to help me create new directories but fail to help me in deleting them. I got to go into terminal and rmdir there.

I'm going to reboot it and get that dmesg for Mickeyl. For rebooting, I close all my programs and then turn off the unit, then hit the reset button, and then it boots. Is this the correct procedure?

Today I'll get out and get a trendnet (?) 10/100 cf card. I'm also really interested in the Targus Universal kb. Everyone says the network card will work without drivers but there is a driver for the keyboard. Its an .ipk file if I recall correctly and all those have been working for me. So I'll probably go ahead with it if I can find it. This is all getting quite a bit expensive, but I know I'm going to really get the use out of it. I used to have the Hp48S and GX calculators and I would write lots of programs on it. Clearly it was Linux that drew me to this PDA, but the fact that it benefits from the latest in technology over whatever those WinCE PDA’s have is just great. I’m happy with it, I just want my USB to work and I’d like to get OZ working.

tumnus, Is it correct from your signature that you have installed Suse 9.0 on your PDA? Holy cow…that would be awesome. I’d love to install Mandrake 10 Community on mine. But the sheer size of those distributions I feel might cause some problems. Anyway, if its true that you installed Suse on your PDA, can you direct me to some resources on the web or from yourself on how to accomplish that.

The USB socket is Mini-USB and it looks just fine. My male connector is lodged a bit up close to the top of the socket. I’ve tried to gently move it down, but it keeps its original position. Take a look at my pics. I’m sure you’ll say, it should fit just fine. Which leads me to think that it should. But trust me guys, I have done everything from easing it in from direct directions and lining it up for a straight in approach. Everything else can plug into that rear connector on the docking station from the supplied SHARP cable to the cable that came with my camera.

I want it to work, so I’m willing to RMA for this reason. Check the pics yourself.

-Lox
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
metal9966
post Mar 28 2004, 12:24 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 11-November 03
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 898



also about your USB problem, you need an adapter, see this:

http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/u...lp=ja_en&tt=url

He seemed to notice the same thing. He calls it a mini A connecter, or there is a way to shave off the mini b connecter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Mar 28 2004, 12:42 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



QUOTE
tumnus, Is it correct from your signature that you have installed Suse 9.0 on your PDA?  Holy cow…that would be awesome.  I’d love to install Mandrake 10 Community on mine.  But the sheer size of those distributions I feel might cause some problems.  Anyway, if its true that you installed Suse on your PDA, can you direct me to some resources on the web or from yourself on how to accomplish that.

lol, no. That's what I have on my PC. Most posters find it a good practice to put your completely setup in your sig, so that when you are reporting problems, it's easy to look at what you have since all those things can affect your problem.

As for the USB connector, there are many different USB connectors. I have seen at least 4 different connectors/sockets from the standard one you normally get on PCs.

The Billiardz game was never finished and seems to cause lockups on many Z models. Shame really.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
metal9966
post Mar 28 2004, 12:48 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 11-November 03
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 898



see this thread: http://www.zaurususergroup.com/index.php?n...iewtopic&t=2887
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
v8esprit
post Mar 28 2004, 02:25 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



Been looking up Mini-A to Mini-B cables.

Maybe I should also be looking for Mini-A to standard USB. But like all sockets, there is a male and female and I'd hate to get the oppoisite. On these websites, they don't mention what they have. I'm going on the presumption that the host is male and the client is female.

Check out these sites:

http://www.qvs.com/usb/usb2_cables.asp
http://www.qvs.com/usb/cables.asp 1.1 compliant
http://www.controlcable.com/details/item.a...6694%7C60864%7C
http://www.controlcable.com/details/item.a...6694%7C60862%7C
Tones of helpful information on the spec:
http://www.semiconductors.philips.com/acro...97/75009316.pdf

Check this:
The OTG supplement adds the mini-A connector pair and the mini-AB receptacle only (no plug). The mini-A and mini-B plugs are keyed so that they can only accept their corresponding receptacles, while the mini-AB receptacle can accept either a mini-A or mini-B plug. OTG also defines two new cables to connect the B-types to the new mini-A. The mini-A receptacle is defined for use in adaptor cables only but could find a niche in small form-factor computers, such as pocket PCs, that may be USB hosts but not adopt OTG.
read more: http://www.commsdesign.com/showArticle.jht...icleID=16500862

Technical diagrams:
http://www.usb.org/developers/onthego/lond..._mechanical.pdf

Which cable should I get so that I could connect it to other devices. Would I want to get a Mini-A female -> flat rectangle USB male AND/OR a Mini-A female -> Mini-B Male?

-------------------
The next important topic will be the Expansion card. This guy had much better photos than I did. Check it:
http://www.skill-engineering.com/zaurus/im...00/rimg0166.jpg

Has anyone seen anything in Japan (or the states for that matter) that will fit in here?

I'll be getting the 10/100 card so I won't be able to fit a CF Flash Drive or that 4GB beauty in there. It is something I'd certainly buy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joshp
post Mar 28 2004, 02:47 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 15-February 04
From: The Chicago land area ,Illinois, USA
Member No.: 1,875



Ok, so what can you connect to the sl-6000 through usb. Can you connect things sauch as usb keyboards,printers and so forth.

JP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dahukanna
post Mar 28 2004, 03:15 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 12-January 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,417



Has anyone tried the SL6000 software on the SL-C7x0 ? It seems that a quick and easy way to get english software for the Sharp ROM . Or is this way off ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWily
post Mar 28 2004, 03:40 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 21-February 04
From: Raleigh, North Carolina
Member No.: 1,939



Where did you buy it from? Amazon is the only place I've seen selling them yet and they won't have it till mid week.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
v8esprit
post Mar 28 2004, 09:33 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



pcconection.com

I'd sure like to try to connect an external 200gb hd to my zaurus if this USB thing works out.

I went to frys today and I got a wireless firewall and a netgear WG511 pcmcia card for my Sager 8890 laptop. Opera displays this website perfectly, as I am writing this article on my SL-6000. I can tell I'm gonna have alot of fun with this device. Can someone provide my with ~35mb of http space to host the contents of the zaurus cd? If no one comes forward and you really want it, give me an ftp server and I'll put it for you.

Someone has sent me software to QA for them on my Zaurus. If you have software that you want qualified, I'd be happy to. My email address is v8esprit@yahoo.com

-Lox
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chyang
post Mar 28 2004, 10:32 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-June 03
From: Beijing,China
Member No.: 156



According to the Japan price web page:
http://www.kakaku.com/sku/price/003030.htm
W version does exist. :-)
Also I read the specification before and remembered that
it has only one CF expansion slot while can add one extra CF jacket, Then it can totally have 2 CF slots.
:-)
I also found that some Japan guys site on SL-6000, wish there's something useful for you.smile.gif
Japan SL-6000 page

QUOTE
I got it.  Its in my hot little hand.  I got lots of information for the list to read and I'll take a ton of high res pics of it.  I'll also post all the docs and drivers on the CD.  There is a little bomb I'll drop right now before I go off to a party....

I know there are a lot of people who are looking to buy the Sl-6000 with the Wireless and Bluetooth.  Well, the manual and the CD that I got is for the SL-6000N/Sl-6000L.  There is nothing anyware that mentions the Sl-6000W.  So that might shed light on the fact that its really not ready since the docs aren't even ready for it.  Some might say that the "W" version is significantly different to justify its own manual and CD, you might be right.  But it seems like its not ready for primetime. 

I did get a bunch of Quick start guides and a fold out map of what the buttons do and what not.  This implies to me that its a consumer product.  Probably no serious advertising, but it definately is provided in its box as a product for any Tom, Dick, and Harry.

-Lox
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chyang
post Mar 29 2004, 05:12 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-June 03
From: Beijing,China
Member No.: 156



Found SL-6000L on Amazon:
Sharp Zaurus SL-6000L 699.99$ with built-in WIFI biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
elvis
post Mar 29 2004, 08:55 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 19-January 04
Member No.: 1,482



$700! That is a little expensive. I think I will wait till the price drops < $500. I wonder if Sharp will ever bring back DevNet and hopefully release a new ROM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_tapjpa_*
post Mar 29 2004, 09:27 AM
Post #28





Guests






QUOTE
Can someone provide my with ~35mb of http space to host the contents of the zaurus cd?  If no one comes forward and you really want it, give me an ftp server and I'll put it for you.


Try asking offroadgeek if he can post the cd up on the ZUG downloads for you.

Jim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
inwaiting
post Apr 1 2004, 06:49 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 30-March 04
Member No.: 2,559



So how does one get access to the terminal command prompt on this thing (New to zaurus, not to linux) ?
Also ... v8esprit, any luck hunting down usb type A mini to type A regular cables (that's what's required) ? Also need a 2.5mm to 3.5mm adaptor for the headphones
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
v8esprit
post Apr 2 2004, 11:37 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



On the CD, there is a folder with about 5 or six .ipk files. One is the terminal program. That's key. The other is the filemanager. I can't live without those two. Once you install the terminal program, be sure to run it once. Select the font size and the color combo you like. Then go search for the file: opie-embeddedkonsole_1.5.9-2_arm.ipk This program allows you to open multiple consoles and its much more robust that the Sharp Term...but it requires the Sharp term. After you install it, the Sharp Term will be replaced with Konsole. You will also want to install the OpenSSH server on it. I do this because I'm finding it more and more tedius trying to navigate locally on the device. But must say, that the options of input are so many. I really like it. I wish there was a cut/copy/paste dedicated buttons for the device because they save so much time.

For all you guys, help me out with this. When running as 'zaurus' user. You know $ prompt. I have command completion, meaning that I can press TAB to complete my command. Like I type cd D <TAB> I'll get cd Documents
But when I 'su -' into root, root doesn't have command completion. This REALLY BUGS. How do I add this functionality. I didn't see anything in the .profile file.

As for the USB connectors...I haven't investigated it further. I put all the links up there for some expert to determine what was required. I know that was lazy of me. Once I purchased the connector, I'd have to go out and purchase the ext hard drive. I don't have any USB devices to connect...save the cable to the PC and the digital camera. I will order the Trendnet 10/100 CF card. I simply have to have it for work. I'm a network security QA engineer. I have all these Pix firewalls that I need to do VPN interoperability with. Sometimes I just need to slap a host behind them to verify the VPN is up and functioning correctly. I can put the Zaurus behind it and run an ftp and a ping through it.

Ok that's it for an update. I don't like that 2.5mm -> 3.5mm hassle, that's for sure. Oh well. I wouldn't want my Zaurus any bigger.

-Lox
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 11:07 PM