OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kismet on the 6000
Tehas
post Dec 18 2004, 12:58 PM
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 6-November 03
From: Harrisburg PA
Member No.: 867



I got it working thanks to the HowTo. One weird thing, I use the gui on my SL5600 and it starts up my wifi card automagically, I wonder why the 6K doesn't?

I was able to start up a non-gui kismet session from the konsole and then it does play sounds.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nilch
post Dec 20 2004, 01:44 PM
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



QUOTE(DrWily @ Dec 3 2004, 01:38 PM)
Does anyone else's Zaurus lock up after running Kismet for so long? I have to yank out my battery to reboot it and I can see it getting slower as kismet runs.

I followed the instructions too and now have Kismet running.

But sadly, after finding a few networks, it just freezes up the whole Z.
I have to do a reset - the <Power> <Rec> button and reset switch on the back .

(BTW) how do we do a soft reset on the 6000L ?

I dont know why kismet is hanging up as of yet ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
soundwave106
post Dec 20 2004, 07:32 PM
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,667



I've gotten that Kismet freeze occasionally, but only a soft reset (Reset button on the back only) seemed to work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chimpsky
post Jan 8 2005, 09:02 PM
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 6,160



I think I have everything set up right... I can run kismet from the terminal or with GUI without any problems, however, It doesnt pick up any APs. I have my home AP broadcasting and it doesnt see it. What is causing this? Is there a setting in the kismet.conf file that i need to change?

thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 8 2005, 09:43 PM
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



From the how-to.

6) vi /home/root/usr/local/etc/kismet.conf to enable source=prism2,wlan0,prism2source. You may also want to turn off GPS support (unless you have one).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chimpsky
post Jan 8 2005, 11:45 PM
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 6,160



I followed the howto, but now I have a new problem: When I try to start kismet from the terminal I get a fatal error: Source 0 (prism2source): Pcap support was not compiled in.
I have a sl-6000L with the original rom installed, using the internal wireless. I have gone through the process a few times (uninstall and reinstall etc.) but this error is persistent. I assume this error is a result of the pcap ipk should I try a different version?

I appreciate your help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tehas
post Jan 9 2005, 07:53 AM
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 6-November 03
From: Harrisburg PA
Member No.: 867



Kismet is hit or miss on my box sometimes it finds stuff and other times it does not. The other day I was running it on my 6000 & my 5600 on the way to work. The 5600 found 20+ networks and the 6000 found 1. The 6000 didn't even report finding the 5600.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
soundwave106
post Jan 9 2005, 01:21 PM
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,667



I wonder if there's a way to increase the SL-6000L's antenna strength? I've noticed its personally not the strongest around...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rmako
post Jan 12 2005, 10:43 AM
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 10-December 04
Member No.: 5,873



QUOTE
I wonder if there's a way to increase the SL-6000L's antenna strength? I've noticed its personally not the strongest around...


Problem is that it is an internal antenna. Works fine around the house but not the best for long range.

I know there are a few folks who have taken their 6000s apart. Any ideas for a better antenna setup?

Bob Makowsky

bump+
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
celtron
post Jan 17 2005, 11:32 PM
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 23-December 04
From: 3rd R0ck from th3 5un
Member No.: 6,010



Sure thing! However, bearing in mind the chassis-fit and portability of the device on the Z6K, it wouldn't look too pretty but definitely a signal-puller monster once you have this setup like what David did :
http://www.biancorama.com/zaurus-sec/zauru...enna_howto.html

I've ordered my set and got the same 12dBi Yagi but didn't realize that it was so HUGE! Also remember to get a second battery pack as wi-fi sucks up lotsa juice!

Have fun!
/celtron


QUOTE(rmako @ Jan 12 2005, 06:43 PM)
QUOTE
I wonder if there's a way to increase the SL-6000L's antenna strength? I've noticed its personally not the strongest around...


Problem is that it is an internal antenna. Works fine around the house but not the best for long range.

I know there are a few folks who have taken their 6000s apart. Any ideas for a better antenna setup?

Bob Makowsky

bump+
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
range
post Jan 19 2005, 02:29 PM
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-January 05
Member No.: 6,184



I have not tried kismet yet, but intend to shortly.

Some people have complained that, over time, kismet
will cause the 6000 to freeze. I saw a note saying
one should run "kismet -n" to prevent large log files.
I wonder if it is the case that those people who had
thier 6000 freeze did not do this, and thus the log
file got too big, causing the 6000 to freeze.
If the log file is created in the flash memory area
this seems like this could be the problem.

just a thought
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
inode0
post Jan 19 2005, 03:55 PM
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 15-December 04
Member No.: 5,933



I write the log files to the SD card and have not had any freezes since moving them there.

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jan 21 2005, 02:04 PM
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



Really odd. All the kismet .ipks are giving me hassle when installing.

I get the messgae ".ipk says something went wrong. Sorry." when trying to install lipcap.7.2, kismet-qt and kismet 3.0.1c. to any media, interal or external. And I know it's not a bug with Add/Remove because I've installed other apps before and after.

What gives? Anyone else having this same trouble?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jan 22 2005, 07:50 AM
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



QUOTE(eji @ Jan 21 2005, 10:04 PM)
Really odd. All the kismet .ipks are giving me hassle when installing.


I never did figure out why the .ipks weren't installing. I just tapped on them repeatedly from both network feeds and the Install Files folder and after a while they suddenly installed. Forget skill and know-how. What it takes is persistence.

I had to edit the .conf file in BBEdit (copy, edit, paste, delete, rename) but now Kismet is working like it should. Found my internet sharing address on my iBook.

Thanks, everyone, for figuring all this out so all I had to do was follow directions and wrestle with my own ignorance.

One remaining question, though: Does Kismet automatically join the networks it finds, or does the user have to do that manually through the Network app?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tehas
post Jan 22 2005, 11:16 AM
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 6-November 03
From: Harrisburg PA
Member No.: 867



Kismet only scans. There was a package someone put toghether called SLAPASS Simple Linux Access Port Associator the I think was designed to scan and then associate with a network. I tried it on my 5600 but never got it working. Have not tried it on my 6000.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

8 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2014 - 08:08 AM