OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

11 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 10 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko Kernel For Sl-5500/5000d
JoP
post Apr 30 2005, 06:13 AM
Post #106





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Grau de Castelló - Spain
Member No.: 6,093



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Mar 26 2005, 09:49 PM)
QUOTE(technojunkie @ Mar 26 2005, 03:42 PM)
and I am now experiencing the infamous blinking battery light issue. 
*

I guess this issue is now dead in the water, with all the focus on the newer cacko updates going on.
I was hoping it might get fixed.
Oh, well... blink.gif
*


Hi all,
for those that might be interested, I noticed something about the blinking charging light.
If you plug the adaptor to charge the Z and it starts blinking (with Z suspended or not, I didn't find a difference there), then you unplug it (or maybe no need to do so) 'call' battery applet to see how much battery you've got left, plug it back and it will work.

There are many different combinations, e.g. you can tap on battery applet before charging and then just plug the charger.
I think it works always, but I need some more testing. Consider that, when I run out of battery I plug the adaptor, and if it doesn't work (if it does I touch nothing, don't even look biggrin.gif ), then I try the "tapping on batt-applet" trick, for what I have to turn on the Z if it was suspended.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Apr 30 2005, 01:44 PM
Post #107





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



@JoP:
It doesn't make any difference on mine.
I'm using 32-30 zImage with 3.13 Sharp Rom.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JoP
post May 1 2005, 09:49 AM
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Grau de Castelló - Spain
Member No.: 6,093



That's weird. huh.gif
I have just tried it on mine and it worked again.
After tapping on batteryapplet (I'm using Cacko's), it didn't blink any of the 4 times I tried. (And it seldom happens to me that it works the first time I plug it).
I'm using Cacko's 64-0.
If any one else could try we might get some clarifying result. I don't think any other applet I've got installed has anything to do with that but batteryapplet.
unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post May 1 2005, 02:09 PM
Post #109





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I have the recommended battery applet installed:

QUOTE
To get actual battery percentage displayed in Qtopia, you need an updated version of Battery Applet,
which is available for download: http://my-zaurus.nadrod.ru/opie.html

**EDIT** That server does not seem to be available right now.

The file name is qtopia-batteryapplet_1.0.2_arm.ipk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JoP
post May 2 2005, 08:39 AM
Post #110





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Grau de Castelló - Spain
Member No.: 6,093



That link was going pretty slow yesterday, but I see you've got a mistake there.
The right one is:

http://my-zaurus.narod.ru/opie.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post May 2 2005, 02:20 PM
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I just gave up on it AGAIN, and flashed the Sharp rom without the zImage.

Thanks for trying, anyway.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JoP
post May 3 2005, 06:32 AM
Post #112





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Grau de Castelló - Spain
Member No.: 6,093



That's a pity,
my big annoyance with using Cacko ROM was that issue with battery charging.
But now that this seems to work (for me, unless sad.gif ) I have the Z as I wanted it, lot of apps (since I use 64-0), no problems installing apps and no worries with battery (at the moment... dry.gif )

I have just plugged the Z to outlet, I still had some batt left but I want to use WIFI.
It blinked.
I unplugged, tapped on qtopia-batteryapplet, left it on screen showing mid-charge, plugged again and worked blink.gif
It has worked too many times to be just coincidence! (I want to believe tongue.gif )

I installed Cacko Rom 64-0, and later upgraded to new kernel. Never tried with Sharp 3.13 Rom, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post May 3 2005, 06:41 AM
Post #113





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



dougeebear,

I am slowly working my way through the battery.c and the apm patch for it. my C knowledge is dismal, but I'm pretty sure that something in the patch raised a threshhold level to the point where the z beleives that the charger isn't quite putting out enough power. Hence the blinking light. That's why repeatedly plugging the power will eventually yield a solid charging light.

Once I get my knoppix dev environment finished, I'll try recompiling the kernel without the APM patch and see if the problem goes away. If it does I'll post the kernel for interim use until I figure out the APM patch.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post May 3 2005, 08:40 AM
Post #114





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



technojunkie,

I am using the 32-30 zImage with Sharp rom 3.13.
The only reason I use this zImage is for the battery percent display.
It would really be great if the battery light worked right.

Your efforts are greatly appreciated.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JoP
post May 3 2005, 11:10 AM
Post #115





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Grau de Castelló - Spain
Member No.: 6,093



technojunkie,
if you could fix that, that'd be great!
I hope I have some time one of these days to get into C programming, so I can help somehow. (I think I forgot all I sometime learnt about C, back at college... now I started with Python, but I need more time... or a lotto prize tongue.gif )

Have you tried what I posted up here? Just curious...

BTW,
did you find a better behaving with you highspeed SD card on 64-0 ROM?
I think the limit would be on Z SD reading speed, but if it is faster than a regular SD card... That's the only thing I'd like to improve in this Rom, installing ipks faster! smile.gif

Thanks again for everything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrget
post May 3 2005, 11:26 AM
Post #116





Group: Members
Posts: 129
Joined: 29-May 04
Member No.: 3,485



QUOTE(technojunkie @ May 3 2005, 04:41 PM)
[...] I'm pretty sure that something in the patch raised a threshhold level to the point where the z beleives that the charger isn't quite putting out enough power. Hence the blinking light.
*
Hmmm, I wonder ... while I have no experience with Cacko whatsoever, I've been using the battery patch by itself with Sharp's 2.4.6 and 2.4.18 kernels (2.38 and 3.13 ROMs with modified battery applet respectively) and didn't observe any ill effects.

Best regards,
Chris.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post May 4 2005, 12:13 PM
Post #117





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



I am not 100% sure it's the kernel/patch but its my best guess at this point. I had used the 64-0 image with the kernel that was released just previous to this one(hence my wifi headache) and didn't have the blinking light issue until I loaded this kernel. I am kinda limited for the next month or so as to what I can do to track it down as I will be on vacation for a while, and still have to set up my live CD dev environment.

As for the High Speed SD card, it was the first one I found that could resume from suspend without locking up. If you do a search for home on SD or 64-0 and SD posted by me, you'll see the progression I went through for that.

another thing I am working on is changing the APM suspend/resume sripts for this rom to allow the FS_SYNC option to work better. Once I got my high Speed SD card, I found that trying to suspend with FS_SYNC set my Z would hang, but when I disabled it it would work fine.

As for the battery icon thing, It didn't work for me. But I have found that if I put it in the cradle, suspend the Z, then reseat it in the cradle about 7/10 times it will work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post May 4 2005, 02:11 PM
Post #118





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Happy vacation smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post May 5 2005, 01:02 PM
Post #119





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



mad.gif

I am a freaking scatterbrained bonehead. I left my daytimer(with my Z)in the walmart parking lot last night. Nobody has turned it in to the lost and found so I can only assume its gone.

I'll still work on the kernel and put it up for testing, but expect me to move slowly until I can replace my Z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miskinis
post May 7 2005, 07:33 PM
Post #120





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



Does anyone know if the "applications that have been removed" are available
anywhere? The link seems to have been dead for months. Many thanks for
any info.

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

11 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th July 2014 - 05:49 PM