OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kismet compiled and ready for pdaXrom
Laze
post Apr 18 2004, 11:07 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



Kismet is now compiled and working. Download it from our IPK feed and also have a look at the Kismet FAQ section. Together Kismet and pdaXrom makes your Zaurus the best wifi sniffing tool ever.

You can find the file at our feed.

Please report any bugs and problems with kismet in this forum and not on the bug reporting page on www.pdaXrom.org
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ScottYelich
post Apr 19 2004, 10:20 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 9-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 609



How many people are compiling things for the pdaXrom -- do you have the user-area upload feed in any level of working order?

Scott
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post Apr 19 2004, 10:31 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



Scott - we are working on making a public/untested ipk feed - actually i have just completed the first complicated procedures :-) So please have patience and we soon be ready with that. Until then you can e-mail me updates and ipk - we wan't to test stuff before putting it online
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Talyinka
post Apr 19 2004, 11:29 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 15-April 04
Member No.: 2,862



Excellent - I was working at that yesterday but didn't get it finished. I'll try the new binary asap and give feedback if any. 8)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
newkirk
post Apr 21 2004, 11:19 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 28-May 03
From: Pennsauken NJ
Member No.: 60



I installed it, and it works beautifully with my Ambicom wifi.

However, not only does it not work with my Socket card (no shock, just disappointment wink.gif), after installing and playing with Kismet my WLAN connection no longer works correctly, despite reconfigurations and reboots. (although Kismet continues to work, with the Ambi) The cards power up and start blinking their 'offline' pattern with the LED. A subsequent "ip l s eth0 up" brings up the connection, however.

Also, although the network.opts and wireless.opts files are still there, and appear to have correct settings, and when I 'apply' from the LAN applet it saves the changes, whenever I launch the LAN applet it comes up blank - all fields empty.

Did I simultaneously break networking and install kismet, or is this all related?

j :cry:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post Apr 21 2004, 12:20 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



Newkirk: I normal run:
cardctl scheme CardResume
kismet
cardctl scheme Normal
and maybe also a:
/etc/pcmcia/network start eth0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hwkeye
post Apr 21 2004, 04:29 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-January 04
Member No.: 1,491



It seems did not work with Linksys WCF12
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post Apr 21 2004, 10:30 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



hwkeye: Try a lsmod and post the output here and a iwconfig too - try editing the kismet.conf in /usr/etc/ - try different settings for source eg:
source=hostap,eth0,hostapsource
source=orinoco,eth0,orinocosource
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hwkeye
post Apr 21 2004, 11:25 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-January 04
Member No.: 1,491



Hi Laze,

lsmod give me :

Module Used by Tainted
orinoco_cs 1
orinoco 0 [orinoco_cs]
hermes 0 [orinoco_cs orinoco]

I remember under Qtopia sash tongue.gif we have a config file called
wlan-ng.conf
Do you think it is missing in pdaXrom and it is why for making my wireless card work I have to execute those commands:
#iwconfig eth0 key MY_WEP_KEY open
#iwconfig eth0 ESSID MY_ESSID_NAME

thanks for your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hwkeye
post Apr 22 2004, 12:07 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-January 04
Member No.: 1,491



Thanks Laze,

I unremark orinoco driver and it seems to work.

But I got some problem about suid user. I have following kismet FAQ section in www.pdaxrom.org

in kismet.conf, suiduser=kismetusr

I launch kismet and I got an error message about permission file denied for a file .dump

Do you know what can I do ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hwkeye
post Apr 22 2004, 05:00 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-January 04
Member No.: 1,491



Hi all,

Ok now it works.

I have to create the directory for LogTemplate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tz
post Apr 22 2004, 01:13 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 2-February 04
Member No.: 1,584



One other possible problem with the current kismet and the socket CF card.
The original Spectrum card needed a usleep call between each of the calls to set monitor mode and channel in pcapsource.cc. There are more calls now, and (on my card) I had to insert more usleep(5000) calls.
If pdaXrom is using an updated driver or wireless config calls, it might work without these.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daeos
post Jul 2 2008, 07:59 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 29-June 08
From: San Antonio, Tx
Member No.: 21,989



what settings would i use for a SL-6000L ? I tried the example :

source=prism2,wlan0,prismwsource,2

and just got an error:

# kismet
Server options: none
Client options: none
Starting server...
Waiting for server to start before startuing UI...
Will drop privs to xxxx (501) gid 501
No specific sources given to be enabled, all will be enabled.
Enabling channel hopping.
Enabling channel splitting.
FATAL: Unknown capture source type 'prism2' in source 'prism2,wlan0,prismwsource,2'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 2 2008, 08:47 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



I don't know if the 6000 uses HostAP, but you could try using "hostap" or "orinoco" as the source type.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daeos
post Jul 2 2008, 10:57 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 29-June 08
From: San Antonio, Tx
Member No.: 21,989



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jul 2 2008, 11:47 AM) *
I don't know if the 6000 uses HostAP, but you could try using "hostap" or "orinoco" as the source type.


Ok thanks man, Oh and I got it working, using a how to i found for the SL-6kL and now the wifi works great. I saw you had a feed up... and working too.. but one problem with it, I added pidgin and i can't run it as i need a lib thats not listed in your feed. could you add libpangocairo-1.0.so.0 ? or am i not configuring it right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 11:05 PM