OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> VoIP On the 6000
eji
post Jul 30 2005, 01:35 PM
Post #76





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



I think this openSSL business might be the problem. According to the KPhone page on the pi-sync site, you need openSSL to run KPhone. Bottom line. I've tried to launch Kphone without installing openSSL and it didn't work. In the terminal I got a very explicit error: "kppi: error while loading shared libraries: libssl.so.0.9.7: cannot load shared object file: No such file or directory." So if you found some way around this (unintentionally or not), that might explain why the rest of are having trouble.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Jul 30 2005, 05:27 PM
Post #77





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(eji @ Jul 30 2005, 01:35 PM)
I think this openSSL business might be the problem. According to the KPhone page on the pi-sync site, you need openSSL to run KPhone. Bottom line. I've tried to launch Kphone without installing openSSL and it didn't work. In the terminal I got a very explicit error: "kppi: error while loading shared libraries: libssl.so.0.9.7: cannot load shared object file: No such file or directory." So if you found some way around this (unintentionally or not), that might explain why the rest of are having trouble.
*


Hmm, I don't know why kppi requires this library, I have sniffed the SIP conversations (with ethereal on my latop) and it isn't encrypted at all. Anyway, I do have this library installed for the record I got it from this package: openssl-0.9.7a_0.9.7a_arm.ipk

Again, I haven't done anything extra ordinary to make kppi run. I wonder if it some other software you have installed that is causing a problem (for example I found the handcom powerpoint viewer was previenting me from ejecting my SD card).

I hope this helps,

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jul 31 2005, 06:42 AM
Post #78





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



Thanks, cvmiller. I used your settings and arrived at something close to how KPhone ought to be performing. I'm using openSSL 0.9.7d.

After calling the echo tests (worked) and the 55555 welcome line (didn't work: "Forbidden" error), I tried calling US 1-800 numbers through FWD peering (dial * before the toll-free) such as 1-800-MATTRESS (actually got someone) and 1-800-Wheelchair. Both of those numbers worked, and I'm pretty sure the miserable lady at 1-800-MATTRESS who doesn't have time for people testing their geeky VOIP software took me for someone calling on a regular phone. More FWD international peering numbers and prefixes are here.

Then I used this really cool (free) CallUK/FWD scheme to get an 0870 number in the UK that immediately forwards to my FWD number. I called it from my landline in Germany and had my wife answer my Z downstairs. It worked beautifully. Is there anything like this for the US?

Lingering issues:
- I can't get KPhone to work with SIPphone. It won't take my password. Has anyone configured it correctly with a SIPphone account?
- I still can't call Gizmo (aka SIPhone) on my iMac. I can call across the room from Gizmo (iMac) to Gizmo (iBook), but I can't call across the room from Gizmo (iMac) to FWD (Z) or vice versa. This is what's been driving me batty for the past few days. Could be a router/firewall/bandwidth issue.
- I can't tell if using "fwd.pulver.com" as outbound proxy has any effect whatsoever.
- The phone book in KP/pi is really buggy. Someone pointed this out earlier.

I'd really like to narrow down the FWD-with-Gizmo/SIPphone issue. If someone could call **7476033461 or 17476033461@proxy01.sipphone.com using KPhone on their Z, I'd be much obliged.

And, finally, more useful features and how-to's here and here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jul 31 2005, 08:27 AM
Post #79





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



...and suddenly things begin to make sense.

I can't call Gizmo/SIPphone from the Z because it uses the iLBC codec, the one that the KP/pi help info says is too fast for the Zaurus. I found this out by downloading and running X-Lite (there are Windoze, Linux and Mac versions), which told me that the codec I was trying to use -- g711u, the one KP/pi recommends and uses by default -- is incompatible with Gizmo. Hence the freezes. When I tried the iLBC codec between Z and Gizmo just to give it a whirl, the audio was rubbish but at least I could tell I was connected. So that, I think, solves that mystery.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zipmaster
post Aug 1 2005, 08:28 AM
Post #80





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 5-November 04
Member No.: 5,353



QUOTE(eji @ Jul 31 2005, 02:42 PM)
<snip>
Then I used this really cool (free) CallUK/FWD scheme to get an 0870 number in the UK that immediately forwards to my FWD number. I called it from my landline in Germany and had my wife answer my Z downstairs. It worked beautifully. Is there anything like this for the US?

<snip>
*



yeah there is one for washington state. its IPKall
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anmol10
post Aug 4 2005, 04:12 PM
Post #81





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-August 04
Member No.: 4,410



Thanks for all the info guys. kphone installed without any issues,

686113@fwd.pulver.com

The next thing on my list is to open /dev/dsp with two applications simultaneously. I have speech feature processing code that calculates stress, empathy and activity for people in conversation. I want to run this real-time speech feature processing on the Zaurus while using kphone.

I have another post in the same forum about how this is done on a regular linux system.

Also, I plan on getting a Vonage account so I can make regular PSTN calls with the Z. Anyone have any issues with this, I saw the blog which describes how it might be done.

-Anmol
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
christefano
post Aug 14 2005, 06:34 AM
Post #82





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-August 05
Member No.: 7,818



QUOTE
I have speech feature processing code that calculates stress, empathy and activity for people in conversation. I want to run this real-time speech feature processing on the Zaurus while using kphone.


Congratulations on all the recent press, Anmol! I came across your project's website last week while searching for Zaurus-related information and thought your project sounds brilliant. I hope you can make the Jerk-O-Meter software available for us to try out some time.

Have you, or anyone else for that matter, been able to use KPhone (or any other VoIP client) on the Zaurus to dial out to a PSTN number?

When I dial "**XXXXXXXXXX" (without the quotes, of course, and the 10-digit PSTN number instead of the Xs), KPhone says the call is active and reports "trying - your call is important to us" (a message that KPhone receives from the VoIP provider). I've tried "*XXXXXXXXXX", "XXXXXXXXXX@proxy01.sipphone.com" and "099XXXXXXXXXX" as well (which was suggested in another thread).

SIPphone even logs the call on my account at my.sipphone.com. Unfortunately, the PSTN number I dial never rings. I've been able to place SIP to SIP calls with KPhone (and the tkcPhone demo), just not SIP to PSTN.

Any ideas?

~ Christefano

ps. Yes, I do have "call out" minutes with SIPphone (they call them SIP Minutes).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anmol10
post Aug 21 2005, 04:49 PM
Post #83





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-August 04
Member No.: 4,410



Hey Christefano,

Thanks, that stuff just exploded. Most of our real-time machine learning code is available at the http://www.media.mit.edu/wearables CVS.

I haven't tried Vonage yet, will probably do soon. I'll let you know what I find out.

-Anmol
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
polito
post Sep 22 2005, 08:07 PM
Post #84





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 4-November 04
From: Phoenix, Arid-Zona
Member No.: 5,344



Just a note on why kphone might be needing openssl, is that even though the communications may not be encrypted, openssl provides quite a few other utility functions such as md5, sha-1 hashes, etc.

If someone didn't want to write their own md5sum code (or borrow it from somewhere, hehe) they may have taken the easy way out and used openssl's versions. Which is kind of dumb in a way if you don't need the openssl lib for anything else...

I would rather opt for less prerequisites than more, especially on the zaurus where space is limited and needing an extra library just adds one more thing to keep track of. Just my 2 cents. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Little_Goomba
post Mar 14 2006, 12:51 PM
Post #85





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 5,471



NUTS!
I can't find a legitimate copy of libssl. Two problems
The IPGK give me this:
QUOTE
# ipkg -d root install libssl0.9.7_0.9.7e-r1_arm.ipk
ERROR: File not found: /usr/lib/ipkg/lists/New
      You probably want to run `ipkg update'

zcat: libssl0.9.7_0.9.7e-r1_arm.ipk: not in gzip format

zcat: stdin: unexpected end of file
ipkg_install_file: ERROR unpacking control.tar.gz from libssl0.9.7_0.9.7e-r1_arm.ipk

And if I try to build my own using ZGCC, I get this:
QUOTE
# ./config
Operating system: armv5tel-whatever-linux2
You need Perl 5.

And when I try to use the IPGK to install Perl, I get a 'something happened' error. (by now, I'm frustrated, and am using GUI)
Does anyone have a valid LibSSL.ipk file they can share?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Mar 16 2006, 10:59 AM
Post #86





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



QUOTE(Little_Goomba @ Mar 14 2006, 12:51 PM)
NUTS!
I can't find a legitimate copy of libssl.  Two problems
The IPGK give me this:
QUOTE
# ipkg -d root install libssl0.9.7_0.9.7e-r1_arm.ipk
ERROR: File not found: /usr/lib/ipkg/lists/New
      You probably want to run `ipkg update'

zcat: libssl0.9.7_0.9.7e-r1_arm.ipk: not in gzip format

zcat: stdin: unexpected end of file
ipkg_install_file: ERROR unpacking control.tar.gz from libssl0.9.7_0.9.7e-r1_arm.ipk

And if I try to build my own using ZGCC, I get this:
QUOTE
# ./config
Operating system: armv5tel-whatever-linux2
You need Perl 5.

And when I try to use the IPGK to install Perl, I get a 'something happened' error. (by now, I'm frustrated, and am using GUI)
Does anyone have a valid LibSSL.ipk file they can share?
*



Try looking for openssl rather than libssl. There's one in the zaurususergroup/feed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
unplug
post Mar 19 2006, 09:45 PM
Post #87





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 5,742



Hi guys, brilliant thread!
I read through all the post and am able to setup KPhone on my Z.
Now, I have packet8 service and how can I send/receive calls from my Z to packet8? Say if I make it happen, I have to leave my Z open all the time to receive calls, don't I?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 20 2006, 02:14 AM
Post #88





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(unplug @ Mar 20 2006, 06:45 AM)
Hi guys, brilliant thread!
I read through all the post and am able to setup KPhone on my Z.
Now, I have packet8 service and how can I send/receive calls from my Z to packet8? Say if I make it happen, I have to leave my Z open all the time to receive calls, don't I?
*


yes, AND, you need to have your network link up too (either wifi or IP over USB). So, it's really only useful for making outbound calls or for receiving calls at a scheduled time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 21 2006, 02:46 PM
Post #89





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I was doing some testing with sipgate.co.uk this evening and I found that kppi runs "out of the box" on Guylhem ROM - just "ipkg install" it. The only thing I had to do was create the entry in the qtopia apps directory so it will work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smammon
post Oct 11 2006, 09:41 PM
Post #90





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 23-April 04
Member No.: 2,972



i've been using iconnecthere for about a year as my primary phone at the house. I've been pleased overall. Finally got aroung to trying it with the Z tonight and it was easy to setup and 2 or 3 test calls to my various voicemail boxes were flawless with KP/PI.

QUOTE(unblowupable @ Dec 25 2004, 09:36 PM)
Great work so far offroadgeek! I look forward to learning how you make out with asterisk/Voicepulse Connect. It does seem like the ideal solution, but in the meantime I may try IConnectHere.com's "Build Your Own Plan" for SIP users w/ FWD. Anyone have feedback about ICH? According to FWD they should work fine for PSTN calls, and the prices seem reasonable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 09:57 AM