OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> zaurus desktop pim apps ??
dansawyer
post Nov 18 2003, 12:40 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 293
Joined: 18-November 03
Member No.: 945



All,

I have a zaurus attached to a Linux based PC via a USB network. Everything is running correctly.

However there does not seem to be a way to syncronize PIM apps on the zaurus with Linux PIM apps. What is the best way to do this? Is it to switch to Opie and run evolution??

Thanks,
Dan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Inuyasha
post Nov 29 2003, 12:45 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 19-October 03
From: Canada
Member No.: 679



You cannot sync to anything but Qtopia Desktop on Linux. If you are using SL-5500 ROM 3.x or a SL-5600, then you cannot sync (under the Sharp/Sharp based ROMs) at all to Linux. OZ/Opie syncs to Qtopia Desktop, but still does not sync to Evolution or anything else (SL-5500 version is fairly stable, from what I hear, but the 5600 version is very unstable, and has big glitches, so far, from personal experience).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VeeDubb
post Dec 9 2003, 12:47 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 30-October 03
Member No.: 698



Sad but true. you could always try the latest OZ, you never know. If you look at the testing feed, I heard rumblings about a 3.3.6-pre release, maybe it will be better...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stigger
post Dec 9 2003, 05:15 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 19-May 03
Member No.: 12



QUOTE
You cannot sync to anything but Qtopia Desktop on Linux. If you are using SL-5500 ROM 3.x or a SL-5600, then you cannot sync (under the Sharp/Sharp based ROMs) at all to Linux. OZ/Opie syncs to Qtopia Desktop, but still does not sync to Evolution or anything else (SL-5500 version is fairly stable, from what I hear, but the 5600 version is very unstable, and has big glitches, so far, from personal experience).


OZ syncs to evolution using multisync and the kde pim stuff using kitchensync
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
_lee_
post Jan 5 2004, 05:28 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 1,358



QUOTE
QUOTE
You cannot sync to anything but Qtopia Desktop on Linux. If you are using SL-5500 ROM 3.x or a SL-5600, then you cannot sync (under the Sharp/Sharp based ROMs) at all to Linux. OZ/Opie syncs to Qtopia Desktop, but still does not sync to Evolution or anything else (SL-5500 version is fairly stable, from what I hear, but the 5600 version is very unstable, and has big glitches, so far, from personal experience).


OZ syncs to evolution using multisync and the kde pim stuff using kitchensync

I synced a 5500 with the Qtopia Desktop binary from the Trolltech site through the USB cradle. Here's how I did it:
[list] to extablish a USB link with my desktop.
2) Downloaded the RedHat 9 RPM from here
3) Ran rpm2tgz since Gentoo plays nicer with tgz
4) Unziped the archive and moved the Qtopia folder to /opt then lanuched qtopiadesktop
5) Synced everything and installed some files[list]
Linux vorbis 2.4.23-aa1 #3 Mon Jan 5 17:22:31 EST 2004 i686 AMD Athlon™ XP 2000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

-lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bb
post Jan 6 2004, 01:08 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 13-December 03
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 1,172



QUOTE
You cannot sync to anything but Qtopia Desktop on Linux.....


Does anyone here know if the sources for Qtopia Desktop are available anywhere? All I can find is RPM packages:
http://www.trolltech.com/download/qtopia/i...ndex.html?cid=6
(bottom of page)

Best regards.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Jan 6 2004, 01:34 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



QUOTE
Does anyone here know if the sources for Qtopia Desktop are available anywhere?

Qtopia Desktop is not open source, so no.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Jan 6 2004, 01:37 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



QUOTE
I synced a 5500 with the Qtopia Desktop binary from the Trolltech site through the USB cradle.

That must have been with a 2.x ROM on your SL-5500 though. Only the Sharp released Qtopia Desktop for Windows is compatible with the PIM and sync framework in the SL-5500 3.x ROM and all later Zaurus models.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th July 2014 - 11:58 PM