OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem running evm and cvm on 5500 with 3.10 roms
jeff_burch
post May 26 2004, 08:34 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,454



I've recently upgraded my 5500 Z's rom to 3.10 and installed Jeode evm and Sun's cvm.

Whenever I run either program from the embeddedkonsole or a telnet session, I get the following error messages:

$ type evm
evm is hashed (/home/QtPalmtop/bin/evm)

$ evm -version
QSocket::writeBlock: Socket is not open
QSocket::writeBlock: Socket is not open
QSocket::writeBlock: Socket is not open
QSocket::writeBlock: Socket is not open
No Qt/Embedded server appears to be running.
If you want to run this program as a server,
add the "-qws" command-line option.

$ type cvm
cvm is /home/QtPalmtop/j2me/bin/cvm

$ cvm -version
java version "J2ME Personal Profile for Zaurus 1.0"
J2ME Personal Profile 1.0 (build 1.0_ea4-b18)
J2ME CDC-HI 1.0_v01

$ cvm Example5
No application name set, use cvm instead
QSocket::writeBlock: Socket is not open
QSocket::writeBlock: Socket is not open
QSocket::writeBlock: Socket is not open
QSocket::writeBlock: Socket is not open
No Qt/Embedded server appears to be running.
If you want to run this program as a server,
add the "-qws" command-line option.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
On the old rom, I only had this problem when running from a telnet session. I got around it by adding this to my .profile:
export LOGNAME=unknown

This LOGNAME trick doesn't appear to work anymore. What should I try next?

I'm wondering if I need to install or enable the Qt/Embedded server for the new rom? How would I check? Here is a process dump:

$ ps -ef
UID PID PPID C STIME TTY TIME CMD
root 1 0 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 init
root 2 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 [keventd]
root 3 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 [swapper]
root 4 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 [swapper]
root 5 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 [swapper]
root 6 1 75 13:50 ? 02:04:13 [kapm-idled]
root 7 0 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
root 8 0 0 13:50 ? 00:01:02 [kswapd]
root 9 0 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 [bdflush]
root 10 0 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 [kupdated]
root 11 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 [swapper]
root 12 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:07 [mtdblockd]
root 92 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 /sbin/sdmgr
root 128 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 /sbin/cardmgr
root 139 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/inetd
bin 149 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/rpc.portmap
root 160 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 /home/QtPalmtop/bin/atd /var/spo

root 190 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 /sbin/launch
root 191 1 0 13:50 ? 00:00:08 /sbin/shsync
root 192 190 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 /bin/sh ./qpe.sh
root 212 192 0 13:50 ? 00:00:39 qpe -owner zaurus.qpe
root 213 212 0 13:50 ? 00:00:00 qeserver zaurus qpe
root 214 213 0 13:50 ? 00:00:03 qeserver zaurus qpe
#500 248 212 0 13:50 ? 00:00:34 launcher -qcop /tmp/qcop-msg-lau

#500 813 212 0 13:53 ? 00:00:07 embeddedkonsole -qcop /tmp/qcop-

#500 814 813 0 13:53 ttya0 00:00:00 -bash
root 815 814 0 13:53 ttya0 00:00:00 sh
root 938 1 0 13:56 ? 00:00:00 /sbin/dhcpcd eth0
root 942 139 0 13:56 ? 00:00:01 telnetd: 192.168.1.102 [cygwin]
root 943 942 0 13:56 ttya1 00:00:01 -bash
root 4134 815 0 16:06 ttya0 00:00:00 bash
root 4221 943 0 16:34 ttya1 00:00:00 ps -ef



Thanks in advance! - Jeff
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeff_burch
post May 26 2004, 04:50 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,454



Well, I've made some progress. I need to set this environmental variable:

export LOGNAME=zaurus

Note that I had "unknown" before. Now I get this error message:

$ evm -version
Qt/Embedded data directory is not owned by user 0
Aborted

$ cvm Example5
No application name set, use cvm instead
Qt/Embedded data directory is not owned by user 0
Aborted
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post May 26 2004, 05:57 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



I think one problem is that you're running as "root" on the 5500 but the packages you installed created directories owned by another user (probably Zaurus). You could fix that with a chown command.

Also, search the forum for "cvm" for examples of how to run it. There are several parameters you are supposed to pass it, such as the application name.

Finally, check your environment variables, such as QWS_DISPLAY among others and make sure they are set correctly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeff_burch
post May 28 2004, 02:42 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,454



I solved my problem! I had removed the zaurus line from /etc/passwd by mistake. Now I can run evm and cvm as user zaurus. Make sure to export LOGNAME=zaurus from your .profile.

- Jeff
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 08:11 AM