OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can ANYone sync with the 5600?
gregkedro
post Nov 28 2003, 10:45 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 19-October 03
From: San Jose, Costa Rica
Member No.: 674



Hey, Penguin People, gotta question for you...

Can anyone sync a Zaurus SL-5600 with any Linux kernel? The only desktop software out there that I'm aware of right now is QtopiaDesktop. Is there another?

Here is my dilema: I have a 5600 that I cannot sync with Linux. I can ping it in a term window, but I cannot get it to sync via usb0 (the stinkin cradle). My next and last option is to buy a CompactFlash ethernet card and see if I can get it to sync that way. BUT (and here's the kicker), if I cannot sync this unit with my desktop, I cannot use it. If QtopiaDesktop will not work with the 5600, not even with a CompactFlash ethernet card and regular IP on my LAN, then I need to sell this piece of $%#& and get something that will. I like my Z, but I need to be able to SYNC my Z. If I can't, I'm dumping it on eBay.

Anyone out there able to sync???

-Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Inuyasha
post Nov 28 2003, 11:43 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 19-October 03
From: Canada
Member No.: 679



The SL-5600 CANNOT YET SYNC TO ANY LINUX PROGRAM. There are ways to access it over Samba, but no syncing, because Sharp changed the PIM data format. The same goes for SL-5500 3.x ROMs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregkedro
post Nov 29 2003, 04:26 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 19-October 03
From: San Jose, Costa Rica
Member No.: 674



Thank you.

Would anyone like to buy a slightly used Sharp Zaurus SL-5600?

-Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Inuyasha
post Nov 29 2003, 12:57 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 19-October 03
From: Canada
Member No.: 679



You can backup your data, if you just want a backup (I'm unsure of exatly how, but there are ways), or you can wait for a little while, and then switch to OpenZaurus, which will sync to Qtopia Desktop, but is not stable enough on the 5600 yet, to be really useful. It'll probably be stable enough within a couple months, maybe?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregkedro
post Nov 29 2003, 03:10 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 19-October 03
From: San Jose, Costa Rica
Member No.: 674



QUOTE
You can backup your data, if you just want a backup...


Yeah, I got back-ups going fine. That's fairly easy. But...

QUOTE
...or you can wait for a little while, and then switch to OpenZaurus, which will sync to Qtopia Desktop...


Qtopia Desktop (I'm sorry, don't mean to flame and bash, but) is "lacking." It is terribly rudimentary and years behind the stuff Palm is putting out (the stuff I've seen, at least).

What I need is a desktop pda program to run to-do lists (and manage projects with those lists), a calander (month-at-a-glance that can be read on both desktop and pda), a configurable address book, and ability to do text-based "memos."

I run all my "planner" crap off the desktop. So, I need to be able to have the pda desktop running all the time on my LAN. When I pick up and go, I sync with the pda and have all my "planner" crap in hand and mobile.

My Z is sorely lacking.

I am shopping.
1. I'll either go back to my paper Franklin Planner.
2. Or, I'll get a pda that has decent sync software for Linux (JPilot worked fine for my Handspring Visor, and then the Visor bit the dust).

Any input you'd have on Linux-based pda desktops and sync'ing would be appreciated. I'll be googling here for a while.

Thanks for the straight answers. You've helped me a lot.

By the way, I got my Z on my Linux box. :-) I installed the sync software on a little used Win98SE machine hanging off my LAN. Then I just connected via VNC. If I get a CompactFlash ethernet card, I could connect the Z to the LAN by itself, and then just bring up the software (Qtopia) in my Win4Lin here on my desktop. But, that still doesn't get past the pda limitations of the Z and Qtopia Desktop.

I feel shortchanged.

-Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Nov 29 2003, 04:58 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



Greg,

Read this:
http://www.zaurus.com/dev/board/index.php?...?showtopic=7113
It sounds like your problem is Sharps new PIM, so before you sell your Z try a custom- rom with Opie.

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregkedro
post Nov 29 2003, 05:36 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 19-October 03
From: San Jose, Costa Rica
Member No.: 674



QUOTE
Greg,

Read this:
http://www.zaurus.com/dev/board/index.php?...?showtopic=7113
It sounds like your problem is Sharps new PIM, so before you sell your Z try a custom- rom with Opie.

Greg


Neat! But... I'm a little overwhelmed here with newness... I downloaded and tried to install the Opie datebook. It cried for dependencies (all too familiar). So, I poked around a little more...

Should I move to the OpenZaurus ROM that is entirely based on Opie?

Or should I test drive Opie PIM stuff first? If so, is there a basic package that I need to install? Their directory listing of "stable" install stuff is overwhelming. I would assume there is a lib I'd need... other stuff... ??

And then, it syncs with "normal" Linux PDA programs like JPilot - via cradle or ethernet connection? That would be awesome.

Got a minute to give me a boost up the learning curve?

Regardless, thanks!

-Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregkedro
post Nov 29 2003, 07:40 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 19-October 03
From: San Jose, Costa Rica
Member No.: 674



Got libopie installed, and that allowed me to install the Opie PIM apps.

1. I cannot get back to my original Sharp PIM apps. They're gone. Trashed. Dunno where. Can I reinstall those somehow?

2. I cannot get the Opie apps to sync with JPilot. Seems he wants only serial ports. ???

-gk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Nov 30 2003, 08:31 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



To restore your Sharp Pim, read:
http://www.zaurususergroup.com/index.php?n...viewtopic&t=428
Have you tried to sync Qtopia Desktop with Opie apps?

Later today I will try and find the earliar version of QT Desktop for Linux for both of us.
I can only find v1.7.
If you or anyone has a link for a feed for Qtopia Desktop v1.5, 1.5.4, or 1.6 for Linux please post it here.

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregkedro
post Nov 30 2003, 12:41 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 19-October 03
From: San Jose, Costa Rica
Member No.: 674



QUOTE
To restore your Sharp Pim, read:
http://www.zaurususergroup.com/index.php?n...viewtopic&t=428
Have you tried to sync Qtopia Desktop with Opie apps?Greg


Thanks for the link. Yes, I did try to sync Opie and Qtopia. It didn't work. Kinda honked me off (to say the least... I think I broke a bone in my hand).

-Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Inuyasha
post Nov 30 2003, 01:20 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 19-October 03
From: Canada
Member No.: 679



I'm working on a custom ROM, based on the Sharp one, with OPIE instead of QTopia. It'll probably be in at least a semi useful state in a week or two. It should be able to sync with Qtopia Desktop, so maybe hang on for a little while? I hope it works out. It'll probably have some big bugs in ot for a little while, but hopefully it'll work. (Yeah, I'm a little hyper over it. Too much caffeine.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregkedro
post Nov 30 2003, 02:47 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 19-October 03
From: San Jose, Costa Rica
Member No.: 674



I may hang onto my Z... I dunno. Doubt it, though. The PIM software just seems too far behind what I had with my Visor, and what's out there these days with the Palms. Desktops, et al. I looked over the OpenZaurus project and Opie. Just dang neat stuff, you know? It's down right depressing to think that I gotta shelve my Z because I can't a decent calendar or to-do program for it. And after the money I've spent on the thing, I'm more than reluctant to put more into it to buy proprietary PIM software (e.g. theKompany.com). To even swap out my ROM, I need to throw more money at this thing to get a CF or SD card. I'm bummed, guys. I'm really bummed. My Z is cool. Opie and Oz are really stinkin neat. And I lose. I need flexible, configurable PIM that will sync with the same kinda desktop.

-Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Dec 1 2003, 10:34 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE
Thanks for the link. Yes, I did try to sync Opie and Qtopia. It didn't work. Kinda honked me off (to say the least... I think I broke a bone in my hand).

-Greg


I think I broke a bone in my head!

In the last 2 days I have at least 12 hours in this with no progress (very frustrated)! I can not even get OZ 3.3.5 to boot up so I could try that. Fortunately I still dual boot my desktop pc with Mandrake and 2000 Pro.

I will just continue to sync with windoze 2000,

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregkedro
post Dec 1 2003, 11:10 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 19-October 03
From: San Jose, Costa Rica
Member No.: 674



QUOTE
In the last 2 days I have at least 12 hours in this with no progress (very frustrated)!


I'll be going back to a paper planner (Franklin) for 2004. Maybe I'll sell my Z, maybe I'll hang onto it and see what kinda software comes out. But, I'm with you. Terribly frustrating.

-Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Dec 10 2003, 12:28 PM
Post #15





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



I have a question for some of the developers here: IIRC, the originally sync mechanisms were via a ftp server( on port 4242 ) built into Qtopia. Why isn't it possible to put an independant ftp server on the 3.xx ROM and build in a DTM<->XML engine in the ftp server. The server would check the DTM for changes when it was sent requests for sync'ing and then construct XML messages to send to QtopiaDesktop. And visa-versa for updates from QtopiaDesktops XML stuff. Maybe there was much more going on over the previous sync but I thought it was all done over that special ftp server process and that is open sourced since Opie has it....

Just wondering.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 10th July 2014 - 10:18 AM