OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Conversion Regret; Want Japanese Ime Back (c3000), newbie looking for return of kanji input
Anasai
post Nov 29 2004, 11:43 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,674



I just got my SL-C3000 a couple days ago, and I decided that I wanted English menus (along with Japanese input). I followed the directions at conics.net, and now I have (mostly) English menus with and the ability to enter some Japanese through unicode.

Unfortunately, part of why I bought the C3000 was for easy kanji lookup. I guess I just assumed that putting in English menus would have no reason to wipe out the Japanese handwriting recognition. I was also too cocky to make a backup. How do I get my kanji recognition back? Is there any way to be able to handwrite kanji and keep my beautiful English menus? I'm sorry if this is a really common question you've answered before!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ashikase
post Nov 30 2004, 12:32 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 17-March 04
From: Osaka, Japan
Member No.: 2,375



You're right, it's an *extremely* common question... but since you apologized in advance, we'll let it slide. (^_^)

I'm not sure what the Conics conversion entailed, but I'm guessing it had something to do with changing "locale" to "en" and installing Unicode fonts. If you really want proper Japanese support, that's not the answer.

Assuming the procedure did not involve deleting any files, I would first undo any changes that were performed.

As for the proper method, here is a quote from user Stubear from another thread:

QUOTE
If you want to convert yourself there are basically 2 options:

1) change /home/zaurus/Settings/locale.conf to read 'en' or 'zh_TW' instead of 'ja' for the language setting.

2) remove the qm translation files in /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/ja and comment out the various lines in .desktop files that have the japanese names of programs. I wrote a script that does this and it basically follows the info here http://mspencer.net/stuff/c700conv.html


The script Stubear mentions can be found here (convert.sh): http://www.wbcd.org/computing/zaurus/part_12.html

Setting the locale to "zh_TW" supposedly gives you both English and Japanese support, though I've never tried it. I recommend using Stubear's script; I believe that the file structure on the C3k (for the files involved) is the same, so it should work ok.

Of course, after undoing you're previous changes and before trying any new conversion, I would definately suggest creating a backup... just in case.

- ashikase
- anpachi, gifu, japan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Nov 30 2004, 03:50 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



I'm not sure of the layout of the C3K but if it's remotely the same as the Cxx0 Zaurus then there will be a method to reset or reformat the user filesystem (on the Cxx0 this is done with the reformat command on the menu used to reflash the rom - check your user manual) This will wipe everything you have saved - so as Ashikase suggest backup anything important. After the procress you will be left with the Zaurus in the same state it left the factory in.

If you have any questions/worries about the process, feel free to ask first. Better to wait a day or so more to return it to the state you want than turning it into a papaerweight smile.gif

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Anasai
post Dec 1 2004, 01:02 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,674



Thanks for all your help! I really did see Stubear's code before, but not realizing (somehow) that the conics code would destroy my IME, I decided to use it because it seemed easier. Sigh.

Anyway, in theory I can undo all my changes, but I think it would be easier and safer to just reset. In the reflash menu, I found the 3rd option (I can't read kanji, but it's the same button mentioned in the TRIsoft manual as reformat), but it gives me 3 choices the TRIsoft manual doesn't mention:

(As a side note, these were _so hard_ to look up.. I miss my Japanese input)

1. 通常 (normal)
2. 廃棄 (throw away)
3. 戻る (go back) -- obviously this isn't what I want

So I am torn whether I should choose 1 or 2. I think 1 sounds safer, but I'm afraid anyway. Any help? I can't just read the manual since it's in Japanese too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Dec 1 2004, 01:28 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



Sorry I can't help you with this. My C760 doesn't give me those options.

If you have the manual as a pdf of the CD that came with the unit (I'm sure my C760 Cd did but can't remember) or can scan the relevant page and post it (or pm me if you're worried about copyright) and I'll see what I can do to help.

My guess (and this is only a guess) is that 1) is to replace the system files with the original ones and leave your data on the HD intact. 2) is to wipe the whole HD and loose all your data

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Anasai
post Dec 1 2004, 01:43 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,674



I seem to have at least some of the manual on the CD, but strangely they are mislinked in the web browser and Acrobat can't open them directly due to errors (or something). I'm guessing that what you said the buttons probably do is correct. I feel safe enough at least that (1) won't brick my Zaurus. I bet I should do a NAND backup first, though, if I can figure out how.

The thing is, I noticed in the manual (if I am reading this correctly) that it nukes a few programs, so I'd have to reinstall from CD. That makes me think it might be easier/safer to undo my changes by hand.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Anasai
post Dec 1 2004, 02:12 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,674



As a side note, a user in this forum seems to imply that (1) is indeed the choice I want. So, anyway, I just undid it by hand (it was really simple - I just copied back the fonts I deleted and uninstalled mcconvert. Some of my filenames seem to still be in English, strangely, but IME support returned, so I am happy. I figured there was no reason not to keep the unicode fonts.) Next is stubear's script. I spent a little bit of time trying to make a NAND backup, but the command doesn't seem to be in the dm-menu as it is on other models, so I will just have to not screw up. Thank you guys so much!

Edit: I ended up just changing the language setting to zw_TW since the site didn't want to load for me. If it annoys me, I can always run the script, but for now it seems fine; almost everything is in English, and what isn't so far seems like a couple file names in katakana. Again, thank you guys so much for answering my incredibly obvious question.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Dec 1 2004, 03:58 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



If you can't get the script form the page, let me knw and I'll email/pm it to you.
Or if you prefer I can send you a list of what changes and you can do them by hand - that's what I did till I wrote the script.

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kerensa
post Dec 4 2004, 05:08 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 30-November 04
From: Okinawa, Japan
Member No.: 5,675



A couple of questions on the conversion to English..

Has the script at http://www.wbcd.org/computing/zaurus/part_12.html been tried on a c3000?

Is there any reason these files can't be saved to the c3000 HDD via the USB from a PC, instead of to the SD-Card, and run from the HDD?

I would like to see a list of the changes done by hand. I'm looking at the script, but my knowledge is rustier than I really care to admit.

K
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Dec 4 2004, 06:53 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



QUOTE(Kerensa @ Dec 4 2004, 10:08 PM)
A couple of questions on the conversion to English..

Has the script at http://www.wbcd.org/computing/zaurus/part_12.html been tried on a c3000?


Not that I'm aware of. I don't have a c3k so I can't test it myself. If you want you could do a ls -R / > c3000fs.txt and send the file to me at ZaurusStuff{at}gmail.com and I'll check that the filesystem layout is the same or not.

QUOTE
Is there any reason these files can't be saved to the c3000 HDD via the USB from a PC, instead of to the SD-Card, and run from the HDD?


No reason at all, you can save them anywher you want on the Z and run the script from there.

QUOTE
I would like to see a list of the changes done by hand. I'm looking at the script, but my knowledge is rustier than I really care to admit.

K


I'll write up the changes the script makes tomorrow - sorry too tired tonight and I'll probably make a mistake.

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Anasai
post Dec 5 2004, 03:06 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,674



Yeah, the script has been tested on the C3k and it works just fine (and better than zh_TW) as far as I can tell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Dec 5 2004, 03:53 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



Here is a run down on what my conversion script does

1) In all the directories in /home/QtPalmtop/apps it comments out the "Name[ja]" line in all the .desktop files. - this causes qtopia to display the English name of the application instead.
2) It also does the same for __*.desktop files in /home/QtPalmtop/apps (these are your menu entries)
3) In /home/QtPalmtop/etc it does the same thing yet again for the files in the directories - colors, zstyles, zdecorations, & zthemes - so that they display in English in the styles applet
4) It goes to /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/ja and then removes all but the following .qm files - libcrim.qm libjpn* (note you may want to keep libqpe.qm if you are ok with the Japanese date format and having some pop-up boxes in Japanese instead of English). The *.qm files are the application specific translation files, when qtopia can't find them it reverts back to the default language (which is almost always English)
5) Deletes word-eucJP.rc in /home/QtPalmtop/bin to revert HancomWord menus to English
6) In /home/zaurus/Settings changes FontLogicalSize=0 to FontLogicalSize=-1 on todo.conf to give more space in the todo dialog boxes - not necessary if you use ko/pi smile.gif
7) If the files movieplayer.qmid and libsl.qmid are present in the same directory as the script it copies these to /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/ja/ - This fixes the menus in the Sharp MoviePlayer that default to Japanese.
8) Finally tells the use to reboot or run "killall qpe" to see the changes (note "qcop QPE/System restart()" is now my prefered way to restart qtopia)

That's all the script does, I only wrote it casue I was experimentiong a lot and needed to reconvert everytime I reflashed or reformatted the rom.

Let me know if you have any questions

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 12:03 AM