OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> OpenZaurus, OZ on the 6000
BarryW
post Dec 8 2004, 01:13 AM
Post #121





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



I have the lines too, but not really bothered by it. What I want to know is why doesn't anything I've installed to my sd card show up?? The files are there, but nothing shows on the tabs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bedman
post Dec 8 2004, 02:33 AM
Post #122





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 30-June 04
Member No.: 3,867



Hey BarryW,

it looks like there are missing sym-links. First try to dl. the upgrades from the upgrades feed especially the service-upgrade. Then open the console and type "ipkg-link mount /mnt/card" and restart opie!
That should work. What have you installed on the sd-card?

cya Bedman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Dec 8 2004, 07:50 AM
Post #123





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



ipkg mount /mnt/card isn't an ipkg command, sorry. I have the updates installed. I've installed task opie games, apps, multimedia, bluetooth, and tn5250.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dlee27
post Dec 8 2004, 08:29 AM
Post #124





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,087



Was anyone able to initiate wlan successfully? Everytime I try to bring it up it fails. I created wlancfg file with my ssid and wep setting. I'm not sure what else I need.

I also see vertical line but it's not that annoying. Once I refresh the screen it's gone.

One thing is that the power button does nothing. It used to do suspend in sharp rom. I'm not sure it's what it is supposed to be(it's my first experience with OZ). Even if I suspend it from the menu there is no way I can wake it up except reset.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Dec 8 2004, 08:45 AM
Post #125





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Open a terminal and try /etc/init.d/networking start . That should get your wireless working, I havn't been able to get wep to work though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mpj
post Dec 8 2004, 09:13 AM
Post #126





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 14-September 04
Member No.: 4,582



QUOTE(adder @ Dec 3 2004, 05:03 PM)
I'm currently using OZ/Opie 3.5.2 on a SL-6000, and I have the same problem... little vertical lines popping up, esp. when scrolling and such.

Ditto here, in both Opie and GPE using 3.5.2. I noticed this only happens in vertical mode, not rotated. It's most noticable when doing freehand drawing; orange vertical stripes about 1cm high appear at the cursor when drawing with the stylus. Anybody know what's going on?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gab74
post Dec 9 2004, 11:14 AM
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 344
Joined: 24-May 04
Member No.: 3,411



Yes "mpi", i've the same problem too....and any version of opie running on my sl6000 that i've tested has this bug...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flagar
post Dec 9 2004, 11:39 AM
Post #128





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 16-March 04
Member No.: 2,338



Backlight tuning is not working yet, too. Has anyone tried launching the Light & Power executable from the SHARP rom?
Does the 6000 use different ioctl calls than the 5xxx/Cxxx models for the backlight?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nevarrie
post Dec 9 2004, 01:20 PM
Post #129





Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Kansas City Kansas
Member No.: 1,112



QUOTE(BarryW @ Dec 8 2004, 10:45 AM)
Open a terminal and try  /etc/init.d/networking start .  That should get your wireless working, I havn't been able to get wep to work though.

you need to edit /etc/network/interfaces and add the networks you want to connect to. here is what I have in my interfaces file:

CODE
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
 pre-up modprobe prism2_usb
 pre-up /sbin/usbctl on 1
 post-down /sbin/usbctl off 1
 post-down rmmod prism2_usb

iface vmlgrant inet dhcp
  wireless-type wlan-ng
  wireless-mode ad-hoc
  wireless-essid vmlgrant
  wireless-enc on
  wlan-ng-default-key-id 0
  wlan-ng-key0 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key1 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key2 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key3 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  pre-up modprobe prism2_usb
  pre-up /sbin/usbctl on 1
  post-down /sbin/usbctl off 1
  post-down rmmod prism2_usb

iface grant inet dhcp
  wireless-type wlan-ng
  wireless-mode infrastructure
  wireless-essid grant
  pre-up modprobe prism2_usb
  pre-up /sbin/usbctl on 1
  post-down /sbin/usbctl off 1
  post-down rmmod prism2_usb

iface airport1 inet dhcp
  wireless-type wlan-ng
  wireless-mode infrastructure
  wireless-essid airport1
  pre-up modprobe prism2_usb
  pre-up /sbin/usbctl on 1
  post-down /sbin/usbctl off 1
  post-down rmmod prism2_usb


iface acad inet dhcp
  wireless-type wlan-ng
  wireless-mode infrastructure
  wireless-essid vmlgrant
  wireless-enc on
  wlan-ng-default-key-id 0
  wlan-ng-key0 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key1 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key2 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key3 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  pre-up modprobe prism2_usb
  pre-up /sbin/usbctl on 1
  post-down /sbin/usbctl off 1
  post-down rmmod prism2_usb


I can then uses ifup wlan0=vmlgrant and ifdown wlan0=vmlgrant to work with the interface if I want to specify the interface I want ot use...though I have found ifup wlan0 finds the networks avalible and connects to them if it can.

Hope that helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Dec 11 2004, 05:10 PM
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Okay been messing around. When I put my 1GB sandisk sd card in I can't install to it. My 256MB lexar can have stuff installed. Tried the ipkg-link thing and nothing happened. Any new guesses?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Dec 11 2004, 05:52 PM
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Okay I fixed it, sorta. The task-whatever packages don't work right. If I install the packages individually they work. rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kmatthew
post Dec 15 2004, 08:23 PM
Post #132





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-November 04
Member No.: 5,605



Hi gang,

Well I took the plunge and loaded OpenZaurus 3.5.2 today. It very impressive.


I have a strange bug with Standby though.

If I standby using the button on the side of the SL-6000L it goes off fine.


Restarting it by pressing the same button, the unit comes alive for about 3 seconds and then goes into standby again??


Any ideas?

Has anyone else seen this behaviour.

By the way I have done the updates from the openzaurus site as well?

Catch Ya
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kmatthew
post Dec 15 2004, 08:26 PM
Post #133





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-November 04
Member No.: 5,605



Hi Again,

Incidently, I notice that if you suspend from the OPIE menu all is fine?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Dec 16 2004, 04:13 AM
Post #134





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



Greetings all,

I've spent the last few hours slogging through every post I could find on the OZ 3.5.2 release for the SL-6000L and my head is about to explode. I'm really seeking opinions of anyone who has used it yet or is currently running it. I believe that an opinion specific thread would assist 6000 owners thinking about taking the plunge a LOT. It would also save them the same hours of frustration that I have just experienced to get answers to simple questions that would enable them to decide if migrating is right for them.

Remember the point of this thread is to get YOUR OPINION on these issues rather than be a factfinding mission. I'm not hoping to teach readers of this thread how to install/use OZ, rather I'm trying to get them enough information and opinions so that they can easily decide for themselves whether it's even worth the effort for them to switch to OZ in the first place! Having said that PLEASE feel free to include facts/information that reinforce your opinions and leave links to places where the reader can get more info wherever possible.

Question 1.
Which release did you use OZ/Opie or OZ/GPE? Both?

Question 2.
In your opinion do major drawbacks still remain that would inhibit/prohibit the average 6000 owner from being able to install OZ and use it productively for both business and entertainment purposes? If so do those problems have existing workarounds and where can they be found? **Remember to specify concerning which distribution- Opie/GPE.**

Question 2.
In your experience does your existing productivity software, (such as but not limited to commercial apps such as TKC programs that the user has paid a signifigant amount of money for already), run under OZ? **Remember to specify concerning which distribution- Opie/GPE.**

Question 3.
In your experience does your entertainment software, (quake, doom, commercial games like Mighty Charms, etc.) run under OZ? **Remember to specify concerning which distribution- Opie/GPE.**

Question 4.
Do you feel that OZ supports your hardware and accessories as well as the Sharp Rom? **Remember to specify concerning which distribution- Opie/GPE.**

Question 5.
In your opinion what is your favorite feature of OZ/Opie and/or OZ/GPE?

Question 6.
In your opinion what is your most despised feature or bug in OZ/Opie and/or OZ/GPE currently?

Question 7.
Are you still using OZ or have you returned to the Sharp ROM.

Question 8.
With what you know now that you have used OZ in it's current state, are you glad you made the switch or do you wish you had waited until they had more of the problems fixed?

Question 9.
Where you able to find good ipk feeds that contained OZ compatible versions of your favorite programs? If so where? **Remember to specify concerning which distribution- Opie/GPE.**

Question 10.
Have you used Debian/XQT on your 6000? Which was better in your opinion Debian/XQT or OZ? Why?

Question 11.
On a scale of 1 to 10 what rating would you give currently to OZ/Opie? OZ/GPE? original Sharp Rom? Debian/XQT? (for comparison purposes)

Question 12.
Have you used the 6000's Expansion Jacket and if so are the extra battery, CF slot, etc. function and display in the associated applets and sysinfo etc.?

Let me take this opportunity to thank all the folks who have put so much work into OZ and the Open Embedded project! You have added immeasurable value to the Zaurus community and we are sincerely grateful!

Thank you for taking the time to answer any or all of these questions, you make the ZUG a better and even more helpful place!

If anyone thinks of any other questions that might help others decide whether it is right for them to switch please post them in this thread and I'll insert them into the above list.

Cheers,

-NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Dec 16 2004, 09:11 PM
Post #135





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



New update:

Byz had temporarily merged this thread with the main OZ/6000 thread in this forum. After a lengthy discussion he has decided to revert to keeping it as a seperate thread, (at least for now.)

The reason that this thread was begunn was in the hopes of making the average 6000 user more AWARE of the OZ Roms and hopefully encourage as many ppl as possible to migrate. The average user will simply not plow through the mega threads that now exist simply to find out if users who have already installed and put it through it's paces feel that it's really worth it and to help show us at-a-glance what is good and bad in their opinion.

So REMEMBER: This thread is for your OPINIONS based on your experience with OZ. While facts to support those opinions are more than welcome here, Byz (and myself for that matter), want "how do I do this" and "here is how to fix this" etc. kept to the main OZ/6000 thread.

Think of this thread as a place for opinions so that other users can get a feel for how OZ may or may not be for them. Think of the other thread as a place to ask or give the answer to "how do I do this?"

So PLEASE POST here about your opinions and experiences as related to the questions above, (or even about things the questions don't cover). By doing so we can bring maximum exposure of OZ to everyone and encourage as many new ppl to at least try it as possible. It would be a great tradgedy after the thousands of man-hours of work that has been poured into the new OZ/Opie OZ/GPE project to see such a great ROM die on the vine because of lack of interest!

So let your thoughts on OZ flow, it doesn't matter if you would recommend that others try OZ or not. What does matter is to tell us. YOU'RE opinion is valuable, and no ones opinion is WRONG. There will be no flaming or critisism of you because of what your opinion is, just say what you feel and why you feel that way. Please remember though, what you say will be used by someone else to determine if OZ is right for them.

The OZ team has slaved over this release to incorporate support for the 6000 series, the LEAST we can do is take a moment out and share how it has or has not helped us with the rest of the community!

We've been begging for alternate Roms for the 6000 for MONTHS, so show some support and post away!

Thanks a bunch,

-NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

12 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 08:07 AM